We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here, for one night.
Got to hotel no where to park, arrived at hotel around midnight waited 10 mins in reception, finally got card went up to room, electric key card wouldn't work in the door tried it 10 times before we finally got into the room,room was dark shoddy paint all over the wallpaper, paper was coming away at corners , wardrobe door was stiff couldn't shut it, kettle didn't work,
Bed was lumpy and hard, no heating so room was bloody cold!
Got up and left pretty early, got asked if we wanted breakfast soon a deal at £7.50 but all that was available was toast no fry up! No cereal! So mcdonalds breakfast It wash
I guess it's ok if you have an early flight to catch. But would not recommend it if you wanted to stay for a few days.
If weather wasn't so cold would of slept in the car instead!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank bigspender2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your comments.
Heating is on a timer. Breakfast is open from 6.30am. Breakfast boxes can be provided if leaving the hotel early, which can be booked at Reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,712 - 1,718 of 2,939 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed for one night before flying from Gatwick, and thankfully it was only for the one night, on arrival met by friendly staff, and told where room would be found, on entering the room it was absolutely freezing, so dropped off our things and headed to the restaurant for something to eat where we couldn't order anything as it didn't open till much later, as we had a very early flight and needed to go to sleep early we decided to eat food in the bar. Though I say food, that's hardly how it could be described as there was no flavour at all and full of fat, the doors to the nice looking garden kept blowing open, and as there were no staff around we had to keep getting up to close them ourselves. We went back to our room having no found anyone to complain to about the quality of the food, and tried to sleep, I say tried because there was a clearly drunk couple who decided to spend the entire night shouting at each other in the car park.
The only enjoyable part of our stay was getting to leave, safely in the knowledge we will never return, next time I would rather pay double to stay nearer the airport.

Room Tip: Pay more and book nearer to the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trollee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your comments.
Heating system is on a timer. Reception open 24/7. Rafters Bar open for food from Midday to 10pm which is also staffed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed one night in January with 7 days parking prior to an early flight from Gatwick. On arrival at the Europa we received a warm welcome from the receptionist, the check in procedure was quick. Our room was comfortable, clean and warm. We had a lovely meal in the bar. Yes there are some areas of the hotel which could do with updating but the hotel suited our requirements. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetp457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Credit/Debit Card Charge.You will be stung by this on check in. No mention of this anywhere else.
Hotel itself is a basic 2 star hotel.You cannot expect 5* luxury at 2* prices.
Ideal for an overnight stay.The hotel is a fair distance away from the Airport.The Hotel Shuttle from the Airport to hotel is free however there is a £7 charge for the return trip

Room Tip: No Tips. Average 2* rooms. However if your flight is from North Terminal,the hotel bus stops a long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigieone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your comments. The coach transfer fee is a return @ £7pp. The journey to the South terminal is 10 mins and the North 15 mins, this depends on traffic and what time of day. The credit/debit card admin fee is mentioned on our website and also at Reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed one night before flying on holiday in January,After checking in we found the bedroom very cold and the windows were not shutting very well,adjusted the radiator thermostat and waited for heat,which never arrived,informed by reception that the heating is not turned on until 5pm(what never heard of such a thing).Decided to go for a swim to get warm,but on arrival at the pool we were asked to pay £4.00,so we declined. we then went for a drink at the bar,but found it unpleasant to enjoy our drinks whilst wearing overcoats to keep out the cold.Ready for a good nights sleep we found that you will not get one here awful old sagging matressess will make sure of that frankly hotel is only good to park your car. The Brittania group seriously need to look at upgrading this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Booked a 1 Night stay plus car parking for a week through Thomas Cook. Parts of the car park were taped off. Walked into Hotel, First thought, bit grim and dark, went to check in, Receptionist pleasant and quite helpful. booked and paid for dinner prior to going to room which was down the longest corridor I have ever trodden.
Room smelt funny, damp on the walls, dark and quite depressing. Didn't like the room, my wife hated it, tramped back to reception down the long corridor to complain, receptionist was apologetic and offered us another "better" room. The new room was just as bad, if not worse, there was a stain on the sheets, could have been blood. Mold above the window, our friends room smelt horrible and the wall paper was badly worn. Our conclusion, "We're not staying here". back to reception, receptionist apolgetic once more. Asked to speak to the manager, unfortunately (or fortunately for him/her) they were busy. Finally spoke to another member of staff who was as useful as a Chocolate Teapot, with a real "don't care attitude". Back to reception, cancelled dinner and room/parking (on the day before we were flying out on Holiday). Not happy !! Fortunately found a terrific little hotel with the same parking facilities slightly more expensive but with free transfers. ended up having a great night before we set of on our Hols. Thomas Cook refunded the complete cost for the Europa Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Oh dear, where do I start? I've stayed here many times, but I won't again as this time was just awful!
Check in was very slow by surly, unhappy staff, who didn't even ask if I wanted to book seats on the bus for the airport in the morning!
The room, wallpaper feeling off, stains on the carpets, the veneer on the bathroom door was peeling off, room also very noisy and freezing!
I'd booked for us to have a meal in the restaurant, I wish I hadn't! The salad was so dry it had obviously been there for hours, the carvery was luke warm, dried up and had also been out too long! And to top it off the bus was late in the morning!!
Come on Gatwick Europa! This used to be such a good hotel, spend some money Britannia Hotels and bring this hotel to where it should be!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladyfirestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.5 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#14 of 28 in Crawley
635 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range: £35 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing