We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Wellingborough
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Certainly not the best Gatwick hotel but excellent value. Check the DBB+wine deal. Note the best deals may only be available from the hotel's own website. Can be very busy at times. The leisure centre cost an extra £5 but is very good.

Room Tip: Note that some first floor rooms are not accessible via the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Not_so_Old_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We were delighted to read you were happy with the Europa and our facilities. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    285
    470
    413
    1,369
See reviews for
606
1,062
143
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here for one night, on the spur of the moment. Our decision was influenced by the fact that we got a double room for £31, plus another £7 for two breakfasts. The check in process was smooth and, when we arrived in our room to find that it reeked of cigarettes (non-smoker room), we were immediately offered another room. Breakfast was the usual hot & cold buffet - the food was better than many other similar hotels have offered. Check out (having pre-paid the room online) took about 10 seconds.

The down sides were that the fittings were shabby, the bathroom had cracked and chipped tiles, with grout missing here and there, there was dust in many places, the curtains needed a good cleaning, one power socket was loose, and the bed was very very soft.

If we had paid the full £120 for this room, we would have been completely unimpressed.

Room Tip: We booked via Britannia's own website, on the same day, and got a substantial reduction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your comments. We hope you will visit Britannia Hotels next time you travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was the 8th year that we had used this hotel,Before this last trip it was good value for the money, For the price we paid we did not expect luxury, but we did expect it to be clean,The room we had this year was very very dirty, The carpet had more stains on it then clean bits, had to keep shoes on all the time..The dressing table was so stickey that their books were stuck to it. Whole room needs a good wash and redecorating.,Bathroom cleaness left a lot to be desired, What can you say about a bed where we had to, fix the legs so that we could use it. and the matress was smaller than the frame. The Carvery which used to be good, was terrible, with recyled food from the night be, The deserts were just a wet mess, and they charge you £2.00 every time you use your credit card, This hotel is ,long passed its sell by date .. We travel quite a lot, and this is the dirtest room I have ever stayed in. You now take Ppot luck if you book this hotel to get a clean room, This company should be ashamed to let rooms like this. Th prices have realy increased on every thing this year. This company should win a oscar for behing this most money grabbing hotel chain.

Room Tip: Beware of this hotel it has really gone down hill in the last year, they have just bought the Point...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We were sorry to read you were unhappy especially as you have stayed many times previously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I went with National holidays coach party and for £99 for 3 nights dinner, bed and breakfast, plus a couple of coach tours which was very well worth it, yes the Hotel is dated and tired needs updating, and there seems to be no attention to detail, carpets are worn in places and doors scuffed, in the Rafters bar the wall / high rise lights hadn't seen a duster for a few years, the rips in the sofa's need repairs, our room was on the ground floor could do with new décor, again no attention to detail but was clean look past that and you find a decent size room, nice and warm with heating that you can actually control, the breakfast was self serve buffet style with eggs (fried & scrambled) bacon, sausage, beans, tomatoes, mushrooms, black pudding, fried bread fruit juices, cereals, porridge, ham, cheese, yoghurt's, toast what more do you need for breakfast ? Even if after an hour or so the cooked food looked worse for ware, and evening meal was the same style, soup and bread roll for starters then a carvery every night plus 3 other options, e.g. curry, bolognaise, beef casserole, roast potatoes, new potatoes and veg with a cold rice salad and pasta selection, dessert 5 gateaux choices and fresh fruit no cream / ice cream. It wasn't a 5* restaurant we were in. The management if there is any, need to employ more staff, and train the the staff which are already there. Cannot comment about the gym as only had a look and looked ok. Overall for the price what can you expect, in this life you get what you pay for.
Stayed 3 nights from 21/11/2013

Room Tip: Just pot luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your informative review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The management of this hotel is poor, We booked a nights stay with car parking and booked the night we returned as we flew in late. We checked on the first night that everything was ok for our return and were told it was, On returning from our holiday at midnight we along with 11 others were told our rooms had been reallocated and we would have to go to the sister holtel 30 mins away. The room we were given therewas freezing cold. On returning the following morning to collect our car I had words with the manageress . She said it was company policy to allocate rooms on a first come basis even though we had booked it. Expect this to happen to you - surely they should warn you with a rider that your room cannot be guaranteed. The car park is also horrendous and not secure at all. Do not use this hotel.

Room Tip: Only applies if you can get a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 229roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We have e-mailed you following your recent correspondence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I'll start by saying the booking process through the hotel website or phone line is shambolic. I tried booking through the website and it crashed on a number of occaisons, eventually I managed to book it but only after the price had risen from the initial £29 p/n to £45 p/n. It was only the fact that the hotel has a gym & fitness suite that I still booked it rather than another hotel.

I have subsequently booked this hotel for another stay, again the website kept crashing. This time I called the hotel booking number, I was advised that due to it being busy, someone would call back. they never did.

I booked it through Expedia.com for less cost than was shown on the hotel website. A no brainer now for future bookings and obviously less profit for the hotel due to their shambolic booking procedures

The room was quite large and clean, the bed comfortable. Internet access is virtually zero in rooms, either the hotels WiFi or my mobile phone signal. If you're intending on working from your room in the evening and need internet, forget it.

The restaurant is a carvery, possibly because not many people were eating in here, the food wasn't over hot. They also sell bar meals but these seemed quite expensive and didn't look appealing from what I aw being served to people.

I initially paid upfront (saves £2.50 n each meal when paid for when checking in) for the roast dinner for my two night stay but decided to eat elsewhere on my second night and got a refund.

The saving grace for me on this hotel was the fact that it had a gym and is very close to where I am currently working.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Only stayed for one night. Thank god. Mould in the room on an internal wall. Smell of damp was overpowering. If you have a choice then sleep in your car it will be worth it if you have to stay here you will also have a major problem with finding a place to park your car. If you are unlucky enough to find a space then bad luck. You have been warned. Have a great time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sedgley1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We were sorry to read you were unhappy with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
4.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Property: Europa Gatwick Hotel
Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing