We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STILL ONLY AVERAGE -- PROBABLY WILL NEVER IMPROVE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“STILL ONLY AVERAGE -- PROBABLY WILL NEVER IMPROVE”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I reviewed this hotel in March, and I stayed again, this time with my wife, in June. Both visits get the 'Average' grade. It is a pity that the 'Very Good' reviews it deserves, and should get, for room, food and convenience are downgraded by the negatives of: 1) excessive charge for internet; 2) a pretty miserly attempt to sell bottled water in the room for £3.50; 3) expensive shuttle for such a short transfer. Other reviewers have commented on: a) the high breakfast charge (avoid that by getting a reservation with breakfast included); b) the high price of food (yes, but the quality is good, or one can avoid eating there by going to the Marks & Spencer outlet at LGW South and making a nice spread to eat in one's room); c) the long walk from/to South Terminal (there are always trolleys available, at either end, so that is a way to save on the shuttle). Staff are not of the highest quality, and check-in this time at about 5pm on a Saturday was snail's pace. Not to end on a negative, the room was very nice, and the breakfast was stunning, with poached eggs cooked to order. With just a bit more focus on correcting the details that have provoked negative customer perceptions, this hotel could easily move into the 'Very Good' category.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CMO'H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varun S, Rooms Division Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us as your first choice of lodging in Gatwick and thank you again to review us.

We are glad to learn that we continue to satisfy you but are disappointed that we are unable to meet with your expectations 100%. We are glad that you like our room and enjoyed the breakfast served in our Casterbridge Grill restaurant.

In order to give us an opportunity and turn your experience around, please do contact me directly at the hotel when you decide to stay in the area again and we will endeavour to make your stay a memorable one.

Thank you again for choosing Marriott Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    970
    529
    214
    159
See reviews for
511
1,148
170
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Firstly the Wi FI connection should you need one is ridiculously expensive.
If after getting to your room you phone the reception to establish whether its possible to weight your luggage, you will be delighted to be told that there is a weighing scales in the reception area down stairs. Having trudged down to the reception with your baggage you might be surprised that you were not told the the scales require you to insert a £1 coin, for the privilege of weighing your case.
On returning to your room, you might find that there is a bottle of water on your dressing table, this has a note attached informing you the the water costs £3.50 and if by chance you do not drink it, then you have to inform the staff at the reception before you leave. I searched the rest of the room to make sure that any other notes associated perhaps with the bath, toilet, bed , shower, soap, toilet roll etc had not fallen off, just in case I had to mention that I had not used these items also.
If you wish to read in bed, then care should be taken as if one places a pillow between ones back and the headboard and then lean back the mattress will shoot forwards off the bed leaving you stranded, this has to be experienced to be believed. I did not mention this to the reception staff when leaving just in case there was an additional charge for the sliding mattress ride as well..
I did not dare to even think about buying food or ordering a drink, as the cost of the cutlery and use of a table and chair may well have been beyond my budget.

I do not think that English is the first language of the reception staff ? I gained this impression when I informed them when leaving that I had not drank the bottled water during the night? They do their best though, they are very decorative and undoubtedly they make the profit and loss account look good and the end of the financial year.

All this for £100 a night, Rip off Britain at it's finest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huw P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varun S, Rooms Division Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for us.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Please accept our apologises for any inconvenience caused.

As your review is left on social media we are unable to check the details of your booking and offer a more personalised reply. However as a general response, there are packages available for our guests to book with additional food and beverage offerings and parking facilities. Other additional services in the hotel e.g. wireless internet, services in the bedroom, overnight parking (for guests who are not booked on a parking package), etc are not included in a guest's room rate and are additional if used.

Our market research has allowed us to offer our guests with competitive room rates to the competition as most of our guests who stay in the hotel are for one night only and are on a budget. Majority of our guests do not wish to pay for services they will not consume and hence this arrangement.

Once again, please accept our apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.

Thank you for choosing Marriott Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Crawley hotels

Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
135 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed 1 night before a flight. The rooms were good and no noise from the airport. We had 2 kids and luggage, and thought it was walking distance from the signs in the airport. It was a bit of a challenge to get there (about 15 minutes for us and we're not that slow despite the kids), so took the shuttle on the return, which kinda defeated the object of staying so close to the airport. Would only stay again if the price was really good compared to other nearby ones.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

To start trying to actually book a room at this hotel was a hassle the member of staff was not able to understand what I was saying and after I mentioned we were starting our honeymoon at the hotel before flying to Mexico was asked if I wanted to pay extra for an upgraded room.

Upon arrival at the hotel my husband was greeted by very unfriendly and abrupt staff who had even got our name wrong on the booking , and was extremely annoyed when we said we would not require the breakfast the following morning due to our flight time. Perhaps someone with English as a first language would have understood, I again mentioned we were on our honeymoon and this was completely ignored by the female reception staff , making us feel not special at all.

The room itself was hot and stuffy with no fresh air due to no exterior windows. The attempt to combat the heat with air con fails as it was extremely noisy and ineffective. There was no free wifi in the hotel (something that you would expect for the price, despite the fact that it's an airport hotel).

The restaurant was extremely overpriced so we chose to eat off the bar snacks menu. This again appeared to be mistake as the food represented even worse value for money. For example, a ceaser salad cost me £12.00, if I wanted chicken (most would) I was expected to pay another £6. If you ever decided to want that taken to your room . . A further £6 would be added to your bill. I can safely say that the Hilton in Venice is better value for money!!!

Lastly they claim a 10 minute walk to the south terminal, however with luggage you will want to take the bus (obviously). Where as most hotels include this in the price, you will be charged £3 per person for the privilege.

None of the staff made the start of our honeymoon feel special and thank god we only stayed there for one night. It's a great shame as we have come to expect more from the Marriott chain - the Gatwick branch falls very short of the bar!

Room Tip: Unfortunately, unless you enjoy no fresh air and stuffiness, there will be no good choice as none of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varun S, Rooms Division Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Courtyard London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

We are very sorry to learn that your stay was anything else but satisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Thank you for choosing Marriott Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for one night and yes it is a 10 minute walk from South terminal (use a trolley). Fine hotel and quiet too but why do so many English hotels try and rip us off with the Internet.
£5.00 an hour !! tip- use McDonalds across the road for free wifi.
Yes also the air conditioning is like a small jet engine in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varun S, Rooms Division Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your feedback for us. We appreciate the time you put in to share your experience with us.

We are glad to learn that your stay was satisfactory and take your feedback on board with our internet charges. We have recently spent approx. £30,000 to upgrade our internet speed and now take pride to in providing one of the fastest internet service in the area. Most of our guests have welcomed this upgrade. We also review our prices regularly and can confirm that they are very competitive in the area.

As a gesture of goodwill we offer this service complimentary to all our Marriott Rewards Elite members in this property.

We do hope that we may have another opportunity to welcome you with us so we can ensure that your stay is remembered for all the right reasons.

Thank you for choosing Marriott Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Had a nice stay at this hotel - the check in experience left something to be desired but once you're in the rooms the quality is great (not luxurious or stylish but quality nonetheless). Only a short drive away to Gatwick airport (it was cheaper to park at the airport than at the hotel so that's worth checking too).

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stravel250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varun S, Rooms Division Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback.

We are very sorry we did not fully meet with your expectations on arrival and are glad to learn that you liked our spacious rooms.

We are only 700 yards from the South terminal and a walking map is also uploaded on our official website. Guests who wish to walk take approx. 10-15 mins. The whole pathway is sign posted from the South Terminal. Guests are also able take the shuttle buses which are operated by another company in the area. Journey on the bus is chargeable.

Car parking is also available at the hotel and a fee applies for overnight parking to all guests (residents or non-residents). Our parking charges are competitive to the other hotels in the area and we do regularly review them to ensure we do not charge more than our neighbours.

Thank you again for choosing Marriott Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

AC unit in the room was noisy and blowing out hot air, despite asking reception to sort it out. In the morning felt frazzled as though I'd slept in a sauna. Would rather have stayed at home and left for the airport at5am than stay overnight at Gatwick.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SecretKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varun S, Rooms Division Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your feedback for us. Although it is never pleasant to hear of problems encountered by our customers, feedback from valued guests such as yourself enables us to ensure the quality of our service delivery.

We are very sorry to learn about your inconvenience with the AC unit in your room. Our air-conditioning system is state of the art and has options to control the room temperature from the bedroom unit. As we are located behind the runway, the building is triple glazed to avoid airplane noise and hence the windows in the bedrooms do not open. For this reason, the air-conditioning in the room cannot be switched off permanently to ensure that there is always fresh air circulation in the room.

The AC unit has a running motor inside the unit and we appreciate that for some guests who are not used to any noise at all when sleeping can be inconvenienced with this.

Unfortunately, we are unable to retrieve your booking details with your Trip Advisor ID and find it unusual that we could not provide a solution if the matter was reported to us.

Please accept our apologies again and we sincerely hope that you do not take this as a common occurrence and only treat this is an isolated incident and we get the opportunity to serve you again in the not to near future. Thank you again for choosing Marriott Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
2.2 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard London Gatwick Airport

Property: Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Address: First Point Buckingham Gate | London Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0NT, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard London Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at a contemporary hotel retreat near Gatwick Airport. The Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport offers convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy airport access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Individual air-conditioning is offered in every room and suite at our hotel at Gatwick Airport, as are laptop safes, tea/coffee service and a dining table. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, the Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. Our hotel offers money-saving Park & Fly packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing