We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for transport connections, airport and town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Horam, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good location for transport connections, airport and town.”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I chose this hotel for my weekend leisure break because of the brand's reputation and the convenient location near to Three Bridges main-line train station for London Gatwick Airport and the south coast. I parked my car at the hotel during my two-night stay and had a pleasant Sunday day out by train. It was an easy though not particularly pleasant walk along the main road to the train station.

My partner and I had a central top-floor room overlooking the car-park and the trees beyond. We enjoyed the self-service breakfasts to the full and most components of them exceeded our expectations, but the absence of bacon from the cooked food (pork sausage, beans and scrambled egg) was disappointing.
The only complaint about our room was the faulty waste - that's a plumbing term - in the wash-basin, where there was just an ill-fitting loose plug to cover a dark hole for the outlet where you would lose any small object accidentally dropped into it such as jewellery or a contact lens. There was an unpleasant smell coming from the hole which I tried to eliminate with boiling water from the kettle. This was reported to Front Desk.
As the hotel does not serve evening dinner, we went out to the separate Harvester restaurant in front of the hotel: this was disappointing due to waiting time even when there were vacant tables, and service was below expectations.
For any readers familiar with my "sofa test" in my other reviews elsewhere - moving furniture to see if there is dirt behind or beneath - the Pass mark was exceeded here.
In my overall rating, the car parking, the location, bed comfort and the included breakfast, and the price for my flexible online reservation, all score high marks.

Room Tip: A room on an upper floor facing the car park, but not next to stairs or lifts, should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldrambler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I am glad that you have enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed the local area. We are ideally located to access both London and the south coast. Our excellent location enables our guests to access London and Brighton in less than 30mins by train.
As per our brand standards, all Holiday Inn Express hotels in UK serve complimentary breakfast with sausages, beans, scrambled eggs along with continental breakfast items. As you rightly pointed out, this is ideal to give you a great morning start. We do not serve bacon in any of the Holiday Inn Express brand of hotels in UK.
I will share your comments with the harvester manager. Although a completely different company, they do share our vision of 100% guest satisfaction.
I do regret the faulty waste situation and have asked my housekeeping team to use the drain cleaner and freshener more often. Regarding the size of the hole, they will now leave the blocker half way through so no items can go down the drain.
I do look forward to welcoming you back in my hotel in the near future. We constantly keep updating our special offers online and I do request you to have a look at our current offers.
Best Regards
Prashant Vaid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    372
    184
    63
    36
See reviews for
240
311
51
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Had one night here on a business trip, the hotel was fine and staff friendly.

However there wasn't a lot nearby in terms of food options, high street only about twenty minutes walk away but many pubs had no food service after 7pm on a Sunday night and there weren't many other places open!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ak_On_The_Go1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Ak_On_The_Go1234,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am delighted to hear that you found our hotel fine and staff friendly. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Its very quiet despite being in middle of roundabout there is no traffic noise. The curtains also block all exterior light. Its very clean and a nice place to stay. The room was very comfy and tea making facilities. The bed was very good and had such restful night. Would recommend it to everyone. A nice touch you don't see much is there is an ice machine here. The room is well lit and modern. And has free shower gel soap not in silly little containers. The parking was easy to get too and there are enough spaces. A nice central location. Close to airport but no aircraft noise.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gazzaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times and it's always been good. A five minute walk to three bridges station makes it an ideal stop over point if you're flying early from Gatwick or breaking a long journey towards the South coast. Friendly staff, good food, quiet and most of all comfortable. There's not much in the way of nightlife but there is a Harvester restaurant and a pub. It's also a quick train ride to Brighton.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank keylayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel has seriously got it right. It's immaculately clean, crisp and comfortable.

The rooms are great, the staff are great, the FREE wifi is great, the breakfast is great (even the toaster lets you toast your bread properly - like when you're at home!), the free parking is great and the pub over the car park is also great!

Well done Holiday inn.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Godsall740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I genuinely never thought I'd give a 'holiday inn' 5 stars.
This hotel was minutes from the aiport, clean, massive rooms, no noise from planes or traffic (and I'm a light sleeper).
The thing I'm giving extra points for is the bedding.....slept so well and didn't feel like the usual synthetic linens you get at chain travel hotels.

We'll always use this hotel for flights from Gatwick !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccaDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Gatwick and were very satisfied with the rooms and the staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but very clean. We are a family of 4 and decided to use two rooms which helped with the size issue. There is groceries and a restaurant close by across the parking lot. Close to the Gatwick airport which is perfect if traveling.

Room Tip: Away from the front desk can be a little loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OntarioFundaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Ontario Fundaddy,

Thank you for taking the time to post your 4 star review for the Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley. I am pleased to read that our team, hotel and location exceeded your expectations and that the cleanliness of the rooms was also a highlight during your stay.

My team and I hope that you and your family had a safe onward journey and that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Gatwick - Crawley the next you are visiting the UK

Kind regards
Colin Rice
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Address: Haslett Avenue East, Crawley RH10 1UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Crawley
#15 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley Hotel is located just 15 minutes from Gatwick Airport & less than 10 minutes from J/10 of M23. We offer onsite parking for residents at a rate of £7 per day. Three Bridges & Crawley stations are walking distance & offer's easy links to Brighton, London & beyond. Crawley Town center with selective shops and restaurants is at pleasant walking distance. Buses go to Gatwick and Crawley including Manor Royal. Ideally situated for both leisure & business travelers the hotel has Free Wireless Internet access in all areas. All bedrooms offer TV with free view satellite channels, telephone, tea & coffee facilities, and hairdryer, dry cleaning & power showers. Complimentary continental buffet breakfast with selective hot items served for all guests. The Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley has a well equipped meeting room seating up to 25 people, rates starting from just £85. Local attractions include The Hawth Theatre. K2 Leisure Centre. Tilgate Forest Golf Course & County Mall Shopping Centre. You could also visit the nearby Hever Castle, the birthplace of Anne Boleyn. Biggin Hill. Chessington World of Adventure & Thorpe Park,Nearby Towns include Horsham, East Grinstead, Haywards Heath, Reigate & Redhill. Adjacent to the hotel is the Harvester restaurant, serving food from 12pm till 9.30pm, famous for their flame grilled steaks, spit roast chicken, and salad cart. This is a non smoking hotel but with designated area for smokers. Hotel has air-conditioned Bar with flat screen TV and satellite channels which also serve snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley Hotel Crawley
Holiday Inn Express Crawley
Holiday Inn Crawley
Crawley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing