We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good choice for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 1 November 2010

The hotel is easily reached on foot from Gatwick Airport - just follow the signposts along the ten minute or so walk. It's all on flat pavements and we managed, even with quite a bit of luggage. Check in was swift and uneventful and we were soon in our comfortable room. Although it was a little on the small side, the room was perfectly adequate for an overnight pre flight stay.
We enjoyed a meal at the restaurant. There was a choice of an a la carte menu or an indian buffet, and we opted for the latter, whcih we thought was good value. The fish curry was very tasty indeed! Although we had to wait a while to be seated as the restaurant was very busy that night, once we were in the service was friendly and quick.
We had a very comfortable night's sleep and cheecked out in the morning feeling very relaxed. As airport hotels go, we found the hotel to be very good, but not particularly outstanding in any way.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RojBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,306 - 2,312 of 2,526 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2010

The Courtyard at Gatwick is fairly typical of its type, with an added benefit of being recently renovated. The hotel is very clean, and the staff try their best to provide good service (although they can be short-staffed at peak times so it is best to allow spare time when checking out at 12pm).

We had booked a Junior Suite which was very spacious and not that much more than a normal room. The hotel is within walking distance of the airport and so quite easy to go into London by train. At night, the path is not very well-lit so a (somewhat pricey) taxi may be preferred.

All-in-all, would recommend it as a clean and decent place to rest before/after a flight

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winnie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

The Courtyard Marriott hotel is close enough to the South Terminal at Gatwick that it's not worth waiting/paying for the bus as it's only a 5 minute walk. Parking is easy - just leave the car in the car park and they park it off-site for you if you have the stay and park package. It was good value at £85 for 1 night + 14 days parking.
The rooms were nice. No bath, but a wall length shower.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkJetlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

This is the first time I have stayed in the Marriott and would use it again. It is clean, spacious, comfortable and I had a great nights sleep here. The check in was very quick and efficient at the car parking very easy.

I wouldn't eat here again as I sent the same £5 cold cheese and tuna melt back to the kitchen twice...it eventually came back micro-waved!! The only other change I would make is to take the 5 minute walk to the South terminal rather than wait for the bus.

The quality of sleep was a great start to a holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RUBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed here the night before our long haul flight from Gatwick. Two weeks parking was included in the price, so when you consider two weeks parking at an airport this was great value for money. When we arrived there were no King/double rooms left so we were upgraded for free to a suite :-)

The room was spacious, comfortable, clean and well decorated. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in! There's a huge flat screen tv with lots of channel choices. The gym was well equiped and clean. Breakfast cost an additional £10 each if you book at check-in or around £13 if you don't book. The breakfast was really nice, good variety and quality, better than you'd get at the airport.

When we checked-out (check out was quick) it only took around 8-10 mins to walk to the South Terminal of Gatwick. Our car was kept in a secure carpark for two weeks and ready for us when we returned.

Considering this hotel is so close to the airport it's amazing how quiet it is. Inside the room we couldn't hear anything, not even the other rooms or outside in the corridor.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biasco11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed here for a night because we got an amazing rate. It was a Saturday night so maybe we were lucky.

Check-in was tedious - crowded and slow. The room was very good, but had no minibar or fridge, which I would have expected. Quite spacious with a good bathroom, which for some reason had an enormous shower, it looked as if it had started life as a bath, which had been replaced with an equivalent sized shower.

We sat down in the rather garish bar and finally gave up waiting to be served and ordered at the bar. We went elsewhere for dinner, so didn't try the restaurant, but it didn't look very tempting anyway. A 5 am start in the morning meant that we couldn't comment on the breakfast either.

I don't think I'd particularly want to eat here, but as a place to rest your head for the night it's as good as most, and I'd certainly go back if the price was right.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Stayed four nights (04-07 OCT 2010) for a business conference with the UK Civil Aviation Authority.

The room itself was clean and quiet. Location next to the airport is also good. Parking is very wierd. You can have 24 hour access to your vehicle for GBP 15 or only during certain hours for GBP 10. I still don't know the deal.

Service at the hotel is terrible. None of the room service personnel speak English and they loudly let you know this when you ask for items or service. As long as you don't mind acting out what you need, ie acting like your washing your body for soap, you'll have no problem.

As the other reviewers here have stated lobby service is really bad. English at check in and the bar area is broken at best. As long as you can point to the beers and food menu and grunt you'll get what you want.

I think Marriott senior management need to visit the hotel and act like a normal guest. As a Marriott Gold Member I stay at their hotels all over the world and I have to say hands down this is the worst for service. I'll probably stay at the Hilton accross the street during my next visit in a few months.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ogambrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport

Address: Buckingham Gate, Crawley RH6 0NT, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £62 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in at Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport. Our airport hotel in Gatwick, England is a contemporary retreat near Gatwick Airport. We offer convenient, modern rooms and suites with easy terminal access. Relax on your king-sized bed, or watch television on your flat-screen satellite TV. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness centre, with the latest cardiovascular equipment. And stop by our Casterbridge Grill, which offers the best steaks in the Gatwick Airport area. For informal dining, the hotel lounge and bar is open from 10:00 am to 11:30pm. In addition to being within walking distance of Gatwick's south terminal and a short (chargeable) shuttle ride to other terminals, Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport is just 30 minutes away from Central London via the Gatwick Express Train service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Sussex
Courtyard By Marriott London Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing