We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is a second review for the Europa Gatwick. I wrote a review a while back but after staying again I though an update could be useful.
We parked our car for the duration of our holiday at the Europa and returned to an overnight stay as our return flight was at a late hour. An excellent price for the package arranged by our travel agent.

First a correction to my review of the 24th April. I wrote that the transfers were every 15 minutes, I meant the transfer took 15 minutes. A brain, finger, key board problem.

We were checked in by a very helpful and courteous member of staff. I asked if we could be put into a non smoking, ground floor room not to far from the bar/reception. After some deliberation he came up with a room close to the reception area.
Now for the reason for my update.

This room was for a disabled person or physically challenged person, whatever the correct expression is.

It was very roomy and laid out with ease of access to the bed etc.
The bathroom and toilet were also spacious with all the bars, rails, taps, door handles, emergency cords, all the things one should expect. I felt that people who would need these facilities need to know the Europa Gatwick caters for them.

The hotel remains the same, ie. The most economical way to park your car for 14 days with an over night stay, but do not expect a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wits_End_Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for posting another review on Tripadvisor for the Europa. We are pleased you were happy with your accommodation and service received whilst at the hotel. We hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,889 - 1,895 of 2,936 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here the night before our flight to Turkey and parked the car here.
Sadly, the car parking was about the best thing.
The hotel is dated and our room was dreadful.
It smelt bad, the bathroom was due a refurb several years ago. The wall paper was coming off the wall and there was a worrying brown mark on the wall.
The staff were 'functional' but that was about it.
Not great and personally I will go for a holiday inn or travel lodge next time - this hotel needs a refit and updating and it is desperate for it.

Room Tip: Don't have 1166 - it was rubbish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry the Europa did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Me and my husband and 2 friends just had 3 nights bed breakfast and dinner at this hotel. We all found the bedrooms spacious and clean. The bedding was beautifully white and towels white and fluffy. Lovely hot water. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and cooked food was lovely and hot. Evening meal was the same, a decent choice each of the nights with the most succulent and tender Roast Pork we've had in a long time. At breakfast and dinner there is nothing stopping you going back as many times as you wish. Brilliant as we went with National Holidays and had only paid £99 each for the whole holiday. Yes the hotel is a bit tired in places but it affect our enjoyment. Very friendly Staff in Restaurant and over all Great Value for money, well it goes without saying doesn't it??? Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1102 and have no complaints at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel, for a one night stay this is fine. The leisure facilities (pool, spa, steam room, sauna, gym etc) were good and the rooms were clean and tidy. The bar closes a little early and breakfast is not great at £12.
You get what you pay for - we paid £29 and it was well worth it. I wouldn't want to pay anymore. Good location for Gatwick and Lingfield races.I

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HillKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We hope you will return to the Europa very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Absolutely horrified that hotels like this are still operating in this country - stained carpets, stained walls, filthy bath - absolutely awful. Peeling leather furniture in bar - more stained carpets - dirty windows in room- depressing decor . ONLY good point was the pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

We were sorry to read you were disappointed with your stay on this occasion. We have a rolling programme for decorating/repair work and we shall ear mark the issues you highlighted as a priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I booked a family room at £72 without breakfast for 2 adults and 2 kids (7&4), somewhat pricier than the advertised rates for a late night stopover on my return from France from the ferry at Portsmouth. On arrival there were big signs up not to stop outside of the front door, so we drove around the car park for a bit, but beside the only available space in an unlit area some distance from the door, people were smoking weed and it felt unsafe. Drove back to the front door only to be informed that our ore-booked room had been given to someone else (in spite of our deposit) and we were issued with 2 pages of photocopied google map instructions (from a pile on the reception desk, suggesting to us that perhaps the Europa is perhaps a regular feeder hotel) to the even less salubrious "russ hill hotel" some miles away. It took 30 minutes to find the other hotel by which time my kids were quite tearful and I was pretty distraught having been on the road for 16 hours. The receptionist at the russ hill hotel made it clear that although theirs was also a Britannia hotel they were not responsible for this situation so they would not be offering any apologies. Furthermore they refused to give us the keys to our rather shabby room until we shelled out the balance for our stay. The following morning I explained to the next receptionist the horrible experience we had had. He raised his eyebrow at my suggestion that I be offered a ffree or discounted breakfast and refused immediately. Without doubt my worst hotel experience in the uk. Ever.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

We were sorry to read you had a very bad hotel experience on this occasion. Your comments will be discussed at our management meeting this week and we appreciate your feedback. We hope that your confidence in Britannia hotels will be restored some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night either side of our holiday plus parking. We struggled to park, it was absolutely packed which considering we were paying for a weeks parking we found quite shocking. The hotel itself is old, you can tell it was probably grand in it's time but it's certainly seen better days. The rooms were fine for what we needed, with clean bedding and towels and a comfortable bed. We did find a few hairs in our bath and asked for this to be removed when we went out, was promised it would be but this didn't happen. The buffet style breakfast was faultless. For what we paid it was fine (worth it for parking alone as ling as you get space. I'd say if you can get a deal and it's cheaper than a premier inn then I'd stay again, but if it was the same price I'd go premier.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Mummy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. Your comments have been duly noted and we thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.5 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#13 of 28 in Crawley
635 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range: £35 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing