We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incompetent staff & rip off hotel taxi service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We booked a room in the Europa Gatwick hotel a week prior to a friends wedding day.

So we arrived at 1230 in the afternoon to book into our room. We couldn't check into our room before 2 pm but were assured that our room was booked and that we could come back after our friends wedding after midnight.

We booked a taxi from the hotel to the wedding venue and were charged £40 for a 15-20 minute journey!!! Our return taxi fare with a different taxi firm cost us £28 so we soon realised that we were well and truly ripped off. We returned back to the hotel around 130am after a fabulous wedding day and evening only to be told that they had no room available for us! We were fuming, there were also other people trying to check into a room, also to be told that they had no room availability. The hotel arranged for us to get a free taxi to another chain of their hotel, somewhere in Russ Hill. But previously the hotel receptionist had asked us to get the free bus in the morning!! I don't think so!!

So the transfer from the Europa Gatwick to Russ Hill was rather interesting as the taxi driver seemed to have a split personality; at one point he turned the car around to take us back. I felt very vulnerable as it was dark and we didn't know where we were. Eventually we arrived to Russ Hill to a very basic room, however it was clean. All we wanted to do was sleep after the long day.

We arrived for our free breakfast just before ten and were told that breakfast had finished! I just wanted to get out if there!

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone as the staff are rude and incompetent

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We will be writing to you directly regarding your dissatisfaction with Britannia Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,795 - 1,801 of 2,877 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Whole Hotel needs a complete refurbishment. Rooms tatty and under maintained. Corridors dark, gloomy and smelly. Cleaning leaves a lot to be desired. Staff looked fed up and were constantly being moaned at on reception especially about additional charges for credit and even debit cards when settling your bill which is a rip off. Bar prices very expensive and food very very average. We were with a party of 50+ and nearly everyone was unhappy with the poor standards of this hotel.

Room Tip: Go to a "Travel Lodge" Rooms there are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your review. We believe we have written to you separately regarding your dissatisfaction with the Europa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I am writing this review whilst still in bed at this hotel. I have quickly had to put the Do not disturb sign on the door, although its only 8am and I do not need to set for Gatwick until 10am, as I can hear cleaning going on next door, which surprises me as my carpet was covered in bits on arrival, on closer inspection the debris was mostly crisps! After a very long drive, I refrained from complaining but will do on check out. This is my first negative review on this site, the smell is strange, damp? cigarettes? You can smell it in the corridors and the bathroom smelt damp.

This was once a stunning hotel, but its old and the rooms need decorating.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We booked four nights whilst visiting from Canada..... Big mistake!!!
On arrival our booking was nowhere to be found, neither was a parking space. Eventually we were allocated a room in the 'Lodge' or rather a box room with a small bed and no room for luggage other than the door way. We spoke to the receptionist about the size and unsuitability of the room and was informed that "everyone complains about the 'Lodge' rooms". We were offered an upgrade (larger room) in the main building for an additional cost. After walking the length of the dark, oppressive, smelly and filthy corridors we reached our room only to find it was unclean; hair and fluff on the bathroom floor, carpets stained and hadn't been vacuumed in god knows how long, towels with stains on them, net curtain hanging down and generally dirty and neglected.
The communal area was disgusting. The carpets were threadbare and strewn with the days menu, the furniture looked like it had been retrieved from the local tip, only Frank Gallagher (tv's Shameless) would feel at home here.
The car park and parking availability was horrendous. Cars were parked in every available gap including bushes, between trees, in fact, anywhere that a vehicle could be squeezed ... It was.
Clearly this hotels priority is profit margin only. We will NEVER be returning there nor will we be recommending it and will also make our views known to the Trades Description Act and Environmental Health.
Overall this is a tired, outdated, neglected, dirty and generally a god awful place.

Shame on you Europa!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren19612013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

We are sorry it was necessary for you to write a negative review. We value all feedback from our guests and apologise for the problems you encountered during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night before our holiday and again in return. We chose this as it was close to the airport and could accommodate a family of 5 in a room without costing a fortune. It was basic and nothing special but it did the job. Negatives- The hallways smell fusty and it's dated, you have to pay extra for the swimming pool which feels a bit grubby, the 5th bed is in the wardrobe and you have to make it up yourself but both times we weren't given extra bedding and as it was 2am we arrived after landing on our return journey we just couldn't be bothered chasing it up so squashed 2 of the kids in the bottom bunk instead, also on our return stay the lock on the door frame was completely hanging off so it was not at all secure and the door could easily be opened. The parking is a bit of a pain as the car park was very full on both occasions although we did manage to park. Positive - beds were clean, bathroom was clean and the majority of staff were friendly enough. If its just an airport stop over you are doing and this is the cheapest place available then it's worth using.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bealharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your review. We welcome all feedback from our guests in order to address the issues as they arise. We hope that despite the negatives, you will consider staying with us in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

stayed at the europa hotel on sunday 4 august, very easy to find, price was very good, left my car there for 11 days, no problem, one of the reason i stayed here was that the hotel has a swimming pool, sauna, steam room, so we had a nice relaxing stop before we hit gatwick airport. the main bit of the hotel is fab, nice bar and beers, room was a bit dated, i didn't eat there as i found a nice big pub 1 mile down the road (the snooty fox. three bridges pub) which did great food and some very nice ales. i would stay at the hotel again if i went from gatwick airport

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope you will visit the Europa next time you stay at Gatwick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We used this hotel for the convenience of parking for 3 weeks when flying from Gatwick for a holiday in Canada. We also needed a night stay to get to the airport before 8 a.m. without hassle or traffic worries. The whole deal cost £175 including parking, so only about £25 more than just parking at the airport. In many ways I wish we had driven from home in the small hours and parked at the airport, though. The hotel is 'tired' - looks like it hasn't had a re-furb for over 30 years! The corridors smell (strongly) of stale tobacco and the public toilets of urine. On the plus side, the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a reasonable size but amenities and decor pretty basic. The buffet breakfast was adequate. It was only when waiting for the airport shuttle (extra £5 per person) on the way home, after a 9-hour flight, that we found there was only one bus per hour and we had to wait in the chilly wind for 45 minutes whilst other hotel shuttles came two or three times in the same period. We could have checked the times when leaving and known to wait in the terminal - worth remembering! At least the bus came - only 5 minutes late! The car was as we left it and started first time - so the deal worked - but was the least enjoyable part of our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We hope you will reconsider staying with Britannia Hotels in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.5 mi away
Da Vinci Manor Guest House
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#14 of 28 in Crawley
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
179 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range: £35 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing