We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to visit London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good place to visit London”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Quite good localization, not far from London (33 minutes by British Railways from Three Bridges); nice shopping center close to the hotel, quiet place, nice Staff, breakfast on a good level, "Harvester" Restaurant 30 m away from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Gie K,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you found the hotel to be conveniently located and enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

I hope that you will stay with us again when you have accommodation requirements in the local area.

Kind Regards,

Katie Kitapci
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    372
    185
    63
    36
See reviews for
241
311
51
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel before our early flight out of Gatwick. Whilst the room design is typical of Holiday Inn Express (we had double bed and sofa bed), the toilet and shower cubicle was more spacious compared to other Hi Express hotels.
Hotel benefits from being next door to the Harvester pub so there's a place to eat out nearby. It however can also be a disadvantage as hotel shares parking with the pub and it may be full until late. Parking is free for hotel guests.

Breakfast is usual HI Express (continental style) - the only complaint here that it starts at 6:30am, which is quite late for the hotel that positions itself as "airport hotel" - if one's flight departs before 9am then there's simply no time for breakfast.

Room was clean, however bedding was tired and mattress too soft. There was free reasonably fast wi-fi.

Room Tip: rooms that face parking lot are quieter than these facing outside street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Avsm,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review your recent stay with us.
I am delighted that we met your expectations of the Holiday Inn Express Brand and we were able to get your holiday off to a good start.

Although Breakfast officially starts at 6:30am we are able to provide early breakfast at any time. I am sorry if you were not offered this option and I will ensure your comments are passed onto the front desk.

Once again, thank you for your review. I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Katie Kitapci
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Sorting out attendance at the Goodwood Festival of Speed late meant there were no nearby hotels at a sensible price, so I looked further afield and found the HI Express with very reasonable rates.

I wasn't alone in that, with a number of the PR firms working on the stands at the show sending their staff here each night. That meant there was a great atmosphere in the bar, even though it is tiny.

The room was fine. It's nothing exciting, but serves the purpose well, with enough room to move around and the basic facilities you need. A small sofa and a desk big enough to use were nice additions. The bathroom is small, but perfectly formed. Cleanliness was also up to par, which is obviously a good thing.

There's a restaurant next door that is perfectly acceptable for a low-key dinner, if not a very exciting one, while the hotel itself includes breakfast. This was a small-scale buffet of sorts, but with enough to choice for most people. Only crushed croissants let it down.

As an overnight top, either for an event or perhaps pre-Gatwick airport, it's difficult to fault the HI Express. It's exactly what you expect it to be.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights after a relatives wedding in London. Well it's basic the bed sheets were too small and and left the mattress exposed, however the room was clean and air-con good. The breakfast good with a choice of cereals and frsh fruit. Found it to be noisy on the first night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay here at Holiday inn Express Gatwick-Crawley.

I am pleased that you found the room to be clean and that you enjoyed the Express Start breakfast, although I am saddened to read that you found it to be noisy on the first night. Any noise complaints made by our guests during their stay are immediately handled by the management team to reduce the noise level sufficiently. With that being said, i do sincerely apologise that you were disrupted on your first night.

Thank you for your valued feedback and I hope that you will choose our hotel once again for accommodation needs next time you return to the area.

Kind regards,

Joseph Blanchard
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ox394dp
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stopped overnight on the way down to the south coast. Lots of parking space, reception very friendly and professional. Room wth bed and sofa. Small but well designed bathroom.
Breakfast as expected at HHE with the only bicker that the mini pain au chocolate were 'bashed about' and the croissants had been in the warmer for too long causing them to be hard and crusty at the ends. A pleasant and good value short stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 'road' side of the hotel but would never had known as the sound level w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinnorchappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Chinnorchappie,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley.

I am delighted that you were impressed with our recently refurbished facilities and that you found the hotel reception to be friendly and efficient.

I am pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your breakfast with us and I thank you for your constructive feedback on areas we could improve.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Katie Kitapci
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for two nights as we were flying out of Gatwick. It's about a 10 minute drive away from the airport and we found the hotel to be good value and the staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable and there is was a Harvester Restaurant next door. WiFi and breakfast were included.We went to London for the day on a Sunday for 10 Pounds including the London Underground which was great value.We walked to Crawley town but there is not a lot there.There is a bus to the door from Gatwick or local taxi is easy also
No frills and nothing out of the ordinary, but good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchie0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Frenchie0209,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay here at Holiday Inn Express Gatwick- Crawley.

I am delighted that you found the rooms to clean and comfortable and that the hotel was great value. I always take great delight when I read that our team have provided and friendly and helpful service and I will be passing your kind comments to the team who work so hard to provide excellent customer service.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and I hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked a deal through Hotels.com for two rooms for five people. We arrived late with two tired hungry children, check-in was very smooth, staff very helpful and polite. We ate in the Harvester next door, again very good service and lovely staff. Our rooms were spotless and comfy although the bed was a bit soft and springy. Fab shower and toiletries available on request if you have forgotten anything which I wouldn't expect on such a budget! We expected a continental breakfast but were pleasantly surprised to also find a hot buffet one as well. All in all this is stonking value for money as we paid £92 for two rooms one of which had a cot all made up ready for us. Many thanks for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Sidollie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley.

Reading your review was an absolute pleasure and I am really happy that we able to deliver on so many aspects of your stay. I will be passing your kind comments to our staff who work so hard to provide nothing less than exceptional customer service.

As you quite rightly pointed out, our Express Start breakfast includes selected hot items as well as many continental items and is included with all our rates.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Joseph Blanchard
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Address: Haslett Avenue East, Crawley RH10 1UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Crawley
#15 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley Hotel is located just 15 minutes from Gatwick Airport & less than 10 minutes from J/10 of M23. We offer onsite parking for residents at a rate of £7 per day. Three Bridges & Crawley stations are walking distance & offer's easy links to Brighton, London & beyond. Crawley Town center with selective shops and restaurants is at pleasant walking distance. Buses go to Gatwick and Crawley including Manor Royal. Ideally situated for both leisure & business travelers the hotel has Free Wireless Internet access in all areas. All bedrooms offer TV with free view satellite channels, telephone, tea & coffee facilities, and hairdryer, dry cleaning & power showers. Complimentary continental buffet breakfast with selective hot items served for all guests. The Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley has a well equipped meeting room seating up to 25 people, rates starting from just £85. Local attractions include The Hawth Theatre. K2 Leisure Centre. Tilgate Forest Golf Course & County Mall Shopping Centre. You could also visit the nearby Hever Castle, the birthplace of Anne Boleyn. Biggin Hill. Chessington World of Adventure & Thorpe Park,Nearby Towns include Horsham, East Grinstead, Haywards Heath, Reigate & Redhill. Adjacent to the hotel is the Harvester restaurant, serving food from 12pm till 9.30pm, famous for their flame grilled steaks, spit roast chicken, and salad cart. This is a non smoking hotel but with designated area for smokers. Hotel has air-conditioned Bar with flat screen TV and satellite channels which also serve snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley Hotel Crawley
Holiday Inn Express Crawley
Holiday Inn Crawley
Crawley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing