We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Derby, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Lacking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2008

The hotel was dull, dark and had a distinctive musty smell about it in the corriders and bedroom. The bathroom in the first room we had, had a fair amount of black mould in it (even on the ceiling) and when the bed was sat on the leg gave way and the bed collasped. The second room was no better but the bed stayed put all night, it was a none smoking room that had a definate stale tobacco smell. The carvery was the evening food choice which offered vast amounts of food if you want it, but not much quality.
All in all a very poor hotel, we could have done much better with a B&B at a far lower cost.

  • Liked — Getting away next morning
  • Disliked — Poor public areas and bedrooms
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Formatted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    284
    464
    408
    1,343
See reviews for
595
1,044
143
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

Apart from the welcome which was okay, the rest of the stay went quickly down hill. First of all I had no plug for the bath and it took one hour for them to supply one. The bathroom was clean but had seen better days. The NON SMOKING room smelt of smoke and although they told me again and again that it was a non smoking room the staff could not explain why it had an ashtray. The bed was clean but the pillow cases were in side out. The worst was to come when I looked in the bed side cabinet to find a condom (unused), a cotton wool bud, an empty plastic bag and a lot of dust.
Breakfast was a shamble, the actual food was okay although a little over cooked. The staff were in hiding and it took me ages to find someonen to ask for tea cups only to be told they were in the dish washer and would take another 10 minutes.
Lunch was okay but nothing in comparison to other hotels I have stayed in.
The bar food menu was quite good and the food hot. Although trying to get a drink at the bar in the early evening was hard as it seemed to take two bar staff to prepare a cup of coffee for someone, leaving the rest of us around to wait to be served.
All in all, if this was the start to my holiday it would not be a great start. However, I was there on business and could not wait to get home and have a bath and wash that hotel away.
It says it all when you give your key back at the end of your stay to not even be asked if you enjoyed your stay.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Not cleaned very well and smelt of smoke
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayrnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2008

We were booked into the Europa by our travel agents prior to an internal flight the next day. On arrival we were given a room up two flights of stairs even though it was obvious we had heavy luggage. When we entered the room it was had not been cleaned from the previous occupant. We returned to reception and requested a clean room. We were given an 'upgrade' on the bottom floor. When we got to the room there were woodlice in the bathroom and the wallpaper was coming off the wall behind the radiator .Due to being tired from our long flight, we decided to have a meal in the bar area then retire to bed. My husband and i both had a meal of cajun chicken, and for five days afterwards had severe stomach cramps and diarrhoea. We will never recommend this hotel with its uncaring ' cold ' staff and general uncleanliness.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soniaroberts05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2008

I've stayed here before attending a conference, and had read the reviews with a bit of trepidation as they didn't look too good. However, I had a room that looked as if it had been refurbed, was clean and comfortable enough, and apart from the overcooked breakfast didn't have a bad stay. Ten months later, I've been back but things don't seem to have improved.

My room was, on the face of it, clean enough. I was on the ground floor (again), but this time overlooking the lawns at the front of the building rather than the courtyard at the rear. The french windows had delightful black mould growing on them and the net curtains that are hung over them for privacy weren't that well secured. On a plus point, the bed was clean and comfortable and the bathroom fine.

Lunch on the first day was reasonably good. A choice of about 3 warm courses and also salad, but the rice accompanying the Lamb and Honey Tagine was a bit overcooked and soft. The evening meal was more of the same salad, and three warm courses plus what looked like a turkey breast which was carved on request. The bar is not as overpriced as some, but the bar staff are not particularly quick and I got rather annoyed at being ignored when it was busy.

Breakfast - a reasonable spread of bacon, sausage, fried bread, mushroom etc. Took almost 10 minutes to find someone to ask for clean cups for tea/coffee, only to be told they had to wait for the dishwasher to finish. I'm sorry, but the hotel are aware that people will be up and chasing their breakfast between particular times and you'd reasonably expect that there would be adequate supplies of crockery and cutlery on hand.

Our group was up early as we all wanted to pack before heading off for breakfast and then into a meeting (in the Europa Suite) before 9am, which is perhaps as well as one of my colleagues had the courtesy bell on his door rung at 7am by the cleaner, who was just starting her rounds. Even in the absence of a 'do not disturb' sign, 7am is a little early to expect people to have vacated their room but you'd reasonably expect that the hotel should know who has booked out and which rooms are vacant. Suffice to say, he wasn't impressed.

As regards the shuttle bus, the bus driver can be a bit abrupt, and the timetable isn't always convenient, but it is free.

Overall, the hotel isn't particularly brilliant and I'm glad that on both occasions I've stayed, it has only been for two nights maximum. It certainly isn't somewhere I would choose to stay.

  • Liked — Shuttle bus
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2008

Having stayed at this hotel many years ago, it breaks my heart to see this hotel become one of the worst i have ever stayed in. The rooms were dirty - in fact the whole hotel was, The rooms had no hot water on the night we stayed there and in fact when we returned 14 days later everyone at check in was complaining about the same thing.

Our car was vandalised in their car park and the Duty Manager couldnt care less. We had to wait 6 hours for the RAC to recover our car and at no time did anyone from the hotel bother to offer us a drink or support.

However good the deal - dont stay there - it is not a good start to your holiday

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PaulEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

I booked this hotel from the Gatwick Airport web-site as we needed a place to spend two nights prior to our return to the US. We had been camping for five days and that helped our opinion of the place. There was a shower with hot water and a bed off the floor. If we had come directly to this place upon arrival in the UK we would have been very disappointed, mold in the shower and hard beds with old linens. Dark and dingy but the location provided us quick access to the airport with a very nice bus dirver and that is what we needed most. Next time I will search reviews before booking online!

  • Liked — airport shuttle
  • Disliked — too many to list
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SouthDakotaSooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

We just spent one night (Aug 29th) at this hotel - thank goodness. Our travel agent had it listed as a 3 star accommodation. It's not even a 2 star.

The first room (1132) the leg of our son's bed was broken, the staff provided the room next door (1134)...the double bed there had a plywood box at the head of the bed for a box spring and a single bed box spring (well beyond supporting anything) at the foot of the bed. Needless to say meant for an incredibly uncomfortable bed - hard from the shoulders to waist, sagged from the waist to the foot.

The bed spread was so worn it was thread bare and the wall paper in the halls was peeling in very large sections.

The tiles around the bathroom tub had mildew in the grout lines and although the rest of the tub was clean most of the fixtures were tarnished and worn.

The Mediterranean Buffet wasn't open until 6:30 p.m. we arrived at 6:35 p.m. the food was very overcooked the roast beef, yorkshire pudding and oven roast potatoes were so tough you couldn't cut them even after soaking in gravy. There were no beverages offered (neither alcoholic nor non- there was a water station with just cups) but there was no place to even order a beverage.

The staff were very nice, and the "free coach" to the airport was good. But that is the only positive.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The Beds
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kubbingj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
4.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.4 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Property: Europa Gatwick Hotel
Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing