We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Only plus side of this hotel is convincinience.
The receptionist was polite and friendly but the same can not be said for the bar staff, more grunts and funny looks. If you order food from the bar you sit on a arm chair and a small low table so you end up eating with the plate in your lap. Ordered a bacon hamburger and the amount of fat on the bacon was unreal

The window in the room has a massive gap so there is a terrible draft and also the toilet does not flush. Ruined the start to our honeymoon

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your comments.
We do have Duty Manager on each shift.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    291
    478
    423
    1,435
See reviews for
632
1,102
146
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Hotel convenient to Gatwick, good parking on site; friendly staff, reasonable cheap buffet meal night before flight.

Drab decor, needs updating, bed hard & small. Swimming pool, no rail on steps, even for top 2-3, therfore a hazard to those with mobility problems. Similiarly no handle in any of the very small showers or anywhere to hang a towel

Would not stay there again.

R M R Berkhamsted

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridoutrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, food was very nice and the bar was expensive but nice, very friendly staff. The beds are very comfortable. When we arrived the room was very clean and seemed well furnished and very well looked after. Very close to the airport and very easy to get a transfer straight to the airport.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We needed to stay in Crawley for 2 nights for an event. We arrived early evening picked up the key at the old style reception, ordered breakfast for 2, paid £41 a night and received our room and brekky receipts. We then were called back to receive another receipt for 2 breakfasts this time as the original receipt had been for just 1.

We were sent in the direction of our room, first floor (yuk) past the bar that smelt of rotten eggs, but we were unable to find it – the door number system is rather strange and the corridors long and dingy with the dark wood and crazy carpets. We had to go back to reception and find someone to show us to our room.

The room was big, it was DARK and dank and smelt old and foulsty. Two single beds and an interlinking door to the room next to us – locked thankfully. The fat TV was a million years old, the old battered table and dressing table had huge slabs of easily removable, and ‘sliding off-able’ glass tops that had ripped up the wallpaper over the years (not very safe!), thei hairdryer was about 20 years old and the beds were very creaky and rather unstable.

We checked the bathroom and it was a shocker! Obviously cleaned, but there was mould around the fittings, stains on the shower curtain, rust on all the very old metal work, a huge clump of brown hair wrapped around the bathroom drain. The plastic fittings were old, brittle and yellowed and there was black scum in the toilet bowl. We were tired, it was cheap, so we chilled out – that’s when we noticed the pink pubes picture on the wall above the bed. The lady is blindfolded and naked and is wafting her pubes to all who visit!

We slept ok, although the heating kicked itself in at about 2am and tried to boil us both in our beds…. Breakfast was cold coffee, hard cold bacon, super greasy mushrooms which was all taken on the stained, ripped and filthy seats with a side serving of sullen waitress.

Just as we were leaving to go out mid morning, we got a knock on the door. I opened it and there was a guy in a blue tracksuit, He asked if we wanted room service which was weird as he didn’t have a badge or a trolley, and when we said no, he then asked 3 times if we wanted any coffee or tea or towels, we said no each time, and he left.

When we came back late in the evening, we sat in the bar on the ripped and tatty leather seats, ordered wine and a jacket potato (the only options were a jacket or a sarnie) with a crisp salad, which turned out to be a spud, some tuna mayo, a bit of lettuce and some crisps thrust at us by a staff member rushing home with her coat on and her bag in her hand.

It was surreal and random and rather Faulty Towers. I have attached an image of our bath plug on arrival and a small montage of some of the other weirdness from our room, including the lady on our wall with her 80’s down-there-do…

Suggestions? Please recover/replace the stained and ripped furniture in your communal areas. Please change the rusting metal work, brighten up this really dark room, put in a more appropriate picture (trying to explain that to a child would have been AWKWARD!) & bring rooms up to date, just bringing them into the 90’s would be a huge improvement.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChipChopPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your comments which have been passed onto Housekeeping/Maintenance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here, for one night.
Got to hotel no where to park, arrived at hotel around midnight waited 10 mins in reception, finally got card went up to room, electric key card wouldn't work in the door tried it 10 times before we finally got into the room,room was dark shoddy paint all over the wallpaper, paper was coming away at corners , wardrobe door was stiff couldn't shut it, kettle didn't work,
Bed was lumpy and hard, no heating so room was bloody cold!
Got up and left pretty early, got asked if we wanted breakfast soon a deal at £7.50 but all that was available was toast no fry up! No cereal! So mcdonalds breakfast It wash
I guess it's ok if you have an early flight to catch. But would not recommend it if you wanted to stay for a few days.
If weather wasn't so cold would of slept in the car instead!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank bigspender2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Heating is on a timer. Breakfast is open from 6.30am. Breakfast boxes can be provided if leaving the hotel early, which can be booked at Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed for one night before flying from Gatwick, and thankfully it was only for the one night, on arrival met by friendly staff, and told where room would be found, on entering the room it was absolutely freezing, so dropped off our things and headed to the restaurant for something to eat where we couldn't order anything as it didn't open till much later, as we had a very early flight and needed to go to sleep early we decided to eat food in the bar. Though I say food, that's hardly how it could be described as there was no flavour at all and full of fat, the doors to the nice looking garden kept blowing open, and as there were no staff around we had to keep getting up to close them ourselves. We went back to our room having no found anyone to complain to about the quality of the food, and tried to sleep, I say tried because there was a clearly drunk couple who decided to spend the entire night shouting at each other in the car park.
The only enjoyable part of our stay was getting to leave, safely in the knowledge we will never return, next time I would rather pay double to stay nearer the airport.

Room Tip: Pay more and book nearer to the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trollee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Heating system is on a timer. Reception open 24/7. Rafters Bar open for food from Midday to 10pm which is also staffed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed one night in January with 7 days parking prior to an early flight from Gatwick. On arrival at the Europa we received a warm welcome from the receptionist, the check in procedure was quick. Our room was comfortable, clean and warm. We had a lovely meal in the bar. Yes there are some areas of the hotel which could do with updating but the hotel suited our requirements. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetp457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#15 of 28 in Crawley
544 reviews
4.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Property: Europa Gatwick Hotel
Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing