We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not waste your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not waste your money”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Recently stayed on a deal offered by Groupon of accommodation and parking whilst away on holiday. The hotel is dark/saving on energy with low powered lamps, badly decorated/ everything is a dark brown and scruffy, the restaurant is dirty/ stains on the seating and carpets, staff have dirty clothing and very little interest in visitors. If you require dinner - food not too bad - do not book at hotel as it costs more that if you 'phone the booking number on 0871 221 1766.
The parking is terrible. As had booked to leave my car would have expected to be provided with a reserved space - no chance - had to drive around and eventually found space in a field attached to the hotel.
The transfer going to Gatwick was good, coming back is not good as buses very infrequent after midnight.
A great pity that Groupon do not vet their offers as this experience could have been avoided.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdcv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your comments. We do not have a field for car parking, we do have parking bays around the hotel and also gravel areas for parking. Unfortunately we do not pre allocate parking bays to guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    291
    478
    423
    1,435
See reviews for
632
1,102
146
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Hotel seems cheap at first but by time u add on airport transfers not that cheap and for little extra better of staying in one of the top hotels.
Room was nothing like photos, outdated , damp and dirty with holes in ceiling !! The spa bath was so grubby and old I couldnt bear to step into it let alone sit !! we had booked dinner as an extra when booking the hotel which was a big mistake a 2 course meal for 2 was actually a help yourself buffet which looked like the food had been there for a week and was inedible so went hungry. Bought a kit kat out of the vending machine which I found to be out of date !! Had a drink in the bar as I didnt want to sit in room but bar staff were grumpy and drinks were overpriced and seating area was grubby and sofas worn and ripped. Originally chose this hotel to relax in the swimming pool but didnt dare to venture to look !!
Worse hotel I have ever stayed in needs an urgent makeover and rooms to be damp treated !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your comments. We do have a Duty Manager on shift and a 24hr Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Firstly the walk to the room from reception stank of cannabis and this had leaked into our room. The room was baking hot even though the radiator was off and stank. One of the bed sheets had a small blood stain on it. Asked for a double, room card said double, we got a twin. The shower didn't work, it leaked from the attachment. And was either boiling hot or freezing. There was also no lock for the bathroom door. One lamp didn't work. And you can here the M23. Don't waste your money we paid £51 and quite frankly that was £50 too much. Stayed in hostels which were better. Pay the extra £20-30 and stay somewhere else. I don't normally trip advise, but I have to warn you about this pile of .....

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pondy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your comments. We do operate a 24hr Reception and have a Duty Manager on shift at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The hotel it's self was undergoing a refurbishment during out stay ( not something we were made aware of before hand) the decor is very dated but we didnt expect much with what we paid. The staff were all a little moody but did there jobs. Our room was clean but stank of cigarette smoke almost as if someone had popped in there for a crafty fag before we checked in so I had to air room and take kids downstairs for a bit. The food was quite nice it's a buffet but with carvery meat there was something there we all ate. The best bit about our stay was the airport parking that came with it, easy to find and relatively cheap. All in all not a bad hotel for the money would have been better if there wasn't building stuff everywhere, or we were warned.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitney mae m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for comments but the hotel is not undergoing any refurbishments nor do we have any building material in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daventry
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Europa needs a facelift although for one night pre flight you could endure.However I thoroughly recommend if you want to park and fly you choose somewhere else. The "carpark" is usually full and a quagmire bring your wellies.
I do not intend using this hotel for park and fly again there are much better to choose.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at The Europa before and after holiday from Gatwick. It was like stepping back in time. On a positive note the lady receptionist was very helpful and friendly (only positive thing to note). Our room was very dank and damp smelling, we didn't attempt the breakfast, as the dinner on arrival was inedible, cold and hard. As our taxi pulled up, 3 police cars were blocking entrance, so not good first impression, we thought it was The Sweeney given the surroundings. On a positive note we did have quite a giggle (afterwards) and know we won't be returning. Would probably be a great venue for a 70's revival week-end?

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Flipflopgirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your comments. We do have a Duty Manager on at all times and also our Reception is open 24/7. We would certainly have moved your room and spoken to the Chef regarding your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was a one night stay for an early flight. Great value and included 8 days on site parking - the car was exactly where we left it and in great condition. The room was warm and comfortable and helpful staff. No complaints at all from us. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky8751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#15 of 28 in Crawley
544 reviews
4.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Property: Europa Gatwick Hotel
Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing