We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“airport hotel”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have stayed in this hotel numerous times prior to flying from Gatwick. It is conveniently placed just off the M23 and it offers a variety of options; room only, park & fly, rooms including breakfast or dinner or both.

The rooms are fine for the purpose.
The breakfast are both buffet and very good value for money. The evening buffet always includes 2 carvery roasts along with a selection of other hot meals, vegetables, potatoes. salad. soup and gateaux.

The car park is always busy but there are spaces usually at the far end of the car park.
The hotel offers parking for your holiday and runs a shuttle, which you pay for separately, to and from the airport. These run hourly over 24 hours which might not fit in with your flight time. This is only inconvenient if you have a long wait on your return - it's worth looking at this before you go so that you can have a drink or something at the airport before you go to the bus stop.

The only small negative is that drinks are expensive but this is the same in all hotels.

Overall - a convenient, reasonably priced airport horel

Room Tip: If you book a family room you will have bunk beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you very much for your informative review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Europa next time you travel via Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    295
    483
    430
    1,451
See reviews for
644
1,111
151
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Large spacious room with basic amenities and very good value for an overnight stay. Parking however, is a big problem. Staff very pleasant. Would use again for business but not for a holiday destination. Close to local places.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We hope you will return to the Europa very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The price was good for a very good reason. At weekends they cater for weddings. The problem is that unsuspecting regular guests book in for a night or two, parking is available according to the website - except at a weekend as not only are the wedding guests there and friends attending just the wedding, but also they offer people flying out of Gatwick cheap car parking. SOOOOO you cannot find any parking space AT ALL!!!
Wedding guests stand directly outside the entrance smoking so you have to pass clouds of smoke to get into the hotel - this is very very bad. Wedding guests are drunk in reception, corridors and outside the hotel - not pleasant for normal guests. Wedding guest children are screaming and shouting in the foyer jumping over the sofas and chairs - no one seems to care.
A swimming pool and Gym were onsite - when I tried to use it they told us there was an extra charge - which was not advised at time of booking - very poor. Bathroom was very poor too.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel for a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anaru M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry for any inconvenience due to the Wedding taking place at the time of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

I booked this simply cause it was cheap with low parking rate while away on holiday. £130 or 2nights and 15days parking you can't really go Wong!

But the hotel is very basic! It's not the best but your getting what you pay for.

They do transferes to the airport £5 per adult

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougalldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

You do get what you pay for. I did a national holidays tour with my daughter. The beds and bathroom where clean. We where put in a family room with twin beds and a set of bunks. The carpet had been hoovered, but only where you can see. I looked down the back of the bunks and it clearly hadn't been hoovered in a while it was quite thick of dust. Towels where changed daily and beds also made daily. The food was just the same daily, but was generally ok, apart from the veg on the first night that looked like complete mush. I didn't like all the veg thrown in the same pot instead of separate for each veg. The gravy is next to the carved meat and is difficult to get round the man carving. That said there was something for everyone. I liked the breakfast variety but the bacon is very fatty.Generally speaking the staff were very polite. The pool is an advantage and very clean. Would have been nice to have been told on arrival that it was free to us and not £4 adult and £2 child as stated on the website. We may have gone more. The travel to london and Windsor from the hotel is very long taking between 1hr30 and 2hr 30 in traffic. For what we paid it wasn't bad but would have been very upset had i have paid full price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stressed37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay on this occasion and we hope you will consider staying at the Europa next time you are in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Found on holiday extras, very good deal , one night in hotel and parking for 2 weeks and transfer to airport. Booked. Then looked at reviews, thought OMG what have I done. Must say must have stayed at different hotel to what reviewers are saying. Easy parking, excellent informative friendly staff, clean good sized room, relax in pool, convenient free return transfer to airport. Only downside dated worn furniture in bar area. Would return as such a good deal.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Davee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We were pleased that, despite reading some negative reviews, you decided to stay at the Europa and were pleased with your experience. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here as part of a national holidays package. we were worried when we found out which hotel it was after reading reviews,however previously se finf people do exagerate so tried to have an open mind! Parked up looked nice from outside walked in reception were quick but not good with directions when we finally found our room we found previous reviews to be correct! My room was dirty! we had holes in the carpets and corners of tge room filthy. The sliding wardrobe doors were broken there were stains on the floors and walls splashes of toothpaste on the door. I could fit my hand in the gap under the door leading to the corridoor!. the curtains were creased and dirty. we had a twin room one bed had a valance that didnt fit the other didnt have one and horrible orange base and bed legs on show. The evening meal was the same everynight swapping from pork to turkey and back again with chips soggy veg hard potatoes and salad. The guy carving meat had a dirty unironed uniform on. There were a few weddings on during our stay and confetti and cake icing was never cleaned up just left on the floor. Breakfast was ok however chips were on the menu! I did complain about a stained and discoloured shower curtain and 10 minutes later a new one was supplied and the person who brought it was very polite. The cleaners came everyday and lukily the beds and towels were clean. Overall was very disapointed and would never visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ems166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We were sorry to read you were disappointed with your hotel experience on this occasion. We understand you do not wish to return but hope you will consider other Britannia hotels in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
164 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#15 of 28 in Crawley
555 reviews
4.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Property: Europa Gatwick Hotel
Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing