We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

This is a good hotel, check in was a breeze and the staff are lovely (shout out to James). I stayed here for several nights due to a training course and it was excellent. The rooms are lovely and clean, the shower was massive. Breakfast did what it said on the tin - Sausage, Beans, Scrambled eggs, Bread for toast (toast yourself), Bread rolls, Croissantes, Muffins, Various cereals, Grapefruit segments, etc plus lots of jam, Nutella, Marmite etc. Coffee machine is ok - not Starbucks but its ok. Rooms come with Tea, Coffee and if you need more just ask at reception. Slight issue with key card - we had to keep having them re-programmed but not a massive issue. The Harvester provided entertainment as some of the staff were "not too good" but I'll review that seperately - it is good value though. Would recommend to anyone and would'nt hesitate booking in here if I was flying out of Gatwick (fyi - taxi is approx £5) - its a Holiday Inn, remember that, its not the Savoy so stop complaining!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such kind words about the hotel.

I am thrilled you had an easy check-in experience. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast. We adhere to the standards of a Holiday Inn Express when it comes to breakfast and we hope it provides something for everybody. As for the coffee, I have passed along your comments to our breakfast supervisor so we can attempt to improve this facility.

I am delighted you had an enjoyable experience and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    356
    169
    60
    31
See reviews for
219
293
51
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stayed here for one night in October. Rooms where typical holiday inn, clean, comfortable. The staff were very polite and friendly. There is a small bar and comfortable lounge with two large screen televisions in all the hotel is ok for one or two nights stay. Snacks and pre made sandwiches can be purchased. An harvester pub adjacent with restaurant and bar meals service. All in all a very typical holiday inn, which are ok for one or two night stop over

Room Tip: Foot traffic noise from floors above, suggest top floor rooms will not have this
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Our staff are always delighted to receive positive feedback about the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

stayed here for one night before early morning flight from Gatwick, efficient check in, and room was basic but functional, and very clean. Great value for money compared to other "airport" hotels" would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWilson1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review about Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. Our staff take pride in the work they do and I know they are happy yo see such kind words about the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the Gatwick area.

Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

My wife and I arrived late one night after roughly 24 hours of continuous travelling into Gatwick. At the check-in counter, the clerk pulled up my reservation and asked that I provide the TripAdvisor internet voucher that was used to book my room and provide payment. I was certain that I had booked and prepaid (one of the nonrefundable. prepaid rates) on the Holiday Inn website...but I think the jet lag had caught up with me and I wasn't quite sure how to respond.
I tried to explain that I had prepaid and my online bank account showed that the funds had already been transferred. I did recall that I looked the hotel up in Trip Advisor but was certain that I had paid for the room via a different website. What's more, I had NO idea that a Trip Advisory voucher existed for things like that (it made sense, I just didn't know they had them). Anyway, I showed the clerk the confirmation email that I had received, but he kept insisting that I needed to provide a voucher and recommended that I buy some time for the internet kiosk so I could print off the aforementioned document.
I actually considered doing as he requested but couldn't think of how I could convince him of my veracity without producing that "mystical" voucher.
Finally, the clerk did some more research on his computer and somewhere it showed that I had indeed paid for the room and didn't need to provide anything else.

Anyway, I would have given it a lower rating but the rest of our short stay turned out better. A decent breakfast with hot item options and great service by food service staff. Also, the service at the front desk the next day was great. Rooms are what you'd expect.
If you're taking the bus to Gatwick, the bus stop is a short walk away, right across the street and visible from the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sihyo1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

First of all, let me apologise for the inconvenience you experienced while checking-in to the hotel. The voucher you were asked to provide does exist but you should never have been asked for it at check-in. A full investigation has been launched as to why you were asked to provide such a document to make sure no such thing happens again in the future.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Shame the good value we received by early booking was marred by a pathetic, self service, almost non existent breakfast and a poor dinner at the nearby Harvester, who obviously do well from the shared car park with the hotel.

The room was good value but I would have wanted a partial refund if I had paid more than the £53.99, due to the poor breakfast offering. The 3 dried sausages in the hot dish(all that was left) were horrible and how can a chef make baked beans taste so strange-that takes skill? The coffee was dreadful and I have not had a worst breakfast since the mid eighties in any country!

If we did not have a flight to catch I would have complained there and then but the queue at the checkout did not give me time to do so- I just will not be going there again when I use Gatwick.
Also poor sleep due to constant traffic noise- the hotel is on a busy roundabout!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterscarff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am saddened to here that you had a bad breakfast experience whilst here. I would like to sincerely apologise for the service you may have received while dining with us however in regards to the items on offer, they comply with the standards of all express hotels in this country.

Your comments have been shared with our breakfast staff and will be doing everything possible to improve their service in the restaurant.

Thank you once again for your comments and I apologise once again.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

On arrival at Gatwick airport, we took the no.20 Metrobus (£2.00 each) which dropped us beside the HIE Crawley (only hand luggage) Efficient, friendly check in. Room was very clean and compact with a window which opens - always good to avoid stuffiness!! Breakfast was adequate and comprised of cereals, breads, croissants, yoghurts, scrambled egg and beans. Breakfast area not very big but we always got a table and the breakfast staff worked hard to clear away dishes. We found the staff friendly and enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rhanbuoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

The bus is indeed the cheapest and provides an efficient way to get to the hotel from the airport. Alternatively there are taxis that you can get but they are an expensive option.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Our staff make a huge effort to provide everything you require whilst you are here.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.

Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed before a flight to Egypt and had booked in for night of return and informed them we would not arrive until about 2am. On arrival we were told our room had been given to someone else and hotel full. Not happy, eventually someone booked out for early flight so got a room, money refunded, not good enough, we are also Gold members for IHG, where is the loyalty.

Room Tip: Before our flight out we went to the Six Bells for evening meal, it is excellent, but worth booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPJMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
himanagment, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Many thanks for your recent review, however looking at the specific details listed in your description it would seem that your review relates to the Holiday inn Gatwick.

I have completed a in house investigation and it would appear that we did not have such incident as described by yourself happen in our hotel recently.

Please feel free to pass your reservation number to so that we can find your exact location of recent stay.

We will be happy to help where we can.

Best Regards
Nadine Wilkinson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Address: The Squareabout Crawley Haslett Avenue East, Crawley RH10 1UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Crawley
#15 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley Hotel is located just 15 minutes from Gatwick Airport & less than 10 minutes from J/10 of M23. We offer onsite parking for residents at a rate of £7 per day. Three Bridges & Crawley stations are walking distance & offer's easy links to Brighton, London & beyond. Crawley Town center with selective shops and restaurants is at pleasant walking distance. Buses go to Gatwick and Crawley including Manor Royal. Ideally situated for both leisure & business travelers the hotel has Free Wireless Internet access in all areas. All bedrooms offer TV with free view satellite channels, telephone, tea & coffee facilities, and hairdryer, dry cleaning & power showers. Complimentary continental buffet breakfast with selective hot items served for all guests. The Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley has a well equipped meeting room seating up to 25 people, rates starting from just £85. Local attractions include The Hawth Theatre. K2 Leisure Centre. Tilgate Forest Golf Course & County Mall Shopping Centre. You could also visit the nearby Hever Castle, the birthplace of Anne Boleyn. Biggin Hill. Chessington World of Adventure & Thorpe Park,Nearby Towns include Horsham, East Grinstead, Haywards Heath, Reigate & Redhill. Adjacent to the hotel is the Harvester restaurant, serving food from 12pm till 9.30pm, famous for their flame grilled steaks, spit roast chicken, and salad cart. This is a non smoking hotel but with designated area for smokers. Hotel has air-conditioned Bar with flat screen TV and satellite channels which also serve snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley Hotel Crawley
Holiday Inn Express Crawley
Holiday Inn Crawley
Crawley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing