We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly horrible, avoid.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed just one night (fortunately) at Crawley Europa last week. Easy to find and a grand sign off the main road, but then it took 15 minutes to find an adequate place to leave the car overnight, with their car park horrifically overbooked and vehicles dumped all over the place, with many blocking others in. Squeezed into a carless patch in an overflow make-do extension car park eventually with a 20 point turn required.

The hotel is ancient, with nasty corridors featuring zero natural light and constant dark wood panelling, and totally illogical room numbering, the reek of stale smoke coupled with the dingyness made just the short walk to our room from reception an unpleasant experience.

We had a comfy bed with nice clean sheets, and the shower pressure was good, but the cleanliness of the room left a lot to be desired, and the decor hasn't had an update for many a decade. Thin walls and light switches that didn't seem to do anything also feature.

The ambience of the room would be similar to that expected in a run down ex soviet bloc city somewhere, the reek of stale smoke everywhere really is nasty.

Rubbing salt in the wound is the fact that this is not an especially cheap hotel, we paid around £50 for the room, but then "self parking" is £6.25, and an abysmal breakfast which included bacon that a dog would reject is priced at £9.99 each! A disgustingly greedy management.

The hotel gives the general impression of a place with apathetic staff and an apathetic attitude towards the upkeep and standard of the building. They really do not deserve people's business with this shocking attitude. We could tell that they've spent absolutely nothing on updating or refurbishing this place for far too long, and we'd absolutely hate to stay there again.

A friendly family run B&B where they actually make an effort will be our first choice next time.

Room Tip: No good rooms here, all smell like an ashtray and look like a wood panelled 80s Polish ski resort lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barnabybleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for your comments. We were sorry to read you were disappointed with your stay and will not be returning. We hope you will have a pleasant experience at another Britannia Hotel in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,865 - 1,871 of 2,916 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

enjoyed a night at the above, comfy clean rooms , great bar friendly staff good food

PARKING PROBLEM

Car parking is a problem there is no designated areas for over night stays or for those who are parked for 8/10 days
You cannot afford to move your car out of the grounds ON THE SAME EVENING as you would not be able to park on your return
Just park and leave

Room Tip: no comments no matter where your room is located you will have one or two residents leaving early to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WELSHMAN1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

If your after a bed, ok! Otherwise don't bother! Can't park because they seem to only be able to sell rooms based on allowing you to leave your car. They even have the audacity to charge you if you use your debit card, ok 50p, but it still takes the piss.really, find somewhere else, I won't bother again! Saving grace is I got the room for 50.00 pounds on booking.com! But worth around 20-25.

Room Tip: Walls and ceiling are paper thin.... I can hear all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMLinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for posting your review. We were sorry you were unhappy with your hotel experience on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is a second review for the Europa Gatwick. I wrote a review a while back but after staying again I though an update could be useful.
We parked our car for the duration of our holiday at the Europa and returned to an overnight stay as our return flight was at a late hour. An excellent price for the package arranged by our travel agent.

First a correction to my review of the 24th April. I wrote that the transfers were every 15 minutes, I meant the transfer took 15 minutes. A brain, finger, key board problem.

We were checked in by a very helpful and courteous member of staff. I asked if we could be put into a non smoking, ground floor room not to far from the bar/reception. After some deliberation he came up with a room close to the reception area.
Now for the reason for my update.

This room was for a disabled person or physically challenged person, whatever the correct expression is.

It was very roomy and laid out with ease of access to the bed etc.
The bathroom and toilet were also spacious with all the bars, rails, taps, door handles, emergency cords, all the things one should expect. I felt that people who would need these facilities need to know the Europa Gatwick caters for them.

The hotel remains the same, ie. The most economical way to park your car for 14 days with an over night stay, but do not expect a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wits_End_Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for posting another review on Tripadvisor for the Europa. We are pleased you were happy with your accommodation and service received whilst at the hotel. We hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here the night before our flight to Turkey and parked the car here.
Sadly, the car parking was about the best thing.
The hotel is dated and our room was dreadful.
It smelt bad, the bathroom was due a refurb several years ago. The wall paper was coming off the wall and there was a worrying brown mark on the wall.
The staff were 'functional' but that was about it.
Not great and personally I will go for a holiday inn or travel lodge next time - this hotel needs a refit and updating and it is desperate for it.

Room Tip: Don't have 1166 - it was rubbish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry the Europa did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Me and my husband and 2 friends just had 3 nights bed breakfast and dinner at this hotel. We all found the bedrooms spacious and clean. The bedding was beautifully white and towels white and fluffy. Lovely hot water. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and cooked food was lovely and hot. Evening meal was the same, a decent choice each of the nights with the most succulent and tender Roast Pork we've had in a long time. At breakfast and dinner there is nothing stopping you going back as many times as you wish. Brilliant as we went with National Holidays and had only paid £99 each for the whole holiday. Yes the hotel is a bit tired in places but it affect our enjoyment. Very friendly Staff in Restaurant and over all Great Value for money, well it goes without saying doesn't it??? Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1102 and have no complaints at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel, for a one night stay this is fine. The leisure facilities (pool, spa, steam room, sauna, gym etc) were good and the rooms were clean and tidy. The bar closes a little early and breakfast is not great at £12.
You get what you pay for - we paid £29 and it was well worth it. I wouldn't want to pay anymore. Good location for Gatwick and Lingfield races.I

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HillKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We hope you will return to the Europa very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#14 of 28 in Crawley
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramada Crawley Gatwick
Ramada Crawley Gatwick
#26 of 28 in Crawley
508 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range: £35 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing