We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We paid for the stay and park package as we had an early flight. I had stayed here on business before but forgot how good it was.

Quick check in and everything was clean. We had dinner at the bar and the food was excellent could not fault a thing.

Worth every penny!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleharvey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
himanagment, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Thank you for writing a review of your stay.

I am delighted that you were happy with your stay here and found our parking package great value for money.

We hope to see you again for either one of your business trips or leisure.

Kind Regards
Richard Bowen
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

We arrived late after holiday to Morocco and when booking, I picked this place on name, not price.

Firstly, classed as an Airport hotel we found it a little far away, costs £16 in a taxi and just found this a little high.

We were tired when we arrived and check-in was bish bash bosh. In and out very quickly. Perfect.

Only thing was Breakfast? No mention was made about it at all. So we never got any as slipped our mind. Bit gutting. Should be part of welcome speech.

Room, looked nice when we went in, there was hair in shower drain that was little yuck but nothing to write home about.

I could not sleep due to heat. Not hotels fault. Had room on holiday on freezing as easier to sleep so this warm warm bed was a pain!

Check out quick also.

So all in all, yeah, go for it. Was fine.

But your owe me a breakfast. :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
himanagment, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts of your stay on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the taxi fare from Gatwick. The best methods to get to the hotel from the airport are either by local a bus service that runs 3 times an hour and stops directly outside the hotel, costing approximately £2 per person, or alternatively you can contact the hotel and we can organise a pickup with our fixed rate taxi company, which offer considerably cheaper rates.

I would also like to apologise that no mention of breakfast was made when you checked in. Our breakfast is complimentary with all our room rates and I will make sure the reception team inform all guests upon arrival.

However, I am pleased to hear you were happy with the efficiency of both your check in and check out and the quality of your room, something we often hear of our 'new rooms'.

Kind Regards
Richard Bowen
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This hotel is a typical HI Express in that it is nicely presented, has a Harvester across the car park, the staff are helpful and the rooms are clean and quite spacious. Yes, breakfast could be improved but bear in mind this is more for the business person or traveller overnighting on the way to or from Gatwick - not really somewhere you'd necessarily book for a fortnight's holiday. I booked early, online, with a non-refundable booking and got an excellent deal. Really cannot fault this chain.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Thank you for your positive comments on your stay at the hotel.

I am glad you found the hotel nicely presented as the hotel has been refurbished fairly recently to improve the image of the reception, lounge and rooms.

We often get praise for the helpfulness of our staff and the cleanliness of the rooms, all the departments work very hard to ensure you are satisfied with you stay and I am pleased to hear you had a similar experience.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Richard Bowen
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

4 nights was more than enough in the HI Express for me. The rooms are fine and comfortable, but the breakfast is terrible and has the feeling of a dentists waiting room.

If your on a WIFI package you will need to ask for new login credentials every 24 hours :-(.

Check in / out was very straight forward, but some of the staff really don't look like they want to be there.

There are way better options than this for Gatwick or the industrial estate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear papachongo74,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay of our property. We are pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable. I apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret you were not satisfied with the breakfast and services you received. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve the quality and service that we offer to all of our guests.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed here for one night recently and found the accommodation adequate for the occasion.
The breakfast was the basic continental plus the hot choice of scrambled egg, bacon and beans.

Tip....book as early as you can for the best price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LurkerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Thank you for writing a review of your stay.

I am happy to hear the hotel suited your needs.

While our hot breakfast does not include bacon, we do provide sausages, scrambled egg and beans along with the continental items.

I would agree that anyone looking for the best deal should book as early as possible for our discounted rates for advanced bookings.

Kind Regards
Richard Bowen
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is what it is. A convenient stop over hotel for a night or two near Gatwick.
Be aware it is in Crawley and therefore about 4 miles or so from the airport and a 10 - 15 minute cab ride.
The hotel itself is clean and tidy. The reception staff were polite and helpful.
As others have mentioned I also found the beds very soft but obviously this is a personal preference thing!!

Breakfast is a help yourself affair with toast making facilities, cereal, juices, hot drinks and beans, sausages, bacon and scrambled eggs.
Tasted nice but the area is quite small and can be a bit of a scrum at busy times.
Nice seating area though.

I stayed in a room on the third floor. Spotlessly clean, nice bathroom and no traffic noise at all.

All in all I would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djw40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Thank you for your comments on your stay at the hotel and I am glad you found the staff helpful and the hotel spotless.

With respect to your comments on our breakfast I am pleased to hear you found it tasty and the seating area pleasant. I would like to inform you that we are always trying to improve your experience and are actively looking into ways we can reduce the congestion in the breakfast area during the busiest times.

We hope to see you again

Kind Regards
Richard Bowen
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The desk was friendly and helpful. location not too bad, but further from airport than thought. Had room on ground floor facing car park, not good place as a single woman.Shower stall needs better cleaning, rest of room clean. would stay again, but on higher floor.Good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ursula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor.

I am happy that you found our front desk team friendly and helpful. We pride ourselves on providing very high levels of customer service at the hotel.

I would like to apologise about the issues regarding your room. Our housekeeping team are usually very thorough when cleaning the rooms and often get positive comments on the cleanliness.

I am also sorry to hear you were put in a ground floor room, which I can understand may have made you feel uncomfortable. I will speak to our reception team to make sure issues like this do not happen again. However, if you do have an issue with the room you have been allocated let us know and the front desk team will do their best to accommodate you.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Richard Bowen
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley

Address: Haslett Avenue East, Crawley RH10 1UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Crawley
#15 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £55 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley Hotel is located just 15 minutes from Gatwick Airport & less than 10 minutes from J/10 of M23. We offer onsite parking for residents at a rate of £7 per day. Three Bridges & Crawley stations are walking distance & offer's easy links to Brighton, London & beyond. Crawley Town center with selective shops and restaurants is at pleasant walking distance. Buses go to Gatwick and Crawley including Manor Royal. Ideally situated for both leisure & business travelers the hotel has Free Wireless Internet access in all areas. All bedrooms offer TV with free view satellite channels, telephone, tea & coffee facilities, and hairdryer, dry cleaning & power showers. Complimentary continental buffet breakfast with selective hot items served for all guests. The Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley has a well equipped meeting room seating up to 25 people, rates starting from just £85. Local attractions include The Hawth Theatre. K2 Leisure Centre. Tilgate Forest Golf Course & County Mall Shopping Centre. You could also visit the nearby Hever Castle, the birthplace of Anne Boleyn. Biggin Hill. Chessington World of Adventure & Thorpe Park,Nearby Towns include Horsham, East Grinstead, Haywards Heath, Reigate & Redhill. Adjacent to the hotel is the Harvester restaurant, serving food from 12pm till 9.30pm, famous for their flame grilled steaks, spit roast chicken, and salad cart. This is a non smoking hotel but with designated area for smokers. Hotel has air-conditioned Bar with flat screen TV and satellite channels which also serve snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley Hotel Crawley
Holiday Inn Express Crawley
Holiday Inn Crawley
Crawley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing