We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at several HI Express hotels during our visit to the UK. This one was the only one that didn't offer an airport shuttle service. There is a train station nearby, but we had an oversize bag (a bicycle) that made it necessary for us to pay for a taxi from and to Gatwick airport, costing about 15 GBP each way, depending on the terminal used.

Service at the front desk was prompt and helpful. Service at the bar was almost non-existent, and left us waiting a long time for service. The room was fine and clean, the beds comfortable, the choice of pillows appreciated. There was a bit of a leak in the shower head which meant we couldn't use it as a handheld without soaking the entire bathroom. I don't think we were in the new wing mentioned by other reviewers.

The Harvester Restaurant next door was convenient, and good value for money. It did get very busy at dinner time and there was a wait for a table, but there were a few tables set aside near the entrance where, if you could find a seat, you could order your food yourself from the bar. This is what we did and enjoyed a chat with others who had chosen this same option.

The breakfast was sufficient, although we left too early to get the hot offerings. We appreciated that there was coffee and continental fare available that early.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnInquiringMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

As you mention, the hotel does not operate a shuttle however there is a public bus that can be accessed that goes to and from the airport frequently which we think provides a great alternative than a sometimes expensive taxi.

I would like to apologise for the service that you received at the bar. This is not the standard that we set ourselves at the hotel and I have launched an investigation as to why you received such service.

Thank you for also mentioning the Harvester next door to us. I will pass on you comments to the management at the restaurant.

I am glad overall that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    372
    185
    63
    36
See reviews for
241
311
51
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Was pleasantly surprised by this place. Easily accessible location and plenty of parking available. Welcome was okay. Room was very good. Smaller than their competitors rooms, but the standard was second to none.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Have stayed at this hotel on quite a few occassions and this time stayed for the night prior to flying off to foreign shores. We had a room in the new wing and as always found the room to be spacious, clean and cosy. Loved the big shower, choice of pillow but found the mattress to be on the soft side, causing my back to ache the next morning.

There is a Harvester restaurant right next to the hotel so very handy if you don't want to go far for a bite to eat and there is plenty of parking on site. The hotel is ideally located if you want the coast or just what to spend the night before flying off on holiday. I choose this hotel as I always use HIEX when I can, as they are value for money and of course you get a free breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley and your continued loyalty to the Express Brand Family.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found everything in the room that you needed. Our team of housekeepers work tirelessly to ensure that all of our rooms are spotless for every guest use so thank you again for your generous words.

I am thrilled that you found the hotel convenient to your needs and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions. Check in always quick and efficient - room is typical HI Express layout and comfortable, although this time in the twin room, beds had a tendency to roll around during the night, which was an annoyance for my partner but not reported to reception; not sure what to suggest to remedy. Breakfast good and kept replenished although the serving room can get a little crowded at peak times. Even with cost of taxi, using this hotel could work out cheaper than hotels closer to LGW.

Room Tip: There is a new wing which has more updated features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

A fantastic hotel with ample car free parking on site. Modern, clean and well maintained rooms. Only a short walk from Crawley Railway Station. A good free hot buffet breakfast available if required. Would recommend this hotel for an overnight visit to Crawley

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

We are in a great location with Crawley and Three Bridges Rail stations only a short distance away. This provides very easy access to London and Brighton.

I am also glad that you were able to take advantage of our fantastic free breakfast. We provide a great range of continental items plus our hot range of scrambled egg, sausage and baked beans.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and i look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards

Matthew Allan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Allan, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I used this hotel as a stop over as I had a connecting flight the following morning at Gatwick Airport.

Taxi to the hotel was £16 (fixed price from the taxi booth at the airport). The taxi the following morning was £11 on return to the airport.

Comfortable stopover but not one of IHG's best offerings. It was clean but no sense of atmosphere...in fairness I was late but at 10:30pm at night you would still expect some movement.

As a loyalty card holder I was given the choice of a free beer or additional 200 pts on my stay. I took the beer and sat in the bar alone. There was no chat from the barman, in fact he made a point of trying to keep himself busy and away from the bar.

Breakfast was fine...standard Express breakfast.

I would use this hotel again if the price was right but may consider trying other alternatives next time first.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Bill G,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norrtalje, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

With its close location to the airport, with shuttle bus every 15 minutes, this hotel should be a good alternative when utlilizing the Gatwick airport. And it does the job, but not more. It´s not cheap, but clean and quiet, friendly personnel and with good beds. The restaurant however is to high-priced for what it serves (we had burgers that was much over-cooked for £14).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbjurstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Address: Haslett Avenue East, Crawley RH10 1UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Crawley
#15 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley Hotel is located just 15 minutes from Gatwick Airport & less than 10 minutes from J/10 of M23. We offer onsite parking for residents at a rate of £7 per day. Three Bridges & Crawley stations are walking distance & offer's easy links to Brighton, London & beyond. Crawley Town center with selective shops and restaurants is at pleasant walking distance. Buses go to Gatwick and Crawley including Manor Royal. Ideally situated for both leisure & business travelers the hotel has Free Wireless Internet access in all areas. All bedrooms offer TV with free view satellite channels, telephone, tea & coffee facilities, and hairdryer, dry cleaning & power showers. Complimentary continental buffet breakfast with selective hot items served for all guests. The Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley has a well equipped meeting room seating up to 25 people, rates starting from just £85. Local attractions include The Hawth Theatre. K2 Leisure Centre. Tilgate Forest Golf Course & County Mall Shopping Centre. You could also visit the nearby Hever Castle, the birthplace of Anne Boleyn. Biggin Hill. Chessington World of Adventure & Thorpe Park,Nearby Towns include Horsham, East Grinstead, Haywards Heath, Reigate & Redhill. Adjacent to the hotel is the Harvester restaurant, serving food from 12pm till 9.30pm, famous for their flame grilled steaks, spit roast chicken, and salad cart. This is a non smoking hotel but with designated area for smokers. Hotel has air-conditioned Bar with flat screen TV and satellite channels which also serve snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley Hotel Crawley
Holiday Inn Express Crawley
Holiday Inn Crawley
Crawley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing