We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 7 July 2011

generally good, room very clean and bar service and restaurant on-site and pleasant enough. Had a problem with my bar bill on check-out which was rectified with no fuss. very good location if using the airport, though I wouldn't pay the £250 per night which is stated on reception! much cheaper on line!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stepheneaglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
himanagment, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel,

Please accept my apologies for the problems with your bar bill, I can assure you that this is not a regular occurence.

We do offer the same rates in house as advertised online, however, the more in advance you book the better the rate value will be.

thank you for the positive feedback too and we look forward to greeting you back at the hotel in the future,

Nicole Jones
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

Pros:
1. Fair prices; clean rooms and pretty friendly staff. Rooms have air con and TV with good choice of channels.
2. Good rail links to London Victoria via Three bridges - which has many more trains than Crawley. Train station is about 12 minute walk.
3. Decent if uninspiring breakfast. Staff will help with ordering food from local take -aways if you need evening meal and will also allow you to use dining room.

Cons
1. No free wifi in rooms (unacceptable in 2011) and rip off wifi prices (£7 for 4 hours!)
2. No restaurant. Harvester next door is poor and with unfriendly, unhelpful staff and is best avoided. It is inexplicably popular - presumably with hotel residents who do not yet know what it is like!

Conclusion - we used this as a base for a 4 day theatre fest in London. We found it ideal; the cost of commuting was offset by low price; and this is a much nicer hotel than you would get at the same price in central London.

We would certainly use it again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BwanaBunduki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
himanagment, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Thank you very much for your positive response to our hotel, we are sorry that you found the restaurant next door less than adequate, however, as you stated, we are more than happy to order take-ways for you and Crawley town centre is just a 10 minute walk with plenty of local restaurants to take advantage from.

We have now introduced a new wifi package that includes wifi in your rom rate whereby you are given a 24 hour wifi voucher upon check-in. This is desigend to have even greater value than what we could offer previously, therefore if you do stay with us again, I would suggest booking this package (online or direct to the hotel) to ensure you have the best value rate and wifi possible.

We look forward to greeting you back to the hoel once again and thank you again for taking the time to write your review,

Kind Regards

Nicole Jones
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Holiday Inn Express at the squareabout in Crawley, is clean, modern and reasonably well appointed. It is not all that convenient to LGW being about GBP 13 in a taxi to get to the hotel. As I was on business in Crawley town it's location was OK for me. The "new" wing is better appointed than the original block I believe and should be requested on booking. Breakfast is adequate and is included in the rate. The hotel does not provide any other dining options but there is a Harvester restaurant on the same site. This is always quite busy and you may have to wait for a table, they do not normally take bookings. The room facilities in the Holiday Inn express are good, with a well appointed bathroom, comfortable bed and work desk. There is tea and coffee making facility in room. The housekeeping staff do a great job and I was unable to find fault with the condition of my room during my extended stay (> 1 month). The TV is flat screen and provides a good selection of channels. All in all i would recommend the Holiday Inn express if you are watching your budget as hotels near LGW can be expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for room in new wing.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wideawake300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Stayed here for the night before a morning flight to the US. Good value and location ideal for airport stop over.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank si1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I use this hotel a lot, several times per month over the past 3-4 years. In comparison with other HIE hotels I use in the UK, I would say it is better than the average.
Last year saw a new 'wing' and the rooms in this section are the new-style HIE form, very comfortable - walk-in showers, LCD TV's etc.
I think they plan upgrading the older rooms over time, and some of these are old/shabby, so ask for the 'new' wing when you check in.
New reception and bar area as well, although the drink selection in the bar is very limited.

Never had a problem with staff, always plenty of them and efficient, being close to an airport you can sometimes have a busy check-out in the morning.

This hotel is not actually at Gatwick, but close enough. To and from Gatwick - £10-£15 taxi, depending on which firm. If you know Gatwick well, take a taxi to Concorde House instead (staff entrance), rather than the main drop-off, it usually costs £8 and gives quicker access to departures (stairs lead directly into the EasyJet check-in area).
There is also a bus to Gatwick from the bus-stop outside the Hotel, ask reception for details.

Usual HIE breakfast, I rarely use it.
Dinner - nothing in Hotel, there is a Harvester restaurant next door (chicken, steaks, etc), also recently refurbished. It can get very busy in the evenings, more with locals than hotel guests, and you may have a 15-30min wait for a table, but the food is usually ok and prices are reasonable. I prefer to go into Crawley, which is a 20min walk or £7 taxi. Good Indian restaurants in the main st - Blue India, Saffron and Taj Mahal, I use all of these regularly and can recommend them all.
Also a Pizza Express, Ask, Spanish Tapas place, and few others as well as several bars.

There are also several takeaway delivery options, if you want to eat in your room or in the bar area.

Ample free parking, although again it can get busy due to the Harvester next door.

Rates are usually excellent, in comparison with other HIE hotels.

WiFi charges are a rip-off, but that is a UK standard and not something you can blame this hotel for..

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuarttaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Part of this hotel has beeb refurbished, the rooms in this area are by far the best that I have seen in any other Holiday Inn Express hotels.

Nive big flat TV - Excellent Bathroom

Free Parking

Harvester across the road

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newly refurbished area
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

its friendly and the room is cosy and clean the price is really good too, theres not much to do nearby but there is a lot of restaurants to go to, me and my partner have been there 3 times already, i would recommend it to any one if you want a short break.
the staff are very firendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princessmayya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley

Address: Haslett Avenue East, Crawley RH10 1UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Crawley
#15 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £58 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley Hotel is located just 15 minutes from Gatwick Airport & less than 10 minutes from J/10 of M23. We offer onsite parking for residents at a rate of £7 per day. Three Bridges & Crawley stations are walking distance & offer's easy links to Brighton, London & beyond. Crawley Town center with selective shops and restaurants is at pleasant walking distance. Buses go to Gatwick and Crawley including Manor Royal. Ideally situated for both leisure & business travelers the hotel has Free Wireless Internet access in all areas. All bedrooms offer TV with free view satellite channels, telephone, tea & coffee facilities, and hairdryer, dry cleaning & power showers. Complimentary continental buffet breakfast with selective hot items served for all guests. The Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley has a well equipped meeting room seating up to 25 people, rates starting from just £85. Local attractions include The Hawth Theatre. K2 Leisure Centre. Tilgate Forest Golf Course & County Mall Shopping Centre. You could also visit the nearby Hever Castle, the birthplace of Anne Boleyn. Biggin Hill. Chessington World of Adventure & Thorpe Park,Nearby Towns include Horsham, East Grinstead, Haywards Heath, Reigate & Redhill. Adjacent to the hotel is the Harvester restaurant, serving food from 12pm till 9.30pm, famous for their flame grilled steaks, spit roast chicken, and salad cart. This is a non smoking hotel but with designated area for smokers. Hotel has air-conditioned Bar with flat screen TV and satellite channels which also serve snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley Hotel Crawley
Holiday Inn Express Crawley
Holiday Inn Crawley
Crawley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing