We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for this price category”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good for this price category”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

rooms are spacious, including bathroom... breakfast ok, but nothing special. 8 to 10 minutes walk from south terminal, i was a bit shocked to see that they charge GBP 3.- for the shuttle bus. I would expect this to be free.
Location is great if you need an overnight just because the flight schedule is asking for it. If I had a bit more time, I would go for something in Crawley - kind of a nice little town nearby.
Staff are efficient and friendly - all in all it's a good deal if you can book the special fares of around GBP 60 to 70...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    970
    528
    214
    159
See reviews for
511
1,147
170
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I had a one night stay at this hotel , fortunately the company paid with a generous food allowance. However the price was astronomical for some poor quality food.

I had the mis-fortune to try surf and turf .. the six chips where ok but the three prawns where either from the freezer or may have been caught in the local canal.
the price doesn't reflect the food a number of others in our party had similar experiences with other fare. service was a bit slow too
the Bar meals looked ok and the rooms are fine

Each table had a bottle of water at £4.50 it was a bit cheaper if you drank the one in your room

I wont be eating there again

Room Tip: Don't spoil your stop by eating in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your poor meal. We serve on average 300 meals a night and I am sorry that your meal was not up to standard. If you stay with us again, please let the restaurant manager know of your past experience to ensure you will remember your next meal for all the right reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I reviewed this hotel six months ago and gave it a good rating, but not now. The staff are still great and the rooms are ok, but the restaurant has really gone downhill. On our last visit we were surprised how good it was, this time was a real disappointment. The service was fast, too fast to be anything but microwaved pre-plated meals. Even when we complained, there was no apology. In fact, there was no response at all! Next time we'll try another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to read that you felt our restaurant standards dropped. We introduced a new restaurant concept in October 2013 with the aim to offer the best steaks in Gatwick and improve service and menu items on offer. I can assure you we do not offer any items that are microwave cooked. Please accept our apologies and we do hope you will try the restaurant again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Child Okeford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Went on holiday to Goa on 8/2/14 and stayed the night before. No complaints, room was clean and comfortable away from the lifts on the third floor so very quiet. Breakfast was buffet, nothing special, but adequate. For a one night stay, ok. Would we stay again, dont see why not.

Room Tip: Third floor away from the lifts, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Easy short walk from Gatwick South Terminal, so very convenient for stopover after transatlantic flight.
Comfortable and clean rooms, very good service, and, considering its proximity to such a busy airport, it was amazingly quiet and peaceful. This will be our Gatwick hotel of choice from now on.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnF47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
143 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here for one night on 05/03/14 in room 336, Check was pretty slow but I was upgraded as a gold member so this made up for standing at reception for 15mins.
Room was clean and comfortable. Its nice to sit on a sofa and relax watching television. Ordered room service which took 40mins which was exactly how they said it would. The pizza was pretty tasty.
Bathroom was clean and shower was good. Didn't use any of the hotels other faculties so cannot comment. I am of the opinion that Courtyards are a better option than full Marriot properties. The room are brighter and more modern in decoration.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulloxhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I spend at least one night every week in a Marriott hotel and stayed at this hotel using one of my many free night rewards. I only needed a bed prior to an early morning flight, expectations were not high,and I anticipated something like a a Travelodge.

It's definitely better than that and I was pleasantly surprised. Granted, it's not a full service Marriott standard, but rooms are good, it's relatively convenient, modern and quiet.

Do a bit of research into what to expect and you shouldn't be disappointed.

We had a nicely designed junior suite, which was internally facing so no aircraft noise. A coffee maker in the room was a nice luxury. The usual brilliant Marriott bedding, but unfortunately let down by lack of the great mattress topper that I have come to expect in Marriott group hotels.

A bit of a walk from South terminal, ok in good weather but a bit of a drag in the rain. Ultimately, I guess it comes down to price and whether you have a parking package. There are slightly more convenient hotels, but I guess with a higher price tag.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
2.2 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard London Gatwick Airport

Property: Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Address: First Point Buckingham Gate | London Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0NT, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard London Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at a contemporary hotel retreat near Gatwick Airport. The Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport offers convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy airport access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Individual air-conditioning is offered in every room and suite at our hotel at Gatwick Airport, as are laptop safes, tea/coffee service and a dining table. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, the Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. Our hotel offers money-saving Park & Fly packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing