We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here for one night on 05/03/14 in room 336, Check was pretty slow but I was upgraded as a gold member so this made up for standing at reception for 15mins.
Room was clean and comfortable. Its nice to sit on a sofa and relax watching television. Ordered room service which took 40mins which was exactly how they said it would. The pizza was pretty tasty.
Bathroom was clean and shower was good. Didn't use any of the hotels other faculties so cannot comment. I am of the opinion that Courtyards are a better option than full Marriot properties. The room are brighter and more modern in decoration.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    980
    547
    220
    165
See reviews for
524
1,169
173
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pulloxhill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I spend at least one night every week in a Marriott hotel and stayed at this hotel using one of my many free night rewards. I only needed a bed prior to an early morning flight, expectations were not high,and I anticipated something like a a Travelodge.

It's definitely better than that and I was pleasantly surprised. Granted, it's not a full service Marriott standard, but rooms are good, it's relatively convenient, modern and quiet.

Do a bit of research into what to expect and you shouldn't be disappointed.

We had a nicely designed junior suite, which was internally facing so no aircraft noise. A coffee maker in the room was a nice luxury. The usual brilliant Marriott bedding, but unfortunately let down by lack of the great mattress topper that I have come to expect in Marriott group hotels.

A bit of a walk from South terminal, ok in good weather but a bit of a drag in the rain. Ultimately, I guess it comes down to price and whether you have a parking package. There are slightly more convenient hotels, but I guess with a higher price tag.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We picked this hotel for its proximity to the airport but had read earlier comments about the check in delays.
We arrived at 5pm on Saturday evening, parked the car and went into the hotel. Checking in then car was no problems (10 mins wait) but the standing in the queue at reception for another 25 mins was no joke. I guess only 3 people were ahead of me when I joined the queue. After this the room allocated was very comfortable and the early am transport turned up on time, so no problem there.

We did not eat there as we had heard of poor reports from fellow travellers.

Upon return, the car was parked conveniently for pick up outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

we stayed here the night before flying to Cuba, we booked a room with 2 weeks parking for less than £130 which we think is great value. The room is the standard hotel layout with all the standard equipment. The bed was comfortable and there was no noise in the room from the planes which was very impressive. We ate in the hotel restaurant which had a limited menu and was quite pricey for the amount on your plate (maybe this is where they make their money back for the cheap room/parking?). Overall a good hotel with easy access to the airport via a shuttle bus which costs £3 per person each way and takes about 10 minutes to the North terminal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonJ785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shefford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We booked this hotel on the Park and Fly package through "Holiday extras". We chose to stay at "both ends" of our holiday ie the night before we flew and the night we arrived back at Gatwick.

On the first night we had a very good meal in the restaurant, the service was excellent, and the staff friendly. Likewise, the buffet breakfast was very good. We walked the short distance to the South Terminal.

We landed back at Gatwick at 11.10pm hence the reason for staying at the end of our holiday. What a good choice of hotel. It was a little before midnight when we walked out of arrivals. No queuing for taxis or waiting for busses. A short walk and we were back in the hotel. Check-in was quick and efficient so by 12.15 we were in bed :) We had a nice relaxed breakfast, the checkout time is a sensible 12.00. Breakfast finishes at 10.30.

The room was to a high standard, spacious and clean.

I cannot imagine why we have not used this hotel before, but now we have found it, it will be our hotel of choice for Gatwick flights.

Oh and the car was returned safe and sound, with the expected mileage on the clock. (The offsite parking is 5 miles away which we were aware of when we booked).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAscot264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aughton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

By husband and I stayed at the Marriot at Gatwick airport for one night on 26/2/14. We booked a junior suite (room 9) which was a very strange shape, wide at one end and narrow at the other, the bed was at an angle, the heating and air conditioning were very noisy, there was a permanent buzzing sound in the room and the remote control needed new batteries. We both had a terrible nights sleep.The bathroom was very small with a shower over the bath, but it was very clean. The food in the restaurant was ok and service was good , the staff were very friendly. We should have moved rooms, but it was a very emotional time for us and the last thing we wanted to do was to complain. Back to the Hilton next time we fly from Gatwik!

Room Tip: Don't accept room 9,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest,
I am very disappointed to read that you did not like your room and I am very sorry that you did not asked to be given a different choice. Please accept my apologies for your stay not to be all that it should have been, perhaps you could contact our reservations next time and make them aware of your experience and I am sure they will try and find you a room to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Lovely hotel, very clean and spacious room. Comfy bed with extra pillows. Great for an overnight stay at Gatwick. Good choice of food at the bar, a bit pricey, but this is London. Not too far to walk from South Terminal but a bus ride from North Terminal £3.
Annoyingly WIFI is extra, and the rigmarole of having to having to pre-credit £50 on arrival is archaic, the only bad comments I had about the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport

Property: Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport
Address: London Gatwick Airport | Buckingham Gate, Gatwick, Crawley RH6 0NT, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport. Our airport hotel in Gatwick, England is a contemporary retreat near Gatwick Airport. We offer convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy terminal access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex
Courtyard By Marriott London Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing