We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor mattress”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Poor mattress”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice in recent months. I was allocated differing rooms on each occasion so I feel able to comment about the hotel. Check in was quick and easy on both occasions. Air conn in both rooms was so loud that I turned it off in order to get to sleep. I prefer to have it on all night but was unable to do so on both occasions. Both rooms had mouldy bathroom grout and sealant. One room had a very uncomfortable mattress - so bad that you could feel the springs in your back. This was on the 2nd stay - and since we had checked in at 01:30am we were tired and put up with it and tried to sleep. In the morning when we informed reception about the problem with the mattress we were asked if we had informed reception and they would have changed room. Fair enough however it was 02:00 by then, and after a long journey we could not be bothered with any hassle. We were offered a complimentary transfer to the airport however declined since I prefer to talk and get some fresh air. I have two future reservations at this hotel - one of which I was able to cancel. There are other hotels closer to the airport which I will use in future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varun S, Rooms Division Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor as well as contacting us directly with your feedback.

Please accept our apologies again on this platform. We have advised you in our direct reply that we have found the condition of the mattress and the air conditioning in your occupied room to be at par with the other rooms. We have not received feedback from previous guests or in fact the current occupier of the room who is there now since your departure.

We are glad to learn that when the inconvenience was brought to our attention we offered to do something for you at the time. We have also offered you a gesture of goodwill for your next stay.

Thank you again for your feedback and choosing to stay with Marriott Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    947
    515
    202
    157
See reviews for
497
1,114
169
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night before a flight out of gatwick. Despite paying for it in full before I got their.the hotel still asks for a debit card which is annoying but they say they will release the money back to you after your stay. the room was lovely and very nice and it is just what you need for a overnight stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had an early morning flight out of London Gatwick, so booked this hotel as it was offering a parking package if you stayed with them. Last year we used the Sofitel, what a mistake not to go back there this year!!!

As there was a group of us we had booked 3 family rooms, we arrived at the Marriott reception and staff didn't know what was happening. They eventually checked us in as 3 separate families (which we were) but managed to get the rooms mixed up i.e. cots/beds in the wrong rooms!

We then asked if there was any Porters for all our luggage, "No" was the response! Can we store our luggage "Yes, just dump it in that meeting room over there", will it be safe and secure? "Yes, should be".

We then had the debarcle of sorting our cars, it became apparent this was with another company not the hotel! Albeit the company was next to reception but war were immediately informed that we had to check our cars in by 23:00 other wise the hotel would charge us over night parking, we had just arrived at 21:30 and not eaten yet!

Talking of eating and drinking, this lot charge like Rhinos! Food & Beverage prices are extreme!!! This place is set up to extract as much money out of the captured audienace as possible, Wifi, Water in the rooms, Parking, Surcharges, Even a Smile!!!

Our advise stay away and go to the Sofitel at least you can walk to the airport and you actually get value for money! Due to my job I stay away a lot and have a Marriott Rewards card, I've just cut it up as I will no longer stay in their hotels, feeling well and truly ripped off!

Room Tip: Book into the Sofitel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerIIYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding our hotel. As I have no name I cannot check what happened. I am surprised to read that the cots were in the wrong rooms? We do not guarantee cots and provide them on a first come first serve basis. Being an airport hotel we have great demand for cots. Therefore would put a cot in a room only after check in. As a Courtyard branded hotel we do not provide porter service and this is reflected in our room price. Our F & B prices are very competitive and lower than your last years choice hotel.

Obviously I am very disappointed that your stay was not what it could have been and hope you will accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Crawley hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Twenty four pounds and fifty pence for two gin tonic. At least Dick Turpin wore a mask. Plus twenty five to park overnight. On the surface looks great but to be honest go to the Premier at least you know where you stand. I will NEVER stop at one of these EVER again. Simple. Rip me off and you've lost a customer. It's an absolute disgrace. Welcome to rip off Britain.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear guest,

I am sorry you feel robbed! A gin & tonic is £7.50. You must have had 2 double G & T's for that price. Our car parking charge is £25 per night and is very competitive compared to the other hotels in the area. If you check out the other hotels at airport site you will see for yourself.
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the start and end of our week away. Hotel is clean and friendly. Beds are very comfortable and it is an ideal location. What surprised us the most is it is right under flight path but you don't hear a thing!! We didn't do breakfast as we thought it was far too over priced at £13.95 so opted for the 2 min walk to macdonalds and same with the the wine we went to M n s at petrol station and had 2 bottles for the price of one at the hotel. If I was flying again from Gatwick I would definatley stop here again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmy1975_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Only 5 min walk from south terminal, but not easy to find the way for first time. It has a very good restaurant and nice atmosphere. I like the beds and always sleep like a log. I am from Iceland and if I take late flight to Gatwick it is ideal to stay a night and get back home in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Johann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maraval, Trinidad
Level Contributor
280 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The rooms are very nice, clean and well presented. If you ask for a King size bed they come at no extra charge. very quiet absolutely no noise from other rooms or the airport. There is a shuttle bus service that runs about every 20 minutes for a few pounds. Alternatively there are luggage trolleys available which can be pushed along the pavement between the airport and terminal, the walk takes about 15 minutes. Dinning room is expensive, I would recommend bar snacks instead.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hickmagp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.2 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard London Gatwick Airport

Property: Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Address: First Point Buckingham Gate | London Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0NT, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard London Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at a contemporary hotel retreat near Gatwick Airport. The Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport offers convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy airport access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Individual air-conditioning is offered in every room and suite at our hotel at Gatwick Airport, as are laptop safes, tea/coffee service and a dining table. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, the Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. Our hotel offers money-saving Park & Fly packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing