We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I read a lot of negative reviews and was apprehensive about staying. However we were given three good size family rooms, yes, decor tired but room was clean, lots of hot water & clean white towels. The staff were helpful ensuring that we could have a table for 6.
The evening meal was a buffet and it was nice to see the children eating a meal rather than chicken nuggets or fish fingers which is served at some hotels. Plenty choice for all at breakfast
If I was looking for a hotel in that area again I would certainly book with confidence.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philomena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We were pleased to read you were happy with the Europa on this occasion and hope to see you back here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    284
    465
    408
    1,344
See reviews for
596
1,044
143
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here as an overnight before and after our family holiday, which made a long travel easier to manage, lovely clean and pleasant staff, food was very nice, we stayed in a family room which was very adequate for what we needed, would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

not somewhere I would want to stay more than a weekend at. We did one night for a very good price. Meals could be booked at check in for a reasonable price and although at first glance there did not seem much choice it was a very good selection and tasted very good. Wine ordered with the meal was cheaper than buying it at the bar. The swimming pool was extra as it was a franchised fitness centre. Unfortunately having arrived about an hour before the pool closed we paid our £4 each but could not carry this over to the next morning to have a dip before we left.
We had a double room which was quite small but clean although it could have done with a makeover on the paint work and some minor repairs. Net curtain hung way below the main curtain which just made it look scruffy. We would stay again but would not pay more than we did which was £50 special offer.

Room Tip: swimming pool costs not included in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dittyannie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

After a long journey and busy day in London all we wanted to do was to get to our accommodation for a rest, clean up and eat washed down with a nice drink. After finally checked in followed by a wallow of corridors we finally found our room. It was ok had 3 beds in storage space with tea and coffee facilities, bathroom ok , it was clean. Went down to restaurant and found it busy with a mediocre carvery remnants of a small turkey joint and some gammon ham, asked politely for some more but refused to refresh, there were hardly any fresh vegetables, there wasn't enough soup had to wait again together with bread rolls, had to wait for some desserts to be brought out too. Husband kept waiting at the bar when ordering a drink. Breakfast was not much better either with many shortages of food to choose from. NO teaspoons, orange juice and water had run out of too, attitude of staff could of been better, everything was a mad scamble for including not very clean plates and cutlery to be had. This was disappointing and certainly would not recommend anyone stays here, but for what we needed it for (one night) just about adequate.

Room Tip: ok for one night but for longer stays don't bother, would not recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry the shortfall in our food and beverage areas. The issues you highlighted will be discussed at our next management in an effort to rectify the problems as they arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at this hotel on a dinner bed and breakfast room in a higher grade room. All in all it wasnt bad, at the price, but it all felt like it could do with a good clean! It was just a bit sad. The rooms were of a good size, but didnt look like they had had any kind of upgrade in about fifteen years.
The pool is lovely.
Dinner was ok, not a huge amount of choice.
But after all is said, what can you expect for for sixty five quid?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essexlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your recent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Will be returning to europa in october for the 3rd time in just over a year, for a one night stay, parking while away and transfers to gatwick. I do feel for the money paid the hotel is good, Yes it could do with a makeover, but at these prices im more than happy. The evening meal is decent, the transfers are reliable and i have always found the staff polite and helpful. If i wanted 4 star accommodation i would pay the price a go more upmarket, but for a one night stay, parking and transfers not to mention price, the europa is great for me.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markham66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We were pleased the Europa met your requirements once again and look forward to seeing you again next time you travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Website / Photographs - the photographs of the hotel make this hotel look pleasant and appealing - don't be fooled, it is dirty, unkempt, dark, dingy, torn seats, dirty carpets and I have bites that coincidentally arrived each night I stayed here.

Parking - it was not possible to park near the hotel, so we had to park in an overflow car park, with ditches and hollows and very poor lighting. Luckily it was dry and the ditches and hollows would be best driven with a 4x4.

Hygiene / Cleanliness - the carpets en route to the room were stained. The carpets in the room were stained. Finger plates on the doors were always smeared with finger prints. The doors were made of such dark wood, that it made you not want to touch the doors as you couldn't see whether it was clean or not.

Bedroom - we had a family room with a bunk bed. No thought was given to providing enough towels or pillows. People smoked outside our room all hours of the day, which meant the obnoxious smell infected our room in the early hours of the morning, meaning an even greater disturbed night's sleep. The ceiling had clearly recently undergone flood damage and no one had thought to repair it. The shower was scolding hot, no matter what temperature setting you had it on. The bath did not appear clean, with mold and mildew covering the white mastic.

Location - ideal for the airport, but due to the lack of air conditioning, if you opened the window you listened to the M23 which was a stones throw away. ... Extremely loud and made for a disturbed night's sleep.

Leisure facilities - be warned, these are NOT included in the price. If you choose to swim in the ice cold pool, be prepared to part with £4 for an adult and £2 for a child. Be prepared for being charged a debit or credit card charge if you cannot pay in cash. Changing rooms are very basic, staff are very rude / perfunctory. You are advised to take your own towels, but be mindful the hotel have probably skimped on providing you sufficient towels anyway, so you may want to consider hiring a towel for £1 ... more money.

This hotel is most definitely on the list of 'never to return to'

Room Tip: Choose another hotel - you can find better for cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azizza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
We were sorry you had a negative experience on this occasion. Should you reconsider staying at the Europa in future, we would welcome the opportunity to restore your confidence in Britannia Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
4.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.4 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Property: Europa Gatwick Hotel
Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing