We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whats the moaning about??” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Europa Gatwick Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Whats the moaning about??”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Have just stayed here for three nights to attend a wedding.
Check in was quick, and the staff seemed pleasant enough.
I booked a single room, and was given a large double. It was facing part of the car park, garden and the road which was noisy when the window was open, but hey, i wasn't there to gaze out of the window!
Yes the furniture was 'tatty' but what do people expect when the rooms are used constantly.
The bed was comfy, although some of our party complained that theirs were 'springy'
There was plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, tea/coffee facilities, trouser press. Hairdryer was in one one of the drawers.
The bathroom accessories were a bit on the rusty side, the shower was powerful and hot enough, the Jacuzzi bath was fab! There was also basic toiletries.
Towels were a bit on the thin side but adequate.
The tv froze on a few occasions but i only had it on for background noise.
Staff in the bar were friendly and prices are as you would expect for the area.
There were a few complaints from our party about the carvery, but i had a chicken meal which was 'ok'
There was a large lounge area with plenty of seating.
The garden are was lovely.
The wedding went without a hitch, and the organizing staff were lovely.
Buffet breakfast can only be described as 'greasy' but edible Full English, toast or continental.
My only complaints......the wardrobe doors were very stiff...The outside tables in the garden were not cleaned in the three days we were here which i found disgusting..who wants to sit at a table that is full of spilt drinks and cig ash?
I have been in worse 'airport' hotels and wouldn't hesitate to book this one if i needed a stopover.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soniaroberts05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your informative review. We were pleased to read you would consider staying at the Europa if the opportunity arises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    279
    457
    403
    1,329
See reviews for
585
1,038
140
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here for one night, ready for our Gatwick flight in the morning. The hotel was easy to find, large & had several coach trip parties staying, resulting in quite a few queues at mealtimes. Parking is on site, but it wasn't easy to find.a space as the hotel was so busy. The evening meal was buffet style, £25 for 2 if you booked the meal when you checked in. The food was OK, (the vegetarian curry had chicken in it!), not the best, but there was plenty to choose from.
The room has all you need for just one night, although there was a carrier bag of rubbish left in one of the drawers from a previous guest. As this is used mainly for airport stopovers, people were up & around at different times throughout the night, so expect a bit of noise.
The shuttle bus to Gatwick is £5 return, but beware, they travel every 45 - 60 minutes. We had to wait for nearly 50 minutes for one when we got back to Gatwick.
If you want a cheap airport stopover, this hotel will fit the bill.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eatingforpleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Similar to many we used the hotel as we were flying out Gatwick and because it is well priced, included the parking for the time we were away and also had the transfers to/from the airport (which you also need to pay for separately in reception). I back up most of the reports from other travellers and you probably won't want to stay here too long as it isn't the best but we limited our time inside to just a few hours as the rooms were not too clean and seem tired from the obvious high people turnover that goes through the doors.
They say you get what you pay for and the Europa is a good example. It served its purpose for us but the most redeeming item was the parking plus transfers which is the main thing we needed however the next time we fly out of Gatwick I will probably look to stay elsewhere and pay a little more for a wee bit more comfort for the family.
That said, if its all about the cost then this place is as competitive as anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibanez321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We value customer feedback and continually strive to improve the services we offer to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have stayed in this hotel numerous times prior to flying from Gatwick. It is conveniently placed just off the M23 and it offers a variety of options; room only, park & fly, rooms including breakfast or dinner or both.

The rooms are fine for the purpose.
The breakfast are both buffet and very good value for money. The evening buffet always includes 2 carvery roasts along with a selection of other hot meals, vegetables, potatoes. salad. soup and gateaux.

The car park is always busy but there are spaces usually at the far end of the car park.
The hotel offers parking for your holiday and runs a shuttle, which you pay for separately, to and from the airport. These run hourly over 24 hours which might not fit in with your flight time. This is only inconvenient if you have a long wait on your return - it's worth looking at this before you go so that you can have a drink or something at the airport before you go to the bus stop.

The only small negative is that drinks are expensive but this is the same in all hotels.

Overall - a convenient, reasonably priced airport horel

Room Tip: If you book a family room you will have bunk beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you very much for your informative review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Europa next time you travel via Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Large spacious room with basic amenities and very good value for an overnight stay. Parking however, is a big problem. Staff very pleasant. Would use again for business but not for a holiday destination. Close to local places.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We hope you will return to the Europa very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The price was good for a very good reason. At weekends they cater for weddings. The problem is that unsuspecting regular guests book in for a night or two, parking is available according to the website - except at a weekend as not only are the wedding guests there and friends attending just the wedding, but also they offer people flying out of Gatwick cheap car parking. SOOOOO you cannot find any parking space AT ALL!!!
Wedding guests stand directly outside the entrance smoking so you have to pass clouds of smoke to get into the hotel - this is very very bad. Wedding guests are drunk in reception, corridors and outside the hotel - not pleasant for normal guests. Wedding guest children are screaming and shouting in the foyer jumping over the sofas and chairs - no one seems to care.
A swimming pool and Gym were onsite - when I tried to use it they told us there was an extra charge - which was not advised at time of booking - very poor. Bathroom was very poor too.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel for a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anaru M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry for any inconvenience due to the Wedding taking place at the time of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

I booked this simply cause it was cheap with low parking rate while away on holiday. £130 or 2nights and 15days parking you can't really go Wong!

But the hotel is very basic! It's not the best but your getting what you pay for.

They do transferes to the airport £5 per adult

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dougalldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.7 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.7 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
4.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
2.8 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Property: Europa Gatwick Hotel
Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing