We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hell will be nothing compared to this” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Europa Gatwick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hell will be nothing compared to this”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We arrived on a coach with national holidays when we got outside it was shockingly horrible.

we got our key and the corridors to the room where dirty and ripped this was shockingly horrible.

we get to our room open the door and it was very dirty could use a really good clean it was shockingly horrible.

we had breakfast the next morning where we heard a staff member shouting at a child of about 5 because she was running around the dinning room acting like children do staff attitude shockingly horrible.

the breakfast itself was actually very good and enjoyable but that was the only positive thing about this place.

over all it was shockingly horrible

Room Tip: Just don't go here safe your money and go somewhere nice may I suggest the north pole instead o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    278
    457
    403
    1,329
See reviews for
585
1,037
140
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were staying over so we didn't have to get up so early in the morning, well that was a joke! we managed to sleep till about 12.30 to be woken up by a bunch of foreign students blundering through the corridor slamming doors chatting & singing with no consideration for other people trying to sleep, this was happening every 15 to 20 min they were going out to smoke which some were right outside our window . What I'm more astonished at, is that who ever was on night shift did not come out of the office which was only a few yards away & ask for them to be quiet at any time. It finally stopped at 2.45 which we had to be up at 3.30. NOT HAPPY AT ALL! Some of the family were staying in rooms upstairs on the other side of the hotel & their room's were boiling, the Windows only opened a small amount.

Room Tip: Down stays room when weather is hot.unless you have foreign students that want to smoke every 15 min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. We were sorry you were disturbed by other guests whilst here. Unfortunately the desk cannot be left unattended at any time. However, if we had been alerted to the disturbance we would have sent somebody to resolve the problem for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed here for 1 night before flying from gatwick. Rooms basic but clean. Bit tired and battered in places. Wouldn't recommend the restaurant food was poor. Airport transfers straight forward and efficient. It's very reasonable compared to other airport hotels with parking . Overall basic but value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymraesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for your recent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Only stayed one night after a wedding close by and luckily booked in advance so it only cost £40 but even that was too much!

Hotel is not at all what I was expecting from the pictures on their website, looks like a lovely mediterranean style hotel, it is infact dated, dark and dirty. A lot of very dark wood interrior given an oppresive feel.

Room was average in appearance til you looked closer and found cigerette burn holes in the net curtains, pubic hairs in the bath and the bed. No biscuits with the very limited 2 tea bags and 2 coffee sachets. No drinking water on a very hot day so went to the petrol station to get some bottled water then found the glasses in the bathroom had white stuff in (whatever that was). We wanted to watch a programme on channel 4 that night only to find the TV in the room did not have channel 4 (its not like we were asking for Sky Movies!).

We paid in advance for the cooked breakfast buffet which we were quite looking forward to as the room certainly wasn't great. However this was the worst breakfast I have ever had. The cereal tasted nothing like rice krispies or corn flakes I've ever had, they were hard, flavourless and seemed bulked up with maize or something.The milk for the cereal was warm as it had been left on the side for god knows how long. The tea was ready brewed in a cannister and was very weak so if you added a drop of milk it was white and tasted like dishwater.

At this point the hot breakfast was now the only thing to look forward to. I saw a lot of people in the hotel were have plates of chips and ketchup for breakfast. Certainly not what I would eat for breakfast but it did make me wonder why they wouldn't have the other items. Well because they were awful. The poached eggs were cold, rubbery and greasy and just as I was trying to make do with the food I found a short white hair in the tomatos. Absolutely disgusting.

Needless to say I won't be returning and you would be better off bringing your own breakfast with you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lewandlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to read your hotel experience was negative on this occasion. We have taken your comments on board and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed just one night (fortunately) at Crawley Europa last week. Easy to find and a grand sign off the main road, but then it took 15 minutes to find an adequate place to leave the car overnight, with their car park horrifically overbooked and vehicles dumped all over the place, with many blocking others in. Squeezed into a carless patch in an overflow make-do extension car park eventually with a 20 point turn required.

The hotel is ancient, with nasty corridors featuring zero natural light and constant dark wood panelling, and totally illogical room numbering, the reek of stale smoke coupled with the dingyness made just the short walk to our room from reception an unpleasant experience.

We had a comfy bed with nice clean sheets, and the shower pressure was good, but the cleanliness of the room left a lot to be desired, and the decor hasn't had an update for many a decade. Thin walls and light switches that didn't seem to do anything also feature.

The ambience of the room would be similar to that expected in a run down ex soviet bloc city somewhere, the reek of stale smoke everywhere really is nasty.

Rubbing salt in the wound is the fact that this is not an especially cheap hotel, we paid around £50 for the room, but then "self parking" is £6.25, and an abysmal breakfast which included bacon that a dog would reject is priced at £9.99 each! A disgustingly greedy management.

The hotel gives the general impression of a place with apathetic staff and an apathetic attitude towards the upkeep and standard of the building. They really do not deserve people's business with this shocking attitude. We could tell that they've spent absolutely nothing on updating or refurbishing this place for far too long, and we'd absolutely hate to stay there again.

A friendly family run B&B where they actually make an effort will be our first choice next time.

Room Tip: No good rooms here, all smell like an ashtray and look like a wood panelled 80s Polish ski resort lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnabybleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We were sorry to read you were disappointed with your stay and will not be returning. We hope you will have a pleasant experience at another Britannia Hotel in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

enjoyed a night at the above, comfy clean rooms , great bar friendly staff good food

PARKING PROBLEM

Car parking is a problem there is no designated areas for over night stays or for those who are parked for 8/10 days
You cannot afford to move your car out of the grounds ON THE SAME EVENING as you would not be able to park on your return
Just park and leave

Room Tip: no comments no matter where your room is located you will have one or two residents leaving early to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WELSHMAN1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

If your after a bed, ok! Otherwise don't bother! Can't park because they seem to only be able to sell rooms based on allowing you to leave your car. They even have the audacity to charge you if you use your debit card, ok 50p, but it still takes the piss.really, find somewhere else, I won't bother again! Saving grace is I got the room for 50.00 pounds on booking.com! But worth around 20-25.

Room Tip: Walls and ceiling are paper thin.... I can hear all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMLinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We were sorry you were unhappy with your hotel experience on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.7 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.7 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
4.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
2.8 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Property: Europa Gatwick Hotel
Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing