We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Nearby Hotels
US$89
US$82
Sandman Gatwick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth(Crawley)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley(Crawley)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis London Gatwick Airport(Crawley)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$166
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$113
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (2,682)
Filter reviews
2,682 results
Traveller rating
612
1,061
592
236
181
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
612
1,061
592
236
181
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard by marriottsouth terminalcar deliveredtwo double bedsmaple manor parkinggatwick airportten minute walkbus serviceparking servicecar parkan early flightnext morningholiday extrasparking packagemeet and greetrooms are comfortablebar and restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,380 - 1,385 of 2,682 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed 1 night before a flight. The rooms were good and no noise from the airport. We had 2 kids and luggage, and thought it was walking distance from the signs in the airport. It was a bit of a challenge to get there (about 15 minutes for us and we're not that slow despite the kids), so took the shuttle on the return, which kinda defeated the object of staying so close to the airport. Would only stay again if the price was really good compared to other nearby ones.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

To start trying to actually book a room at this hotel was a hassle the member of staff was not able to understand what I was saying and after I mentioned we were starting our honeymoon at the hotel before flying to Mexico was asked if I wanted to pay extra for an upgraded room.

Upon arrival at the hotel my husband was greeted by very unfriendly and abrupt staff who had even got our name wrong on the booking , and was extremely annoyed when we said we would not require the breakfast the following morning due to our flight time. Perhaps someone with English as a first language would have understood, I again mentioned we were on our honeymoon and this was completely ignored by the female reception staff , making us feel not special at all.

The room itself was hot and stuffy with no fresh air due to no exterior windows. The attempt to combat the heat with air con fails as it was extremely noisy and ineffective. There was no free wifi in the hotel (something that you would expect for the price, despite the fact that it's an airport hotel).

The restaurant was extremely overpriced so we chose to eat off the bar snacks menu. This again appeared to be mistake as the food represented even worse value for money. For example, a ceaser salad cost me £12.00, if I wanted chicken (most would) I was expected to pay another £6. If you ever decided to want that taken to your room . . A further £6 would be added to your bill. I can safely say that the Hilton in Venice is better value for money!!!

Lastly they claim a 10 minute walk to the south terminal, however with luggage you will want to take the bus (obviously). Where as most hotels include this in the price, you will be charged £3 per person for the privilege.

None of the staff made the start of our honeymoon feel special and thank god we only stayed there for one night. It's a great shame as we have come to expect more from the Marriott chain - the Gatwick branch falls very short of the bar!

Room Tip: Unfortunately, unless you enjoy no fresh air and stuffiness, there will be no good choice as none of the rooms appear to have windows that open!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varun S, Rooms Division Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Courtyard London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

We are very sorry to learn that your stay was anything else but satisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Thank you for choosing Marriott Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for one night and yes it is a 10 minute walk from South terminal (use a trolley). Fine hotel and quiet too but why do so many English hotels try and rip us off with the Internet.
£5.00 an hour !! tip- use McDonalds across the road for free wifi.
Yes also the air conditioning is like a small jet engine in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varun S, Rooms Division Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your feedback for us. We appreciate the time you put in to share your experience with us.

We are glad to learn that your stay was satisfactory and take your feedback on board with our internet charges. We have recently spent approx. £30,000 to upgrade our internet speed and now take pride to in providing one of the fastest internet service in the area. Most of our guests have welcomed this upgrade. We also review our prices regularly and can confirm that they are very competitive in the area.

As a gesture of goodwill we offer this service complimentary to all our Marriott Rewards Elite members in this property.

We do hope that we may have another opportunity to welcome you with us so we can ensure that your stay is remembered for all the right reasons.

Thank you for choosing Marriott Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Had a nice stay at this hotel - the check in experience left something to be desired but once you're in the rooms the quality is great (not luxurious or stylish but quality nonetheless). Only a short drive away to Gatwick airport (it was cheaper to park at the airport than at the hotel so that's worth checking too).

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stravel250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varun S, Rooms Division Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback.

We are very sorry we did not fully meet with your expectations on arrival and are glad to learn that you liked our spacious rooms.

We are only 700 yards from the South terminal and a walking map is also uploaded on our official website. Guests who wish to walk take approx. 10-15 mins. The whole pathway is sign posted from the South Terminal. Guests are also able take the shuttle buses which are operated by another company in the area. Journey on the bus is chargeable.

Car parking is also available at the hotel and a fee applies for overnight parking to all guests (residents or non-residents). Our parking charges are competitive to the other hotels in the area and we do regularly review them to ensure we do not charge more than our neighbours.

Thank you again for choosing Marriott Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

AC unit in the room was noisy and blowing out hot air, despite asking reception to sort it out. In the morning felt frazzled as though I'd slept in a sauna. Would rather have stayed at home and left for the airport at5am than stay overnight at Gatwick.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank SecretKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varun S, Rooms Division Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your feedback for us. Although it is never pleasant to hear of problems encountered by our customers, feedback from valued guests such as yourself enables us to ensure the quality of our service delivery.

We are very sorry to learn about your inconvenience with the AC unit in your room. Our air-conditioning system is state of the art and has options to control the room temperature from the bedroom unit. As we are located behind the runway, the building is triple glazed to avoid airplane noise and hence the windows in the bedrooms do not open. For this reason, the air-conditioning in the room cannot be switched off permanently to ensure that there is always fresh air circulation in the room.

The AC unit has a running motor inside the unit and we appreciate that for some guests who are not used to any noise at all when sleeping can be inconvenienced with this.

Unfortunately, we are unable to retrieve your booking details with your Trip Advisor ID and find it unusual that we could not provide a solution if the matter was reported to us.

Please accept our apologies again and we sincerely hope that you do not take this as a common occurrence and only treat this is an isolated incident and we get the opportunity to serve you again in the not to near future. Thank you again for choosing Marriott Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews