We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I have stayed at many hotels and hostels, and the Europa Gatwick has been by far the worst. I just wanted a place to sleep for a few hours in between transatlantic flights, and at 25 pounds I thought it was a great deal. A few days before our arrival, my friend and I realized that our booking specified that we had a smoking room, and we tried calling the hotel to change it as we are both non-smokers. Not only did they not help us, they were extremely rude and hung up.

Check-in was quick and easy and we were able to get a non-smoking room. However, the instant we walked into our room we felt as though we were in a sauna... it must have been at least 35 degrees in there! The room wasn't particularly clean, however we were so exhausted at this point and only had six hours before we had to check out for our early flight the next morning so we put the heating system down to 0 degrees and tried to make the best of it. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and the heat situation didn't change (we didn't feel comfortable keeping the window open as we were only on the second floor). By the time we had to get up for our flight we realized that we hadn't been able to sleep at all despite being completely exhausted. We asked the guy at reception if he could compensate us for our horrible experience, and he said he wasn't allowed to. When we asked to speak to the manager, he told us that the manager refused to speak with us! How incredibly unprofessional. We left the hotel exhausted and angry... it would have been better to spend the 6 hours sleeping in the airport! The only positive from this entire ordeal was the wonderful shuttle bus driver, he was extremely pleasant and funny!

DON'T stay here, it is absolutely worth spending a bit more to stay at the Arora!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edincer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for your review. We were sorry to read you were disappointed with the customer service you received whilst at the hotel. We will be discussing this issue at our weekly management meeting in an effort to avoid any recurrence of this nature in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    291
    478
    423
    1,435
See reviews for
632
1,102
146
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

After you have found a parking space which is not an easy task and did take us a while
Hotel reception can be busy
Bar area very tired leather sofas almost bald
Bar staff friendly as were reception and restaurant staff
Rooms were very dated and in need of a thorough clean but for price it is value for money for a stop over hotel
Can be noisy in early hours due to guests flying at all hours but that is not hotel fault they are slamming doors and shouting at the kids just inconsiderate people

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelinaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read that overall, you were satisfied with the value you received from the hotel. The car park is very busy due to high demand for holiday parking but we regularly monitor the situation to ensure there are always spaces available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I used this hotel for a stop over night before an early morning flight from Gatwick airport.. in I paid under £70 for a double room and 15 days parking... fantastic value... our room was clean and tidy.. tea and coffee tray plentyful.. beds were very large and comfortable.. quick and easy check in... will definitely use again this hotel again when flying from Gatwick... Gatwick one junction back up the motorway.. very easy to find.

Room Tip: Room over looking the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cerikr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to read you were very happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion. We hope you will stay with us again next time you travel via Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

At the time of writing this, this is the worst place that I have ever stayed.

Firstly this hotel has insufficient guest parking - mainly because they allow long term parking for holiday makers... nice one guys, it was good seeing the car park full of stressed out holiday makers unable to park, and businessmen who where blocked in and subsequently missed meetings and flights... Horrendous.

I don't need to go on about how disappointing the rooms are - check out the other guests photos. EVERY room is that bad. I decided to have a relaxing 'Jacuzzi' bath in my room - and I was promptly covered in brown 'sludge' from inside the jets...

The staff where, in general, unable to understand my requests. Some of the staff are lovely, but some just seem uninterested in their job.

I took particular offence to the guy running the gym, his slightly aggressive tone and complete lack of assistance was highly annoying - the level of service i would have expected in a run down gym in some back water industrial town in Poland. Not what I expect next to a major transport hub in the UK.

This omnishambolic hell hole masquerading as a hotel is just a resettlement centre for many areas on the periphery of the EU. I have nothing against migrant labour - good on them. My problem here is that this hotel is not upto the standard you expect in the UK. It is a filthy and decrepit throwback from twenty years ago, that is tired, badly ran and in need of demolition.

In general this place is horrendous - i have no belief that the owners will read any of these reviews and change anything, so simply don't go there. You wont be able to park, and if you can, you'll be highly disappointed once inside.

Room Tip: Take a tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNedbertFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We are sorry you were obviously unhappy with all aspects of your stay. We have taken your comments on board and your review will be discussing them in our management meeting this week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Wy wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night as a stopover for Gatwick Airport the next day. We would not recommend it. The temperature outside was 2C and the room was freezing. On complaining at reception that the room was so cold, we were told bluntly that the heating does not come on untill 5pm. We asked to see the manager who was very pleasant but confirmed that this was hotel policy and outside his control. The room was small, not particularly clean and the decoration was also discoloured and dirty looking. There was also a squashed fly very visible on the wall! We had a meal in ther bar in the evening, which was acceptable but could not be regarded as particularly good. People in the bar were mainly wearing jackets or coats because of the cold, even after the heating was supposed to have come on. On the plus side, the bus to the airport was on time and the driver helpful, although the drop of point is a little way from the Departures entrance. It also costs £5 per person to take the bus. Next time we need to stay at a Gatwick hotel we will choose another one!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We can only apologise for the lack of heating to your room. Your feedback will be discussed at our management meeting in an effort to iron out the problems as they arise. We understand you do not wish to return to the Europa but should you reconsider, we would welcome the opportunity to show you we can do better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caister-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The hotel is comfortable. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Bedroom was basic, furniture needed a bit of attention but all very very clean, bed really comfortable. Bathroom very clean but needs some updating which is being done already.
Food was hot and plentyful, especially a very tasty breakfast. Restaurant very efficiently run.
Would definitely stay here again when in the area or flying from Gatwick. Can't compare prices as hotel was included in total cost of London weekend coach trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for posting your informative review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us as part of a coach tour. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit the Europa again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

For both my husband and myself we found this hotel convenient for an overnight stay on our way to visit our daughter who lives in Balcombe just 5 miles away. The hotel is just off the motorway and easy to find with plenty of parking but it can be busy due to its close proximity to Gatwick airport with guest leaving their cars whilst they go on holiday. The rooms are basic, clean but a little on the small size. Did not eat evening meal but breakfast was more than adequate. It was ok but properly would not stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowena7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for completing a review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay on this occasion however, we are disappointed you will not be returning next time you travel via Gatwick. We hope you will reconsider your decision in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#15 of 28 in Crawley
544 reviews
4.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Property: Europa Gatwick Hotel
Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing