We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Excellent location, very nice rooms with plenty of space and comfortable beds. Incredibly slow boiling kettles! Exceptionally expensive bar. The restaurant was good but again fairly expensive. The staff were very helpful, checking in was slow but checking out very quick. The request for extra pillows was dealt with speedily. Ensure that you advise staff that you DID NOT drink the bottle of water otherwise it is assumed that you did and you will be charged £3.50!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindafromnorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    945
    514
    202
    157
See reviews for
495
1,113
169
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
179 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Not the most spectacular hotel, but if you arrive late and don't want to risk missing the last train into London, staying here is ideal.

Pros - close to the airport £10 taxi from the North Terminal, £6 taxi to the South Terminal (rail station)

Not very expensive
Clean
Modern

Cons
No free wifi
No free shuttle bus

Would stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alkis_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Another deeply bland airport hotel staffed by Eastern Europeans whose loathing distain for their customers and the work we cause they don't even bother to conceal... openly sneering with every mumbled and partial communication.

So much, so completely typical.

An added extra with this particular oasis of loveliness (not) is the OUTRAGEOUS £25 they charge to park your car. It would - and I have checked - be less expensive to valet park beside the terminal than to pay to park outside this ordinary dump of a hotel. The exit code is 1979.

As an extra my room had an a/c unit that couldn't be turned off so I had a constant clattering hum to help keep me awake all night. Still, there's a Hilton round the corner for next time

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank TACHSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. The Courtyard by Marriott London Hotel is a modern contemporary 4 year old hotel. I am very sorry you didn't like foreigners serving you, but they do check in on average 185 guests and check out 185 guests every day and most of our guests find them helpful, friendly and accommodating. Our car parking charge is very competitive and you mentioned the Hilton which would charge you a higher price than we apply. The exit code is no longer 1979 as it is changed frequently. You can turn the a/c to economy or contact the front desk who can switch off the a/c for you.

I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been, please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My experience in getting to this hotel was not good - after flying in from New Zealand (and changing airports), I couldn't find the thotel bus stop at Gatwick as this is not well signposted. After finally finding it, the bus number (that the schedule told me went to Marriott) had a sign on it saying it only went to another hotel (whose name I do not remember). Luckily I asked the driver and it did go to Marriott, but before getting to the hotel the shuttle takes you to the North Terminal and another hotel, before finally arriving. I would recommend that the hotel put clearer instructions regarding the shuttle on its website (eg where it goes from, what the bus timetable is, etc).

Other negative point to note - I had no cell phone reception for a lot of my stay.

Other than that, it was a good stay, comfortable bed, nice and big room, and incredibly quiet so I got lots of sleep.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel and its associated services.
I am sorry you had difficulties finding the shuttle bus stop. There are signs directing hotel guests to the hotel shuttle bus terminal in the arrival halls and the passage ways. Its no. 9 for the South Terminal and no. 8 for the North Terminal. At the shuttle bus stop you will find a chart with all the buses serving the various hotels, indicating bus number and timings. The shuttle that services our hotel also takes passengers to the Premier Inn at the North Terminal. This service is provided by a private company and not Marriott.

Our hotel is well insulated against airplane noise, the negative side of this is that it also limits phone signals and pending on the phone provider, you will experience different levels of mobile phone receptions.

I was pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Basically this is a decent hotel - clean, efficiently run, reasonable bar and restaurant, close to Gatwick Airport (10 min walk). It is worth considering for a one night stay prior to, or after, a flight.

However, there was no phone signal for me inside the hotel - it was not possible to either use 3G or get any EE phone signal. This is very strange, because once you get outside the front door, there is a 5 bar signal and full 3G service. The only place I have seen this issue before is in hospitals, which (rightly) use signal jammers. The bottom line is, if you are on business, you want to call family at home or check your emails on your 3G service. Having to stand outside in the carpark to do this is not really acceptable. To me, it looked like a way of trying to force people to pay £13 (!!) for wifi access. The staff at the reception desk offered no apology or explanation and blamed my service provider. Maybe. But strange that all access is dead for 12 hours inside the hotel and then fixes itself as soon as you walk out of the front door.

Otherwise, the hotel is fine - and fairly priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dksmith_york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. We are aware of the difficulties some users have with a phone signal within the hotel and it various greatly between the 4 main mobile signal providers. Unfortunately the building is very well insulated to keep out all airplane noises, but the side effect is that it also keeps out mobile phone signals. On the positive side, I am very pleased that you found the hotel clean, efficient and the bar and restaurant reasonably priced.
Once again please accept my apologies for the poor phone signal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here recently for 1 night before flying out of North Terminal. The room was clean and spacious, and was good value for 1 night. The air conditioning was probably the noisiest we have ever had in a hotel room though. We ate in the bar and the food was good but it was very expensive for what it was. The shuttle bus will take you to the terminals, but we had just missed one and they only come along every 20 minutes, so we paid for a taxi to the north terminal and it cost £6.50.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaVictoria1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased that you found your room clean and spacious. We are very sorry you found the a/c noisy, it can be switched off by notifying our front desk associates. We are glad you enjoyed your meal in the bar, our F & B prices compare well with the local competition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Like most people stayed for one night, and although we were going from the north terminal, decided on the Marriott, because we thought they were the most reasonable, but when you add it all up, the room, meals, and transfers, we could have got a package at the Sofitel, with a short walk to the terminal, for a similar price.
I`m afraid we found the beds quite hard, the air con very noisy, the food not too great, (in fact my steak was very tough). If you have a large case it`s quite a trek to the terminal,so you have to take the shuttle at £3 each, which goes to both terminals.Please Marriot have your name put on the bus, as the shuttle bus to the hotel has a different hotel name on it, as I found out after after waiting ages,and decided to walk instead.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is important to us. Thank you for letting us know that you found our prices the most reasonable. I am sorry you found our bed too hard. Mattresses are to Marriott standard and supplied by 'Hypnos' the leading bed supplier for the UK hotel industry. Unfortunately mattresses are of personal preference and some guests prefer a softer mattress, others find our mattress very comfortable. Our a/c system can be turned off by notifying our front desk associates. Our shuttle bus starts at 4.03am and runs every 20 minutes until 11.43pm and has our Courtyard by Marriott logo on it. Perhaps our main bus was in for service and in its place a white bus would be in operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.2 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard London Gatwick Airport

Property: Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Address: First Point Buckingham Gate | London Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0NT, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard London Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at a contemporary hotel retreat near Gatwick Airport. The Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport offers convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy airport access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Individual air-conditioning is offered in every room and suite at our hotel at Gatwick Airport, as are laptop safes, tea/coffee service and a dining table. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, the Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. Our hotel offers money-saving Park & Fly packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing