We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airconditioning is a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Airconditioning is a let down”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Used this hotel when we went to Brighton. This hotel is in a good location. It is just 25-30 mins from Brighton. The hotel room is clean and quiet. However the centralised air-conditioning was a let down and not helpful on hot summer nights. Minimum temperature was 18C and fan blower was weak so we had to open our window. This is my first time to use an "Express" hotel branch so I guess others Holiday Inn Express have the save centralised air-conditioning system. The free buffet breakfast is good but staff took long time to replace empty food containers so I had to wait few minutes to get those breakfast food items. The plus was the ice maker machine.

Room Tip: Use greenroom codes for discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenxhix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am pleased that you found the hotel to be in a convenient location. We are, as you state, only 25-30 minutes from Brighton and only 35-40 minutes away from London.

I would like to apologise that you room was not cool enough for you. We do provide fans on request which also could have helped you but i do apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you for commenting on our express breakfast. I will investigate the reasoning for you having to wait for some items as this is not a standard we abide by.

Thank you again for choosing Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley and I hope to see you at the hotel again soon.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    372
    184
    63
    36
See reviews for
240
311
51
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bo'ness
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Good hotel, comfortable, double bed was a bit soft and small but still comfortable, breakfast was ideal and all you really need. Most of the staff were very good letting s know where we could eat as the Harvester next to the hotel was very busy and had a 90 minute waiting time to get fed. We stayed a couple of nights as we were visiting family in Brighton, the only blot was one member of staff who looked like she did not want to be there or serve us, but the rest made up for it and it was a good stay

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cct001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express.

I am glad that our staff made your stay at the hotel even more enjoyable. We are only a 10 minute walk from Crawley Town Centre which gives you many options when it comes to finding a good restaurant. I am pleased that on this occasion, that was the case.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next in the area.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My family which was 5 adults plus 2children booked a family room for 2 adults and a triple room for 3 adults for the 3rd of August to fly on the 4th to Spain. What a lovely modern hotel. The walk in shower was something else. There was a Harvester next door for an evening meal. Although the room for the 3 adults was a little small it was fine for the 1 night. Breakfast was included and as we booked 21 days in advance we only paid £126 in total, which was great value for money. We had rooms on ground floor which was great. Friendly and professional on reception. Would have liked a shuttle service to the airport. Would use again

Room Tip: Ground floor if you have luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for your kind words regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am thrilled that on this occasion we were able to accommodate you and your family at a reasonable price.

We unfortunately do not operate a shuttle service to the airport. This is because there is a public bus that runs from directly outside the hotel to the airport every 15 minutes. This proves a good alternative to taxis which are used often from the hotel at a cost of just £11.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next in the area.

Best Regards
Matthew Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed on return from holiday- arrived at about 1:30am and was dealt with promptly by man at reception. He was nice and friendly despite the early hour. Went to our room which was no 351 (highest number they had) so I don't know whether that means they were fully booked or not? Room was fairly small but tastefully decorated and bathroom was very nice!

Aircon didn't really go cool enough for my liking so I was quite hot all night but still managed a reasonable nights sleep.

Went down for breakfast the next morning at about 9 am which on reflection was probably their busiest time (and as referred to earlier, they were possibly fully booked) and it was quite honestly a shambles. We managed to get the last free table and sent my husband off to get himself some food while I guarded the table. He came back with a sausage, some scrambled eggs and some beans and told me he'd nabbed the last sausage (sad times- I was looking forward to a good old full english after 10 days abroad).

I ventured to the food area which was tiny! I'd say approximately half the size of our bedroom (which I'd already described as small for 2 people!). I found only beans and scrambled eggs in the little cooked food area. I cornered a staff member and asked about sausages to be told they'd be a couple of minutes (I also hoped some bacon would also appear, but alas, I was to be disappointed). In the meantime I queued up to get some toast then wandered off in search of some drink - found both hot and cold but there were no cups or glasses. A couple of minutes later a staff member found some cardboard cups so used them although no sign of any spoons (of any variety) so I had to scoop my tea bag out with a fork handle.

While I was doing this some sausages appeared so I hurried off but unfortunately there were no normal sized plates so had to squeeze my breakfast onto a side plate, so it was probably just as well there was no bacon and hardly any eggs at this point!

Got back to the table and husband ventured off for some muesli but there were still no spoons- he managed to track down a staff member and a couple of minutes later she appeared with about half a dozen of them which obviously then disappeared immediately.

So all in all a shambles, however upon check out the receptionist apologised and explained they were very busy and short staffed and did actually check that we did manage to get some breakfast.

I am not marking the hotel down of the problems with breakfast as I can appreciate that sometimes problems happen- another guest mentioned they hadn't had any problems the day before. But mainly I'm not marking them down on the principle that they include breakfast in the price- we paid £44 for the room and I know most hotels charge at least £10 per person for breakfast and I have seen some charge upwards of £15 per person. And this, in my opinion makes it very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton on Tees
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We used this as our overnight en-route to Newhaven (ferry) we booked online several months in advance and paid just £44 which for 4 (2+2) with breakfast was fantastic the standard advertised rate in arrival is £79. The hotel had a Harvester Pub next to it which was a welcome addition and served good value food and drink. The hotel was clean and pretty new. The room was small for a family room but did the job double bed and double sofabed. The staff seemed little confused when we called down for 4 extra pillows. With "4" being the response, one I told them then there were actually four they arrived within minutes. Would not hesitate to stop there again even if at the "full" rate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a kind review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I know our housekeeping staff will be thrilled to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of the room. They all work tirelessly to ensure that all rooms are spotless for every guest use.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next in the area.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here before our flight to Cyprus, not wanting to get stuck n the motorway in the morning rush hour, we checked in and went to our room, a family room, it was lovely and clean, the main bed had a choice of firm or soft pillows, the sofa had been made up for our daughter, in the bathroom, there was a gorgeous shower with glass door, I used this almost straight away, it was so lovely I couldn't get out of it. we used the harvester restaurant next door, which was very convenient, the main shopping centre was close by if you needed anything. in the morning we had breakfast in the allocated room, which had plenty of tables, the choice of breakfast was not enormous but there was something for everyone, toast, cereal, cooked items, yogurt, fruit etc, plus the normal tea, coffee, orange juice, quite a nice breakfast to keep us going for a couple of hours, a good stay overall, and will stay again next year, in fact have already booked.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Express Crawley.

I would like to thank you for the kind words you have posted about the hotel and I hope that you enjoyed your holiday.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next flying out of Gatwick.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Lovely hotel, good location for Hawth theatre. Only two problems was the fact that our booking hadnt come through to the hotel and the room wasn't ready. Also, breakfast was disappointing and was not managed efficiently- lots of things were empty, glasses not by the fruit juice, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

At only a very brief walk away, we are, as you have suggested, an ideal location for visiting the Hawth Theatre. May I apologise for the issue with your booking; I will investigate further into the cause of this.
I am also disappointed to hear you found our breakfast to be less than great. As a Holiday Inn Express, we offer a complimentary buffet breakfast with hot items and strive to keep it fully stocked at all times.

I extend my apologies for us not fully living up to your expectation in this instance and hope you you will return again.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Address: Haslett Avenue East, Crawley RH10 1UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Crawley
#15 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley Hotel is located just 15 minutes from Gatwick Airport & less than 10 minutes from J/10 of M23. We offer onsite parking for residents at a rate of £7 per day. Three Bridges & Crawley stations are walking distance & offer's easy links to Brighton, London & beyond. Crawley Town center with selective shops and restaurants is at pleasant walking distance. Buses go to Gatwick and Crawley including Manor Royal. Ideally situated for both leisure & business travelers the hotel has Free Wireless Internet access in all areas. All bedrooms offer TV with free view satellite channels, telephone, tea & coffee facilities, and hairdryer, dry cleaning & power showers. Complimentary continental buffet breakfast with selective hot items served for all guests. The Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley has a well equipped meeting room seating up to 25 people, rates starting from just £85. Local attractions include The Hawth Theatre. K2 Leisure Centre. Tilgate Forest Golf Course & County Mall Shopping Centre. You could also visit the nearby Hever Castle, the birthplace of Anne Boleyn. Biggin Hill. Chessington World of Adventure & Thorpe Park,Nearby Towns include Horsham, East Grinstead, Haywards Heath, Reigate & Redhill. Adjacent to the hotel is the Harvester restaurant, serving food from 12pm till 9.30pm, famous for their flame grilled steaks, spit roast chicken, and salad cart. This is a non smoking hotel but with designated area for smokers. Hotel has air-conditioned Bar with flat screen TV and satellite channels which also serve snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley Hotel Crawley
Holiday Inn Express Crawley
Holiday Inn Crawley
Crawley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing