We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Europa Gatwick Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$206
US$187
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$104
US$89
Sandman Gatwick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$91
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Ibis London Gatwick Airport(Crawley)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$97
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley(Crawley)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$150
US$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$131
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (2,985)
Filter reviews
2,985 results
Traveller rating
91
316
527
470
1,581
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
316
527
470
1,581
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,815 - 1,820 of 2,985 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

It's fine for an overnight stay for the airport. Very dated rooms but comfortable. It's cheap but does the job. I'd book it again if I had an early flight. Nice bar to waste the evening in before early flight.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karmagran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

May well be cheap and ideal if it's just going to be somewhere to "get your head down" before a flight but as for it being somewhere to stay for a holiday avoid it. The room we stayed in was awful, dated and musty. Opening the window was a no no the noise from the motorway was horrendous.
Breakfast was good but its hard to go wrong with sausage, bacon and scrambled egg. Evening meal was terrible with nothing for the children to eat except a vegetable curry.
The hotel needs a complete overhaul and a majority of the staff should go on a customer service course.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linzi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Where to start with this hotel. I booked for a 2 night stay...arrived at the hotel...checked in...my room was in the lodge building behind the main hotel.

The room...well, it is definitely in need of an update. The mattress was incredibly uncomfortable, walls battered and bruised, bathroom cheaply done....considering the price they charge for this hotel (thankfully I got a deal online) it really is a joke.

So, I try to get online...no signal...I go to reception, to be informed there is no wifi in ANY room, only in the reception/bar area! The receptionist laughed and said the hotel was a bit behind. I was not laughing...online it said wifi available, but it certainly didn't state it was only available in the very noise public area...with tv blaring!!

Not a great start...it is 2013 for goodness sake...who DOESNT have wifi in the rooms, especially this size of hotel?

So then the gym....well, firstly be aware there is a charge, £4 per guest per visit. The gym is desperately in need of an overhaul. They have reasonable new cardio equipment, but everything else is pretty old. All pads on machines are split...the walls are battered and marked and the leg press is completely broken!! The free weights are not complete...no 4 or 6 kg, only one 7kg...pff

In the evening intended to do some ironing and asked for a board and iron to be delivered to my room....oh no...you collect an iron from reception and have to use the board in the ironing room upstairs!!! Errr, can I not take a board to my room? The reply, 'no, I think the BOARDS are fixed'.

Good lord, so investigate...the ironing 'room' is in fact a cleaners cupboard withfold up beds, buckets etc in...not enough room to swing a cat, dark, dank and quite unpleasant! For a hotel that caters for this many people, this surely it's joke?!? The ironing board...yes, the ONE ironing board, batters, filthy with a towel used as padding was not fixed to the room...good to know the staff know their hotel so well!

Oh, the walls in the rooms are like paper...I had a terrible snorer in the room next door...I heard every deep gurgling rasp...all night long.

It is recommended that you put the 'do not disturb' sign on the door if you want to be left alone before 11am...well, it doesn't matter one bit if no one else has, as at 8am the cleaner comes round banging on every other door yelling 'house keeping' then HOOVERING at every opportunity!

Some staff stay in the lodge and when they and others start moving from around 6:30am a million doors slam so loud they as well be in your room with a brass band....

Quite possibly the most unpleasant stay I have had in a hotel for YEARS!!!

Coming from 2 days at the Days Inn Cobham...a hotel you really wouldn't expect much from...this hell hole is double the price and no where near the same standard...shocking!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your detailed review. We were sorry you were disappointed with your hotel experience on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have stayed at "The Europa" twice this year, and no doubt will next year. It is very easy to get to ,and as other reviewers have said, it is cheap esp. with the parking which is 'on site'! You do not have to leave your keys, which is a definite 'plus'.
I agree that certain areas of the hotel do need a face lift, but you get what you pay for!! The room was fine when you consider how little time you spend in it. Ask for a room near the lift or on the ground floor, if you have trouble with stairs. We found the food both in the restaurant and in the bar to be 'average'. The shuttle bus wasn't a problem. You are given a timetable, so can wait in the airport rather than outside in the shelter. People need to warned, however, that it is a fair walk, so don't leave it to the last minute, if like me you have problems with walking.
The great thing with staying over at the hotel, is that you do not have to worry about getting held up on the motorway, prior to your flight. We also stay a night upon our return so that we can have a nice relaxing final day.

Room Tip: As I have said in my review, make them aware if you have trouble with stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Downley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your informative review. We hope you continue to use Britannia Hotels next time you travel via Gatwick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at the Europa the night before we flew from Gatwick. The hotel is pretty convenient, and when combined with parking for a 2 week holiday, works out to be very cheap.

The hotel itself would have been amazing 25 years ago, but unfortunately now it needs a major overhaul.

The food was average at best.

The rooms were massive, but so so dated. Carpets in the bathroom surely provide a hygiene issue. The bed was comfy enough though.

At the end of the day, we used it as a quick stop off and parking lot, so it worked nicely for us.

The busses to the airport aren't that regular, but again we were lucky with the timings so it worked.

It is not a horrible hotel by any means, but you do get what you pay for with these things, and with the parking included, it was a bargain that I would have to consider next time i fly from Gatwick.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews