We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm heart on a cold day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A warm heart on a cold day”
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We spent one night at the Holiday Inn Express and were very pleased with everything. We arrived Gatwick during the November cold spell and the warm reception helped us thaw immediately. Rooms are compact yet well organized and the bedding is top class.

Because we travel with a 'no taxi' policy we took the train from Gatwick to Crawley then walked to the hotel after asking directions. On the return to Gatwick we caught bus number 20 right across the street. Breakfast at the hotel was way above our expectations and dinner at the Harvester next door was amazing value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hereandthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    374
    187
    64
    40
See reviews for
245
314
51
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We stayed overnight after flying into Gatwick in the late evening. Checker Cab to the hotel cost GBP 16, which was understandable since it's a fair distance from the airport. However, the local cab on the way back to the airport next morning only cost GBP 11. I had already picked this up from reading other people's reviews on TripAdvisor so was not surprised.

The lady at reception was friendly and efficient. I had booked the room well in advance so got it a very reasonable rate. The room we had on the ground floor was cosy, comfortable, quiet and very clean. The weather was rather cold but the room heating worked very well. The bathroom was modern and the shower was very good.

The continental breakfast, which was included in the room rate, was ample and generous. The staff were quick to clean up tables after use and make them ready for the next guests.

All in all, even though we were there for only one night we had a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for affordable accommodation in the Gatwick area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imbisbuehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Stayed at this Hotel last month on my way to Havana for my birthday.The Hotel is more situated near Crawley than Gatwick and there is no shutttle bus from the hotel to the Airport a cab is about £8 to the Airport but from the Airport to the hotel £16 how does that work We ended up taking the local bus no 20 outside the hotel which was £1.70 Each.The Hotel Rooms are a decent size for a HIX and are clean tidy and comfortable enough parking is available on site which is good as most hotels in Gatwick put you in the local long stay car park.Next door to the hotel is a Harvester Restaurant Where the food was pretty good and good value overall.All in all i would stay here again if flying out from Gatwick as it was a good value alternative to other hotels in the area

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
himanagment, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 25 November 2010
Thank you very much for your kind words and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope the rest of the holiday met expectations and we welcome you back to our hotel anytime you're flying out from Gatwick.

Warm regards,

Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I stayed there for a night before flying off to sunny barbados very pleasent staff & They catered for my needs my only down side is the price of the food it is so expensive

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiannonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane-Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Stayed here for one night whilst touring. Hotel is clean, tidy, beds are comfortable, bathroom is modern, TV is good. There is no restaurant in the building but there is a Harvester pub in the carpark. I thought it may be noisy on a Saturday night but I didn't hear a thing. Breakfat was included in the price and there was enough choice for me. Despite what the Holiday Inn website says, there is no charge for parking so this is a very economical an comfortable hotel. No free wifi though

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanpiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Stayed here for one night before flying from Gatwick , Check in was quick , Rooms were immaculate and spotless , Lovely beds and my son said the sofa bed was really soft and the best he has slept on ! Lol ! Shower was wonderful felt really refreshed and awake after using it :)
Breakfast was very nice too , Plenty of choice to kickstart your day also juices and preserves etc !

Staff were really great , Really helped us for local information etc .

Would stay at this hotel again from sure if I was in the area or flying from Gatwick .

Staff keep up the good work :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
himanagment, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 25 November 2010
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We really appreciate the feedback and it is pleasing to hear you had such a positive experience with us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again next time you're flying from Gatwick.

Warm regards,

Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

As usual, HI Express is very comfortable hotel and great value for money. I've stayed only few hours there (late arrival and early departure), but that was good choice. From Gatwick the easiest way is to take Metrobus #20 - after leaving arrivals, follow sign to US Airways lounge, leave the building, bus stop is on the opposite side of the road, use tunnel). Bus stop is just near the hotel. The same in the morning (even early morning). Check-in staff was very friendly and with nice smile on their faces. Room clean, comfortable, bathroom great and I really liked bathroom cosmetics. Wake-up call as requested. Breakfast was included, but I couldn't use it because of the very early check-out (I didn't want to use it, but I'm sure it was all right). Coffe/tea maker in the room. I'm sure, next time I will be more than happy to book this hotel and stay there even for few hours.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marqoos_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
himanagment, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley, responded to this review, 25 November 2010
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and I am pleased you had a good experience with us. I am glad to hear you found the Metrobus service to be relatively easy to use and we will be pleased to welcome you back to the hotel next time you're flying from Gatwick.

Warm regards,

Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
3.0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Address: Haslett Avenue East, Crawley RH10 1UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Crawley
#15 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley Hotel is located just 15 minutes from Gatwick Airport & less than 10 minutes from J/10 of M23. We offer onsite parking for residents at a rate of £7 per day. Three Bridges & Crawley stations are walking distance & offer's easy links to Brighton, London & beyond. Crawley Town center with selective shops and restaurants is at pleasant walking distance. Buses go to Gatwick and Crawley including Manor Royal. Ideally situated for both leisure & business travelers the hotel has Free Wireless Internet access in all areas. All bedrooms offer TV with free view satellite channels, telephone, tea & coffee facilities, and hairdryer, dry cleaning & power showers. Complimentary continental buffet breakfast with selective hot items served for all guests. The Holiday Inn Express Gatwick Crawley has a well equipped meeting room seating up to 25 people, rates starting from just £85. Local attractions include The Hawth Theatre. K2 Leisure Centre. Tilgate Forest Golf Course & County Mall Shopping Centre. You could also visit the nearby Hever Castle, the birthplace of Anne Boleyn. Biggin Hill. Chessington World of Adventure & Thorpe Park,Nearby Towns include Horsham, East Grinstead, Haywards Heath, Reigate & Redhill. Adjacent to the hotel is the Harvester restaurant, serving food from 12pm till 9.30pm, famous for their flame grilled steaks, spit roast chicken, and salad cart. This is a non smoking hotel but with designated area for smokers. Hotel has air-conditioned Bar with flat screen TV and satellite channels which also serve snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gatwick-Crawley Hotel Crawley
Holiday Inn Express Crawley
Holiday Inn Crawley
Crawley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing