We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and a let down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

First impression from the outside of building was very good - exotic hotel.
Inside, a different matter.
Expensive for what it is. Average beds, cheap shower gel and shampoo and 1 showercap to share between us (2 twin beds and a bunk bed).
We never got our wake up call, obviously thankfully we took our alarm clocks just in case.
Our taxi that was booked ahead was never recorded.
Our shower was either freezing cold or boiling hot, almost impossible to get the in between heat.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanflower75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your comments. We do have a Duty Manager on shift at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,677 - 1,683 of 2,937 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here in 2012 and booked again this year, parking was even easier and the room was clean with a lovely bed. The cost worked out exactly the same as getting airport parking on its own- so this was fantastic value and was a great start to the holiday.

Will definitely stay here again when next flying from Gatwick.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your comments. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The building itself is lovely and looks very exotic but inside very dull and dated. I spent Christmas here and the food was cheap and nasty just like the breakfast and the service was poor. There is not much to do during the day and the entertainment is not much better during the evening. The hot tub was lovely but was shocked when I went to enter the pool as the water was ice cold! Would not recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sineadjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your comments. We do not have entertainment during the day or evening. The pool temperature is taken at interval times by the Leisure Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I Had the misfortune to stay in this hotel a part of a National coaches package on a visit to Wembley. National coaches should be ashamed of the fact that they were prepared to put their customers into such an appalling hotel.
On arrival I was given a room key but as I made my way to the room I could smell a distinct smell of dampness. as I opened the room door the smell was overpowering. the room was filthy and was in a disgusting condition. The furnishings we in a filthy condition and the carpet was stained and hadn't been hovered for sometime. I travel regularly and have visited some 3rd world country's but I have never seen a room in such a filthy state.
When I complained the receptionist could not have been less interested and simply said "we are full"
I visited the bar area which was little better than the room and stood in a queue of 40 people waiting to be served , when we finally reached the front we were told there was no food available but were shown a menu for the local Turkish takeaway and was told they deliver to the hotel
. I actually witnessed residents ordering takeaways to eat in the hotel lounge.
After a night without sleep because of the filthy room and smell I had a cold shower and went for breakfast. I was astonished at the foul disgusting food that was on display. some dried fried bread, a few scraps of Bacon and two bowls of bean juice and tomato juice but no sign of the beans or tomatoes. No tea, Coffee , or fruit juice. the staff had nothing left and didn't seem concerned by it.
This is the most disgusting place I have ever stayed and the Crawley environmental health team need to inspect this hotel as it is not fit for human habitation nor should it be allowed to supply food.
National holidays should be ashamed of the fact that it books its customers into such a disgusting hotel and I for one would never trust this company again .
Don't stay here its a health hazard.

Room Tip: simply don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobc252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for your comments, your complaint is being dealt with at the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Never ever go here. Rude service,horrible dirty rooms with very small uncomfortable beds. Overcharged with no apology. attempted to overcharge and treated us like you were stupid. Was a budget option after flying in from abroad but compared to other budget hotels was truly awful. The worst hotel I have ever stepped foot in and I advise noone to go near, the Ibis is same price and so so much better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your comments. The Lodge rooms do have a smaller bed which is mentioned on all of the websites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Used the hotel the night before an early flight. Cost us £29 for the two of us plus we chose to eat at the hotel buffet which was on a special..£12.50 each for 3 courses..what a bargain the whole stay proved to be. The only criticism was that room 2208, and obviously the others in our area, backed onto the m23 there was a lot of road noise but quietend down about midnight. It didn't stop us from sleeping really tho..but if you could be away from the road at say the front of the hotel you will probably find it quieter. The room clean with a comfy bed and all you'd expect. Would def stay again but would request front room.I have rated the location as five star because if the proximity to gatwick.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank ColetteofMarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Found this hotel through Groupon it is the worst hotel have ever stayed in. On arrival had trouble parking the car. The receptionist was rude, reception was dull. The decor of the whole building is in the 70's. On entering the room could get a horrible smell from the toilet. The bathroom door didn't shut, the furniture was old, the bedding was ripped, the wardrobe door was broken and the TV was a portable. The room wasn't clean. The restaurant was dirty, the food disgusting the 3 course carvery dinner was a joke it was cold with Turkey that was cooked on the outside and pink on the inside. The desserts were dry with no cream or ice cream and breakfast wasn't any better the orange juice tasted like it was watered down and the sausages were tasteless and yes all cold again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your comments. The Europa Hotel is of an older period, all dark wood. We do have a Duty Manager on at all times, and Reception is open 24 hrs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.5 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#13 of 28 in Crawley
635 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range: £35 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing