We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good nights sleep before an early flight.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked a night for the night before we flew out to Cape Verde via Thompson which cost us £65. The rooms are very comfortable clean and well equipped, but, don't drink the bottle of water it will cost you £3.50.

Staff are all very helpful and friendly.

The rooms are not expensive, however they do make up for it with the price of food and drinks, the food is good but not with £18 for a burger! Take a short walk up the hill into the terminal it is far cheaper to buy something there.

There is a shuttle bus to the North terminal.

We will defiantly use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,265 - 1,271 of 2,579 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We booked one of the many park and overnight stay options prior to an early flight and the hotel was perfectly pleasant, comfy and clean. Check in was a ridiculously arduous process with only 2 desks manned at what was clearly a busy time.
Having stayed here before I knew that the food was average and overpriced so we ate on route and just had a drink in the bar.
Air conditioning in the room was extremely noisy but on the plus side the bed was huge and very comfortable.
The parking procedure was efficient though the fuel gauge had dropped considerably on our return-we can only deduce that the off site parking is some distance away?!
Best option when flying from Gatwick unless your employer is paying when the convenience of the Sofitel wins hands down!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ecp1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

i booked this hotel via booking.com - little did i read the smallprint & 25-00 for overnight parking - im sorry what an absolute joke - hotel is in the middle of no where how an earth can 25-00 be justified.. im absolutely livid as its a bloody Pisstake.. as for hotel its lovely & what you would expect with great breakfast .. as for going back no way unless i see parking is free or refundable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am sorry you find our parking charge as unacceptable. If you are on a park & fly package you would pay a lot less and your car would be parked off site. If you are staying for one or two nights and keep your car on site the charge is £25 per night. This is very competitive compared to our competition which charges up to £35 per night.
I do hope we can be of service to you again in the future.
Thank you for choosing Marriott Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I'm a fan of Marriott generally; of the standard chain hotels you rely on for the odd overnight stay, they are pretty reliable. I'd say the Courtyard was a little shabbier than some I've stayed in, with a distinctly fusty smell to the room, impossibly hard beds and needing a lick of paint and some grouting/silicone in some areas. The proxomity to the airport is tge big sell. The HARD sell is the restaurant, which you are advised to book for during check-in 'because it's going to get busy'. We had decided to eat there anyway so it was no great deal, but this was pure hussle from the hotel staff relying on having a captive audience. Needleas to say, we needn't have booked - the restaurant was about 20% capacity when we ate. The food was OK (my lemon sole was fine) but £40 for a t-bone steak?! I'd probably look elsewhere next time I fly out of Gatwick.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigey42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding our hotel. We are a very busy place and sometimes find it very hard to get access to our rooms to keep on top of painting walls.
It is definitely advisable to book a table in the restaurant if you want your preferred time to eat dinner. We don't have knowledge of the arrival time of our hotel guests and is partly influenced by the traffic on the M25. On average we twice turn over the restaurant. We think that £39.95 for a 16oz best of English beef is a very good price and would ask how much you pay for a 8oz steak in a hotel restaurant?
Once again thank you for your feedback and our apologies that not all was as you had expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is ideal for people travelling from Gatwick Airport, being situated in the curtilage of the South Terminal. Rooms are spacious and well appointed for this class of hotel, although some of the high traffic areas and corridors are showing signs of wear. The reception staff are efficient and helpful, but the reception area soon gets cluttered with people and baggage. Why does an entire family of four and all their luggage have to queue and go to the desk at the same time? The other problem lies in this hotels proximity to the airport - there is nowhere else to go. You are effectively trapped on site and therefore forced to pay their exorbitant rates for food and drink. Another extortionate charge is the parking - £20 for overnight (approximately 12 hours). The bar staff also need to recognise that in the UK it an offence to serve alcohol to a drunk, which I witnessed them doing. Come on Marriott - sort yourselves out!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Neil_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel is our first choice when flying out of Gatwick. It's location is very handy for the south terminal. The bus costs £3 each and picks up directly outside reception.

We checked in at about 8pm and as usual check in was busy but all 3 desks were manned. We waited about 5-6 minutes to check in but received apologies for keeping us waiting and a smile. Enquiries as to our journey there and if our stay precluded a business or pleasure flight continued as we completed the check in process.

As a rewards member both my preferences were met on my room selection. The only minor disappointment was my usual "welcome back" gift was not there. I guess cost cutting has come down to the level of a bottle of water and tin of travel sweets! The overall cost of this gesture must be insignificant but had such a positive effect on my customer loyalty and used to stand above Courtyards bigger brothers and sisters in the Marriott family.

Our room was the usual Marriott high standard and the free wifi proved useful for checking emails and social media but unfortunately wasn't up to allowing us to catch up on events on the BBC's Great British Menu.

We ate in the bar after waiting for about 5mins at the restaurant podium without being served. The restaurant didn't look that busy.

We ordered drinks and food from nervous quiet chap but given his little red ribbon on his lapel we knew he was new and in training. I'm sure once his confidence builds the smiles and banter will come.

The bar food in our opinion was perfectly acceptable, tasty and not too expensive considering our location. If you are a wine drinker and intend on more than a glass or two it's more cost effective to buy a bottle (admittedly 4 times the price of what you pay in the supermarket but this is true of most hotels).
From our seats in the bar we observed the constant stream of guests checking in, and I think all 3 desks stayed in use most of the evening. I also observed friendly and courteous service despite the continuous stream of guests.

We used the park here fly there deal so checked our car in with the on site company ( desk next to reception but independent company). On returning from our holiday a quick phone call and about a 20 minute wait and we were back on our way home.

All in all I'd still choose to stay here when flying in or out of Gatwick

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tlrobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Easy to walk to the Hotel. 10 minutes walk from airport.
Rooms are business, no clean air, no Windows opening so smells strange and full of formaldehyde cancerous molécules.
Take your sandwiches at the airport or do a diet because the restaurant serves horrible food.
Burned burger with non eatable fries, fish and chips are not homemade as stated on the menu but everything is frozen and tastes even frozen when served.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonjag26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinz S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about our hotel. I am not sure how you can state that we have cancerous air in our room? It is correct that you cannot open our windows because they are triple glassed and sealed to keep the airplane noise out. When you stayed with us you will have noticed that you can't switch the air-condition off as it will supply all rooms with continuous fresh air. All air filters are changed for new ones every 6 months.
I am sorry that you had a burned burger and hope you asked for it to be replaced. We sell on average 100 burgers a day and generally get very good feedback. The fish is 'Homemade'. We would be in breach of consumer law if it weren't.
Thank you for choosing Marriott Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
1 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport

Address: First Point Buckingham Gate, Crawley RH6 0NT, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £60 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport. Our airport hotel in Gatwick, England is a contemporary retreat near Gatwick Airport. We offer convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy terminal access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex
Courtyard By Marriott London Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing