We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate and convenient for flying, but not great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Adequate and convenient for flying, but not great value”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I'm a fan of Marriott generally; of the standard chain hotels you rely on for the odd overnight stay, they are pretty reliable. I'd say the Courtyard was a little shabbier than some I've stayed in, with a distinctly fusty smell to the room, impossibly hard beds and needing a lick of paint and some grouting/silicone in some areas. The proxomity to the airport is tge big sell. The HARD sell is the restaurant, which you are advised to book for during check-in 'because it's going to get busy'. We had decided to eat there anyway so it was no great deal, but this was pure hussle from the hotel staff relying on having a captive audience. Needleas to say, we needn't have booked - the restaurant was about 20% capacity when we ate. The food was OK (my lemon sole was fine) but £40 for a t-bone steak?! I'd probably look elsewhere next time I fly out of Gatwick.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigey42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding our hotel. We are a very busy place and sometimes find it very hard to get access to our rooms to keep on top of painting walls.
It is definitely advisable to book a table in the restaurant if you want your preferred time to eat dinner. We don't have knowledge of the arrival time of our hotel guests and is partly influenced by the traffic on the M25. On average we twice turn over the restaurant. We think that £39.95 for a 16oz best of English beef is a very good price and would ask how much you pay for a 8oz steak in a hotel restaurant?
Once again thank you for your feedback and our apologies that not all was as you had expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    978
    539
    217
    161
See reviews for
516
1,160
172
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideal for people travelling from Gatwick Airport, being situated in the curtilage of the South Terminal. Rooms are spacious and well appointed for this class of hotel, although some of the high traffic areas and corridors are showing signs of wear. The reception staff are efficient and helpful, but the reception area soon gets cluttered with people and baggage. Why does an entire family of four and all their luggage have to queue and go to the desk at the same time? The other problem lies in this hotels proximity to the airport - there is nowhere else to go. You are effectively trapped on site and therefore forced to pay their exorbitant rates for food and drink. Another extortionate charge is the parking - £20 for overnight (approximately 12 hours). The bar staff also need to recognise that in the UK it an offence to serve alcohol to a drunk, which I witnessed them doing. Come on Marriott - sort yourselves out!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is our first choice when flying out of Gatwick. It's location is very handy for the south terminal. The bus costs £3 each and picks up directly outside reception.

We checked in at about 8pm and as usual check in was busy but all 3 desks were manned. We waited about 5-6 minutes to check in but received apologies for keeping us waiting and a smile. Enquiries as to our journey there and if our stay precluded a business or pleasure flight continued as we completed the check in process.

As a rewards member both my preferences were met on my room selection. The only minor disappointment was my usual "welcome back" gift was not there. I guess cost cutting has come down to the level of a bottle of water and tin of travel sweets! The overall cost of this gesture must be insignificant but had such a positive effect on my customer loyalty and used to stand above Courtyards bigger brothers and sisters in the Marriott family.

Our room was the usual Marriott high standard and the free wifi proved useful for checking emails and social media but unfortunately wasn't up to allowing us to catch up on events on the BBC's Great British Menu.

We ate in the bar after waiting for about 5mins at the restaurant podium without being served. The restaurant didn't look that busy.

We ordered drinks and food from nervous quiet chap but given his little red ribbon on his lapel we knew he was new and in training. I'm sure once his confidence builds the smiles and banter will come.

The bar food in our opinion was perfectly acceptable, tasty and not too expensive considering our location. If you are a wine drinker and intend on more than a glass or two it's more cost effective to buy a bottle (admittedly 4 times the price of what you pay in the supermarket but this is true of most hotels).
From our seats in the bar we observed the constant stream of guests checking in, and I think all 3 desks stayed in use most of the evening. I also observed friendly and courteous service despite the continuous stream of guests.

We used the park here fly there deal so checked our car in with the on site company ( desk next to reception but independent company). On returning from our holiday a quick phone call and about a 20 minute wait and we were back on our way home.

All in all I'd still choose to stay here when flying in or out of Gatwick

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tlrobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Easy to walk to the Hotel. 10 minutes walk from airport.
Rooms are business, no clean air, no Windows opening so smells strange and full of formaldehyde cancerous molécules.
Take your sandwiches at the airport or do a diet because the restaurant serves horrible food.
Burned burger with non eatable fries, fish and chips are not homemade as stated on the menu but everything is frozen and tastes even frozen when served.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonjag26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about our hotel. I am not sure how you can state that we have cancerous air in our room? It is correct that you cannot open our windows because they are triple glassed and sealed to keep the airplane noise out. When you stayed with us you will have noticed that you can't switch the air-condition off as it will supply all rooms with continuous fresh air. All air filters are changed for new ones every 6 months.
I am sorry that you had a burned burger and hope you asked for it to be replaced. We sell on average 100 burgers a day and generally get very good feedback. The fish is 'Homemade'. We would be in breach of consumer law if it weren't.
Thank you for choosing Marriott Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We use this hotel when flying from Gatwick. The room and parking rates are very good and the location means you can walk to the Airport. There's a good restaurant and less disturbance from guests than other airport hotels we've been in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian_mcghee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is very close to Gatwick Airport - but noise is not a problem, except for the ridiculously loud air conditioning! We tried to switch it off but it kept coming back on - but even louder! I eventually phoned reception who very quickly sent a man with the knowledge that a little switch underneath the box on the wall would turn it off completely. Bliss!
We had an early flight - had to be at the airport for 6am, so decided to book in for the previous night. Got to the hotel easily - without the hassle of the M25 on the day of the flight - and then decided to time the walk. Only 10 minutes (max) - even with cases not a problem. Certainly not worth paying the £3 each that the bus from the hotel to the airport would cost. (There are little road signs giving a countdown - 8 minutes walk, 5 minutes etc - but they are strangely not consecutive!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunH290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here June 2014 for a night before flying next day out of Gatwick. Room and breakfast was prepaid and we had a voucher to prove this, issued by our travel agent. We stay at Marriott hotels often and are Marriott members. We were presented with a bill after breakfast which we challenged and presented the voucher. The management would not honour this voucher and told us we had to pay for the breakfast and claim it back from the booking agent when we returned home. The manager and the staff involved were incredibly rude and actually caused us to miss our hotel transfer to the airport. We would not recommend using the hotel again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to read that you found our service to be rude. We try very hard to be friendly to all our guests and would not want anybody to leave with this impression. If you can send me a copy of your voucher I would like to investigate the issue.

Generally if you book a room with breakfast you would not need a voucher for breakfast and your booking confirmation will show that you booked a room with breakfast included. This information would be in our system. If the information in our system is room only and your confirmation shows room only we would not accept a separate voucher for breakfast.

I do hope you will send me a copy of this voucher. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Crawley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.2 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard London Gatwick Airport

Property: Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Address: First Point Buckingham Gate | London Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0NT, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard London Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at a contemporary hotel retreat near Gatwick Airport. The Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport offers convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy airport access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Individual air-conditioning is offered in every room and suite at our hotel at Gatwick Airport, as are laptop safes, tea/coffee service and a dining table. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, the Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. Our hotel offers money-saving Park & Fly packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing