We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for holiday parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Used the hotel to park for holiday parking and found the parking a bit hectic and free for all but found a place after a few minutes. Bus service cost 5 pound to get to airport and free coming back. On return we were fed up to be back in Home but we were cheered p by John the bus driver . Even though the bus was busy he kept smiling even with a couple of rude people. I would use Europa again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

We were pleased to read you were happy with the service you received from the Europa, especially from the coach driver. Your comments will be relayed to the coach company accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,954 - 1,960 of 2,895 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

Room smelt stale/smokey. Bar area was the coldest I have ever stayed in. Some guest were sitting in outdoor clothes. The bar staff went off for a smoke break , so no one to serve drinks. Restaurant was also cold, as was the food. Only good point was the soup!! Went to the spa and was ignored by the staff. It felt dated and dirty, would have cost extra to use, get a towel and use the solarium. Further from the airport than we were led to believe. Apart from the girl on reception the rest of the staff were off hand and uninterested in customers

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

We do apologise for the lack of customer care and service you received on this occasion. We have taken all your comments on board and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Checked in to find room was damp, bathroom was dirty and sheets were soiled. I called through to reception and asked to be moved due to the inhabital state of the room, after a lot of moaning the receptionist said that she would arrange it. Was moved to another room which had the heating blarring out (some issues with damp maybe?). I was told that there was an ironing room that was free to use, on going in to iron a shirt i found the room to be filthy and smelly.The ironning board looked like it had been used to clean a wet muddy dog!!! After coming to the conclusion that the hotel was more like a farmyard i asked reception to refund me for the next two nights thati had booked as place was dirty. She said that she could not refund it as i had booked through Last minuite? I called last minuite and they said that the hotel cpuld and should refund me. Ended up putting the useless receptionist on the phone to last minuite where after nearly an hour the receptionist decided that i would get a refund. On leaving this morning i realised that i had heft something in the previouss room and aske dat tthe desk if i could get it, i was forwarded onto housekeeping where i was greeting by the rudest ubnoxious woman who made a fuss about doing anything. On returning the itwm to me at reception she loudly advised me that if i was to change rooms i should make sure i have everything!!!! If the room had been fot to sleep in i would not have needed to move!!!!!! If you are thinking of staying here please think about alternatives. A field? A ditch? The side of the M25?

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamgivenwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry for the problems you encountered whilst with us. Your complaints should have been handled more efficiently and courteously at the time and we are sorry this was not the case. The issues you highlighted will be discussed at our management meeting later today and action taken accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

stayed here at the the end of January before flying out to Egypt. arrived about 8.00 pm found parking spot quickly and checked in. booked it though aph so no bill to pay. was asked if wanted smoking or non smoking room!!! as partner sokes took smoking room just 2 mins away on ground floor. bit tired but had what was needed for nights stay clean hot water bed and free view tv. we only paid £45 for stay and 8 days parking so bargain not the ritz but get what you pay for

Room Tip: do smoking rooms so no nipping out to the cold for quick cig
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyboy2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We were pleased to read you thought the Europa was very good value for money and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Late minute booking as weather forecast for Gatwick area was snow, so we decided to travel down day before. Cost of the room was £29 without breakfast. Room was clean but everything was a bit worn and tired looking; including the beds. This hotel does not have a lift and there was no one to help with our suitcases. We aren't young and this could have caused us a problem but a kind fellow guest carried mine upstairs for me.
We ate at the hotel that evening and the food was good. It is a set price: £21 for the two of us. This is a self service buffet/help yourself style consisting of a choice of salads and/or soup, roast pork, turkey, chicken portions, a fish dish, vegetarian shepherds pie, potatoes and a bowl of mixed vegetables. There was a choice of 3 gateaux for pudding.
We were happy at these prices but wouldn't pay anymore for this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19happy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We have taken your comments on board and thank you for your valuable feedback. The hotel does have a lift and we do try to assist with luggage if there is a porter available. We were sorry if you were not aware at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Very cheap hotel, only cost us £100 for 2 night stay and 14 days parking but you get what you pay for. Really needs a good clean and a re-furb. Furniture and decor is very dated. When we arrived back from our holiday just after midnight ready to check in found out they did not have our booking. Luckily we had a copy of our booking online. All double rooms were booked so they up graded us to the executive room, would of been a lovely room if it wasn't so dated. There were even nut shells on the carpet, not ours!! bed was very comfortable.
We booked the buffet breakfast which was lovely.
Bus driver was very good, helped us on and off the bus with our cases.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkTalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We were delighted you seemed satisfied with the services you received on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I have stayed at many hotels and hostels, and the Europa Gatwick has been by far the worst. I just wanted a place to sleep for a few hours in between transatlantic flights, and at 25 pounds I thought it was a great deal. A few days before our arrival, my friend and I realized that our booking specified that we had a smoking room, and we tried calling the hotel to change it as we are both non-smokers. Not only did they not help us, they were extremely rude and hung up.

Check-in was quick and easy and we were able to get a non-smoking room. However, the instant we walked into our room we felt as though we were in a sauna... it must have been at least 35 degrees in there! The room wasn't particularly clean, however we were so exhausted at this point and only had six hours before we had to check out for our early flight the next morning so we put the heating system down to 0 degrees and tried to make the best of it. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and the heat situation didn't change (we didn't feel comfortable keeping the window open as we were only on the second floor). By the time we had to get up for our flight we realized that we hadn't been able to sleep at all despite being completely exhausted. We asked the guy at reception if he could compensate us for our horrible experience, and he said he wasn't allowed to. When we asked to speak to the manager, he told us that the manager refused to speak with us! How incredibly unprofessional. We left the hotel exhausted and angry... it would have been better to spend the 6 hours sleeping in the airport! The only positive from this entire ordeal was the wonderful shuttle bus driver, he was extremely pleasant and funny!

DON'T stay here, it is absolutely worth spending a bit more to stay at the Arora!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edincer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We were sorry to read you were disappointed with the customer service you received whilst at the hotel. We will be discussing this issue at our weekly management meeting in an effort to avoid any recurrence of this nature in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#14 of 28 in Crawley
617 reviews
3.5 mi away
Da Vinci Manor Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
183 reviews
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.8 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range: £35 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing