We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Marriott experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Standard Marriott experience”
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Standard Marriott experience, clean, fresh and modern hotel conveniently situated at Gatwick Airport.

Perfect for business travel, or for a pre-flight stopover.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aber_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    980
    546
    219
    165
See reviews for
522
1,168
173
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We stayed at ths hotel for 1 night and the included 15 days car parking. We were very pleased wth the check in staff who attended to my wife's request for a room change very efficiently. The room was very clean and spacious and we will be stayng here again in preference to the Gatwick Hilton and Sofitel hotels.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadKevLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Stayed in this hotel for one night. Rooms clean and well appointed. Parked the car for 11 days and paid an extra £10.95 for the meet and greet service. Unfortunately, had a puncture while in the car park but this was repaired by Maple Manor Parking for £11 and we were met within 10 minutes of picking up our baggage. Excellent value for money and service.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGDDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Booked this hotel on Expedia mainly due to location, but got an excellent rate as well!
For the first time i decided not to take my car and leave it at an airport hotel, so i went for the coach to Victoria then the Gatwick Express train to the airport station hence why i needed an on site hotel..
What an excellent decision i made.
Arrived around five o'clock at the airport, and not being too sure where to go decided to hop on the hotel bus for £2.50 which i thought was excessive for a hotel which by all accounts was walkable, anyway off we trot to the North Terminal then back to the hotel.
Arrived at the hotel, very smart indeed as obviously very new, which others have mentioned. Inside i was greeted by a large queue waiting to check in and only two staff covering the front desk..Not good!!!
As i've said on my reviews, i hate checking in, it always seems to take an age anyway and when fronted by this queue i was not amused. In all fairness the two women on the desk sped things through pretty quickly and i was soon on the way to my room.
Everywhere was spotless and quite obviously pretty new.
The room itself was nice and big and had a decent size bathroom. Everything functioned well, lovely powerful shower, flat screen tv and tea & coffee making facillities. All perfect!!
I can't comment on the restaurant as i'd decided to see how far the walk to the South Terminal was and grab something there. Upon checking with the front desk, the woman said its about a ten minute walk and all on paths so off i trotted. Actually she was pretty accurate..Took me about seven or eight minutes, having said that this was not with any luggage or family so i'm sure you would have to factor this in your decision as well as the weather, it isn't until you almost get to the terminal that you get under cover so this may obviously cause you problems and i don't think anyone wants their luggage wet before they go!!!!
Had something to eat then walked back. There are signs on the way back, but they are not particularly large and could easily not get seen! If you turn right as you exit the terminal follow the path you eventually pick them up.
I did walk there in the morning to catch my flight, it was dry i was on my own and in no hurry and i didn't really want to pay £2.50 for a trip i could walk in ten minutes easily! But as i stated earlier if you have a family or its wet you may have to catch the bus or if a group of you a taxi may be cheaper.
Anyway to conclude this is an excellent hotel, and one which i would be more than happy to stay at again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WILLYONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We always stay at Gatwick the night before any early flight as it starts the holiday off and prevents any panic on the day of travel. We have stayed at many Gatwick hotels and can honestly say that the Marriott Courtyard is one of the best.

We normally opt of the Copthorne as my partner enjoys a round of golf but if that isn't your thing and you are looking for a hotel really close (just behind Schlumberger house as you enter Gatwick South terminal on your left) this is the hotel for you. We almost missed it as it was so close. However, rest assured that there is no noise from the airport.

The price is excellent and the rooms were spotless and very modern. Luckily we had some Marriott vouchers so we booked a standard room and a suite (for my partner's parents who had kindly paid for the family holiday for the 10 of us). The suite was very big with a large living area and if you can get a deal it's a nice start to a holiday.

Only downside was the wait to check in. People have obviously got wind that this is a good deal and the queue was long but the reception staff were very nice and apologised for the wait. The hotel run a shuttle service for £2.50 per person and this was great. Even though you could walk to the South terminal it's not too practical with luggage at 6am in the morning!

We also booked the stay and fly package which was brilliant value and for an extra £10 they deliver your car to the terminal building on your arrival back in the UK. Just call them once you have you have collected your luggage and your car is waiting for you when you get out of the terminal building.

We liked it so much we have just booked another stay when we go to Mexico in December.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kel1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We stayed the night before we flew and parked our car for the 8 nights. The hotel was very new. The rooms were excellent. The service as we checked in was quick and without any stress. The bar was spacious and clean with plenty of seating so you could relax. The bus link with the terminal was quick to the north terminal and you could walk to the south. Even as we got up at 4.30 the staff were there to say goodbye and wish us a good trip. Our only disappointment was the buffet dinner. Next time we would choose our food as we wanted it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel before an early flight. Check in was quick and efficient. We booked a junior suite as it was only £10 more than a standard room. The bed (king size) was very comfortable and our son slept in the sofa bed, which was made up for our arrival. The bathroom was good - very clean and a decent shower over the bath.

It was a short walk from the south terminal and is now well sign-posted - you just need to know that you have to go down to the ground floor (underneath the area where the inter-terminal shuttle leaves - down two floors). I would disagree that it is not a safe walking route - there is a footpath all the way.

We ate at the restaurant and although there was a wait for the food, it was explained that this item ( a meat pie) is cooked to order - and it did taste like that, rather than something reheated.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hipposWiltshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport

Property: Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport
Address: London Gatwick Airport | Buckingham Gate, Gatwick, Crawley RH6 0NT, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport. Our airport hotel in Gatwick, England is a contemporary retreat near Gatwick Airport. We offer convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy terminal access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex
Courtyard By Marriott London Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing