We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grubbsville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Grubbsville”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

This is an airport hotel that was once something better. It's huge, it's worn, its grubby but its relatively cheap. I attend every year for my industry's annual conference, this year there was a p@nis and b0llocks greased onto the bathroom mirror by a previous occupant which kind of sums up the atmosphere of the place quite nicely. I asked staff at reception to have it cleaned off but it wasn't done. There is one munter on reception who will deliberately and consistently ignore you but the rest of the staff throughout the hotel are fantastic; always polite, accommodating and friendly. The quality of the food is poor ie sawdust sausages, reconstituted potatoes, cold tasteless frozen veg etc. Breakfast sometimes gets overwhelmed by the volume of guests so if you want to eat, make sure you're in the dining room nice and early. Plenty free parking and regular shuttle buses to the airport. Everything's cheap at this hotel so don't come with high expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portopunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you for your review. We were very sorry to read about the problems you had whilst with us. We would be very interested to know who the member of staff was at Reception - if you know the name please e-mail via customer services on the Britannia website so we can investigate separately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    285
    470
    413
    1,373
See reviews for
607
1,063
143
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
garden of sun, altinkum
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

well well well,, what can i say,, we decided on a trip to london with national holidays staying at this hotel UNTIL i read the reviews, OMG, decided against it, decided on Blackpool instead, read reviews on that hotel, not quite as bad as the europa but still not good,, anyhow to cut a long story short i hadnt finished my payment off so NO BLACKPOOL, so, thought oh we,ll go to London, we,ll only be sleeping in the room, it cant be that bad AND am so glad we did,, yeah maybe it is a bit tired, but the room was huge with a settee and 2 easy chairs to sit in, hair dryer, complimentary tray (tea and coffee) trouser press, central heating which was easily adjustable to suit, instant HOT water, bath/jacuzzi/shower and the whitest sheets and towels, more storage than ive ever had for a fortnight, only a small tv but hey,,, so what,,, the food was quite good,, was hot, maybe it was gammon 2 nights on the trot BUT there still was other options,, breakfast ok, full english etc etc, now to the BAR prices,,, £3.45 a pint,,,,ohhhhhhhhh,, SHOCKING i heard one old geezer saying, your near London love,, get a grip, we pay £3,50 in our local when we do go out,, and the other week we had a drink in a frankie and bennys and that was £4.40, now that is expensive, so glad my payment to blackpool didnt go through, i really enjoyed my stay here, i felt so relaxed, so DONT always look at reviews and think negative, some people just like to moan, really winds me up,,

Room Tip: we were in room 3109, didnt hear much of anything,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genaOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
We were pleased you enjoyed your stay as part of a coach tour to London. Although there are negative reviews, we do receive many positive reviews and we thank youf or taking the time to post yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of a coach trip. Room was very tired and needed a complete refurb. coridors smelt of damp. The evening meal was part of our deal and was advertised as a choice of 2 carveries, but on halloween night they had gamon an only gammon. I asked if they had an alternative meat but they didnt. On the second night the carvery was again gammon, but also pork so nothing if you didnt eat anything from the pig family. The queue to get meat was huge, as it did not seem that it was anyones job to carve it, so it sat whole until a person came from the kitchen to carve it, then they went back into the kitchen until another huge queue had formed. This issue needs to be addressed. The other food was edible, but not that tasty. I was expecting the breakfast to be awful too, but that was so much better and quite tasty and seemed more organised. I would not stay here again, althought it was good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsdNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We were very concerned to read about the dining issues you highlighted. These will be addressed at our weekly management meeting in an effort to rectify the problems as they arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

cannot comment on car park or spa, did not use them.Bar overpriced, i was served by an illmannered girl of foreign origin, surely please/ thank you should be a basic requirement for staff? Food was fine with plenty of choice morning and night,dining-room staff rather bossy on where people sat,maids did not replace tea/coffee facilities or bathroom requisites on a daily basis which was always the norm in a Brittannia hotel.Reception ignored the fact that the smoke alarm in our room (3126)was covered by a polythene bag, I would not book here myself, i was on a coach trip

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We are sorry for the lack of customer service you encountered at the Bar. We will also be speaking to housekeeping/maintenance teams regarding the smoke alarm issue in your room. This should have been checked prior to your arrival and we are sorry this was obviously not the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Europa as part of a coach trip. The room was fine,clean and spacious. Clean towels and tea, coffee etc every day. The heating was a bit hit and miss but one evening when the radiator was cold a convector heater was provided within a few minutes of reporting this. The food was great although not much choice of starters or puddings on an evening. All in all excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Y0rkshirewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Last week we got married at the Gatwick Europa hotel and I cannot praise them enough. I was organising it long distance and could not have done it without the help, efficiency and friendly interest of the function staff. Everything was clearly explained, my wishes were acted upon and any queries were immediately answered. On the day they just took control quietly and EVERYTHING worked smoothly and perfectly. They were determined it would be a wonderful day, and it was!

(The above is related to the wedding, rather than the hotel. We did stay there and so did many of our guests. There were one or two room issues with the heating but on the whole most people were perfectly satisfied. Perhaps it is time for a bit of refurbishment soon, but it's clean with spacious rooms and the breakfast was very good.)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolmaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
We were delighted your wedding day ran smoothly and you were happy with all the arrangements. We would like to wish you both all the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I had the misfortune of having to stay here in room 2202 for two days whilst on a friends stag do in early November, and felt compelled to write a review of it as I had a number of issues.

On arrival at the hotel it all seemed ok - the lobby area all seemed acceptable. Its obviously not to the same standards at The Dorchester, but then I didn't expect it to be as it is only a three star hotel (or at least supposed to be three star).

Things however went seriously wrong once I arrived in my room. Firstly, there were a lot of mould spots in the bathroom (photos attached). I think that this was probably due to the fact that the extractor fan was not working.

The second problem was with the towls. Firstly, there was only one bath towl included when two people were sharing the room (the room had two single beds). I wasn't overly concerned with this as it isn't normally a problem to get another towl in a hotel. However, when I actually looked more closely at the towl we did have it appeared to have some brown coloured staining on it (photo attached). I'm not too sure what caused this but I can guess what conclusions could be drawn.

Things then however got even worse when it came to the pillows. There was one on my bed but I thought I needed a second one to get comfortable, so I reached to the storage area in the room to grab one. To my amazement there was a blood stain on the pillow! (Again, photo attached). At this point I became extremly concerned, so decided to wonder down to reception to have words with the night staff whilst carrying the offending items with me.

The two staff on reception were both foreign and didn't seem to understand the gravity of the situation (unless of course they considered blood stains to be normal). All I could get out of them was a quick sorry and a new pillow and towls before being sent on my way back to my room.

There were other problems with the room as well, from rusty and mouldy fixtures and fittings in the bathroom (pictures attached), and also dirty walls (pictures also attached).

Problems were not confined to my room either, a friend had water leaking down the inside of his wall which I assume was from either a leak in the roof of the hotel or perhaps a leak from pipework in the loft area. Unfortunately I cannot remember his room number. From seeing other friends rooms on the second floor I would say that all of the ones I went into were in need of redecoration.

There was however one positive the hotel had. For breakfast we were quickly seated and there was plenty of food out. I found that the cooked breakfast items were enjoyable enough.

Maureen Wood, if you are still reading reviews on here I trust that you will look into these issues and resolve them, as if I had booked the hotel myself I would have asked for a refund and left as I was that disappointed with my stay. There is more I could say and if you leave your email address I could perhaps contact you to point these out.

In summary, as things stand now I would in no way recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CornishTraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you for your detailed feedback following your recent stay at the Europa. We do take all complaints very seriously. If you want to send us an e-mail, please direct through customer services on the Britannia website. Room 2202 will be ear marked as a priority for our rolling maintenance programme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
4.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Property: Europa Gatwick Hotel
Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing