We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just pass through”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Just pass through”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed one night before holiday flight, very soulless, breakfast poor.......no bacon!!! But good service dropping car at airport and having it delivered back to airport on return all in the price. No facilities, reception with vending machines and breakfast room at end of reception with miserable staff asked if they had bacon with the other breakfast items.........no!! There is a harvester just outside front door

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liver070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear liver070,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review regarding your stay. It delights me to know you were satisfied with the services rendered regarding your car transportation. However, I am sorry you were not fully satisfied with the overall conditions of the hotel, breakfast and services received from our hotel staff. We are always working to be the best we can be and improve on our level of service. The feedback we received from our guests, like you will help us to accomplish this.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    368
    176
    62
    35
See reviews for
234
304
51
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed the night before flying on holiday and would definitely stay again. Staff were very friendly. Check in took about a minute and the staff could not have been more helpful when it came to wake up calls and taxi bookings. The taxi in the morning only took about 10 minutes to Gatwick North Terminal.

Having used Holiday Inn Express quite a few times in the past, I was impressed with the decor and the bathrooms, seems to be newly done and of a good standard.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
himanagment, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Thank you for your positive review of your stay here.

I am delighted you were very impressed with the room. The new side of our hotel has been furnished to high standards and consistently receives good feedback. We also aim to provide the best level of customer service and I am glad you found the staff very friendly, helpful with your requests and your check in experience efficient.

Kind Regards
Richard Bowen
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

As many had mentioned before,this hotel is bit far from the airport.
Check in was quick and easy.Room small and congested for a family (Yes,I have stayed in other HI hotels and a priority club member.Comparatively,the room was definitely smaller).After the bed and sofa bed,there is hardly any space to move around. Bathroom was clean and nice with a proper shower.
Bed was very bouncy and soft and I nearly fell down while moving to the edges.Sleep quality was not good.
Breakfast was very basic and the quality of the hot items (esp.the egg) and juices left a lot to be desired.
WiFi £7.50 for 4hrs or £10 for 24hrs

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobilemedic70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
himanagment, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

I am disappointed to hear you found the hotel a bit far from the airport. We are only a couple of miles away from the airport and can offer either a fixed rate taxi service or a local bus, both of which take no more than 10-15 to get to the airport.

While our rooms all meet the standard Holiday Inn Express size, I would like to apologise on the discomfort felt from your bed and will pass these comments onto our management team.

With regards to your comments on our complimentary breakfast. I am sorry you found the selection basic and the quality of some items not to your liking The items offered include a selection of muffins and pastries, yoghurts, several cereals, a choice of brown or white bread in addition to sausages, scrambled egg and beans.

Kind Regards
Richard Bowen
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Holiday Inn Express at Crawley West Sussex. It is only a short walk from Three Bridges train station which has direct links into London or Brighton. There is a Harvester Inn within the same grounds and for any essentials you may forget and are unable to get from reception there is a Tesco Express nearby. . The staff are very pleasant and welcoming, the room was sufficient for a short stay with tea/coffee making facilities (although only 2 tea bags per day). They also do full breakfast if required. The room was clean and bright and so was the bathroom/shower room. All in all for a short stay with easy access to both Brighton & London I can recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
himanagment, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay on Tripadvisor and recommending the hotel.

With respect to your comments regarding the tea and coffee making facilities in your room, while we normally provide 2 tea bags per day in your room, if you feel this is not enough our staff are more than happy to provide extra on request.

However, I am very pleased to hear you were happy with the service provided by the staff, who do their best to make you feel welcome and the location of the hotel. We are well situated just a short walk from Crawley town centre and Three Bridges train station which has very good transport links to both London and Brighton.

Kind Regards
Richard Bowen
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This was a pleasant place to stay. The rooms are airy, if not spacious, and nice and clean. My room on the 2nd floor overlooks the main road, but fear not! The soundproofed, but openable windows, work fine.
One point. Call me old fashioned, but, I would have preferred proper drawers to open shelves and hanging space.
The desk/dressing table is a decent size with a good lamp if you need to work. If you don't have web access buit in you can by an hour for £3.00, which I think is a little steep these days, so come on HIE, contact 3G soonest, and offer a free facility.
H.I.E. users will be familiar with the breakfast arrangements which are adequate with a fair selection of cerials and juices and basic hot stuff. (Although we ran out of scrambled eggs this morning). Anyway it was OK.
Staff are pleasent and helpful. Worth a try.

Room Tip: The Inn shares its carpark with a good Harvester pub, and gets full fairly quickly, so don,t be late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
himanagment, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your stay.

I am happy you found you stay pleasant, with a decent work space and the rooms clean and quiet. I agree that while we are on a roundabout the rooms are well soundproofed to keep the noise from the road out. I will also pass on your comments with respect to the wifi to our management for review.

Kind Regards
Richard Bowen
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Used the Hotel while at Goodwood Festival of Speed & my wife and daughter used it for going into London at same time, for shopping and sight seeing. Firstly the hotel was easy to find with car after having a quick look on Google maps, friendly staff and quick check in into new part of hotel great new large shower and usual HI Express rooms tight for size but adequate and good quality with air con.
Only 10 to 15 min walk to Three Bridges Station and ticket pre purchased was £16 return inc tube for wife and daughter bargain, they went in three days , Tesco Express within five minute walk and main town center approx 10 to 15 walk excellent.
Breakfast adequate and 1 hour from Goodwood taking it easy, and also used a nice indian takeaway 5 min walk just past the BMW garage will likely use next year as was pleased with location all be it not so close to airport still ok but with car great.

Room Tip: If Priority card holder you get the new rooms but if you ask you may also
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derekh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
himanagment, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Thank you for writing a review of your stay.

I am delighted to hear you had a good stay at our hotel and liked your new side room, in particular the shower, which we receive much positive feedback on. We aim to upgrade all our Priority Club members to these rooms to reward your for your loyalty.

I am also pleased you were happy with the location of the hotel and agree that it is well situated for transport links to both London and Brighton, with the town centre also only a short walk away.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Richard Bowen
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Great hotel, exactly what you would expect from a HI Express. I'll explain the title of this review first. We are Platinum Priority Club so check in took less than 30 seconds, checkout equally as quick and no queues at breakfast, this is exactly what we like, efficient friendly service.

We were a given a refurbished room which was decorated in the new HI Express style. Plenty of room, very clean and comfortable and good size bathroom with great shower pressure. The tv had large selection of channels. The blackout curtains were fab, these did exactly what they were designed to do. Also the air con kept the room at a great tempertaure.

Breakfast selection was as expected, sausages, scrambled eggs, beans, toast, pastries, cereals etc but all fresh and relaxed breakfast area environment.

On same site as Harvester restaurant which was very handy for a nice meal.

Overall great stay and would definately use again if in area.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie_West_Yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
himanagment, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Thank you for writing such a positive review of your stay.

I am very happy to hear you were pleased by all aspects of your stay including the fresh and relaxde atmosphere of our breakfast and the great team at the Harvester restaurant next door whom we work very closely with.

As a Platinum Priority Club member we do our best to reward your loyalty and I am glad you were impressed by your express check in experience and complimentary room upgrade to one of our refurbished rooms.

We hope to see you again if you return to the area.

Kind Regards
Richard Bowen
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Address: Haslett Avenue East, Crawley RH10 1UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Crawley
#15 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley Hotel is located just 15 minutes from Gatwick Airport & less than 10 minutes from J/10 of M23. We offer onsite parking for residents at a rate of £7 per day. Three Bridges & Crawley stations are walking distance & offer's easy links to Brighton, London & beyond. Crawley Town center with selective shops and restaurants is at pleasant walking distance. Buses go to Gatwick and Crawley including Manor Royal. Ideally situated for both leisure & business travelers the hotel has Free Wireless Internet access in all areas. All bedrooms offer TV with free view satellite channels, telephone, tea & coffee facilities, and hairdryer, dry cleaning & power showers. Complimentary continental buffet breakfast with selective hot items served for all guests. The Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley has a well equipped meeting room seating up to 25 people, rates starting from just £85. Local attractions include The Hawth Theatre. K2 Leisure Centre. Tilgate Forest Golf Course & County Mall Shopping Centre. You could also visit the nearby Hever Castle, the birthplace of Anne Boleyn. Biggin Hill. Chessington World of Adventure & Thorpe Park,Nearby Towns include Horsham, East Grinstead, Haywards Heath, Reigate & Redhill. Adjacent to the hotel is the Harvester restaurant, serving food from 12pm till 9.30pm, famous for their flame grilled steaks, spit roast chicken, and salad cart. This is a non smoking hotel but with designated area for smokers. Hotel has air-conditioned Bar with flat screen TV and satellite channels which also serve snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley Hotel Crawley
Holiday Inn Express Crawley
Holiday Inn Crawley
Crawley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing