We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate Option for Airport Parking Packages”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Adequate Option for Airport Parking Packages”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Gatwick Europa isn’t, perhaps, a place where you’d want to stay long term, but if you can live with the musty smell in the bathrooms and tired décor throughout, it’s a perfectly adequate overnight option for anyone catching a morning flight out of Gatwick. It also offers competitive accommodation / car parking packages using its own car park.

There is a shuttle bus service between the Europa and the Airport – cost £7 per adult. However, this is only charged on the outward journey; the return journey costs nothing. Since a taxi costs about £15 one way (could be a bit more or a bit less depending on traffic) the most cost effective option for any party of more than two adults who leave their car parked at the hotel is to take a taxi to the airport and the bus back to the hotel. You will need to book the taxi yourself – there is a free phone in the lobby to do this, and the number is available from reception.

Only real complaint is that we booked an early morning call from reception that never actually occurred; fortunately we were awake. Credit to reception, though, for explaining the bus / taxi options and pricing, which saved us a bit of money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevo2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    291
    478
    423
    1,437
See reviews for
632
1,103
147
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I stopped two nights as part of a wedding party. The communal areas are nicely kept, clean and well presented, alcohol hand gel throughout the areas and in the toilets was good to see. The reception room was lovely and tables nice and big with clean linen and chairs well presented with covers. Very impressed with the food served, it was lovely and hot and cooked well - a lovely surprise and credit to the hotel and it's kitchen and service staff. Staff polite and friendly. Breakfast was good too with plenty there if you like a good cooked breakfast :-)
The hotel has a lovely garden with water features and seating and plenty of seating in the main area.
Bar prices reasonable.
The let down was the room, they are in need of a bit of refurbishment, wall paper marked peeling and generally tatty, wardrobe doors that don't slide, mouldy wash area in the bath and shower and the air con was noisy all night but didn't blow cold air, being on a corridor where the heat from the pool made it sauna like it was a shame it didn't blow well (please note this was only room I was in as other guests said theirs worked well). No bathmat was provided to step onto from the shower so it meant either risking slipping on the floor with wet feel or sacrificing a hand towel (which I did) to use to step onto. Although there was an anti slip mat for inside the shower. Unfortunately what bothered me most as I can overlook the rest was the sheets on the bed weren't as clean as I'd liked and had a large brownish stain and the mattress had no protector just a sheet over it. There were also only two very thin pillows.
I do hope the hotel read the reviews because it's a shame the rooms aren't as well presented as the rest of the hotel which really is quite pleasant. They need a little decor and finishing touches to make it just a little fresher.
But if you're planning a wedding - congrats - the food was lovely and enjoyed by all and the venue a great size and serving staff lovely. A great time had by all with no hotel hiccups.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monstertoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are hoping that some decorating will be done to some of the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is requires new beds worst night sleep ever,breakfast cost extra np but was told it from 7am ,err it was ready took another 30mins ,the shower was poor,the bed was older than me ,well felt like it, the bus transfer,was free from airport,but they charge you to go to airport,surely it should be free I just paid to stay at your hotel,regarding breakfast if your vegetarian you don't have a very good choice for the price,

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelaw62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 477 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had a one night stay here prior to catching a plane at Gatwick the following day, I do not think the hotel is as bad a some reviewers have stated , but its not exceptional , the room was adequate, the staff answered and queries i had satisfactorily but not with any passion or conviction and the drinks were on the expensive side. It is a good location probably some 10-15 minutes to the airport by car, and is good for that purpose, but I do not think I would want to stay here for any length of time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andycoldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Do yourself a favour and avoid like the plague.
Not sure where to start. I didn't expect the hotel to be amazing, as it was cheap. However it was dirty, with a old dirty handkerchief under the bed.
The beds were 2 tiny single beds for my husband and I. The kids had very unstable bunk beds. Have not slept a wink, as felt like I was sleeping on a rock.
Wish I'd have listened to other peoples reviews and avoided.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank linzicorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Every person has their own reasons and preferences for staying at the Europa Gatwick, but really it’s a purpose built Hotel to accommodate travellers to park and ride to Gatwick airport.

As a couple we were on a three night stay which included room, breakfast and evening meal with National Holidays on its Windsor / London tour. Having visited this hotel a few years ago we did not hesitate in doing a return visit.

Not much has changed its still affordable and excellent value for money; food is good and plentiful for a quick turnover hotel. Our room was a twin with clean and comfortable beds the bathroom was also very clean plus the cleaning staff kept the room clean and well stocked with beverages packs.

Only one minus point was that we had an adjoining door “not by request” and it was so thin that we could hear next doors conversation lucky enough this only lasted one evening, BUT hey it happens in 5* hotels we have stayed in.

One thing I did take advantage of every morning and evening was the FREE use of the Spindles fitness centre which has its own membership. This is a really well equipped fitness club with a well equipped gym and excellent Sauna and a large indoor swimming pool. Some bonus with our stay.

Would certainly use the hotel again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKC0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

No pillow or mattress protectors on bed, just very thin sheet covering very saggy mattress. Corridors and rooms smelling of cigarette smoke, miserable staff, dingy decor, awful and expensive breakfast. Only plus was that it was reasonably clean. Would never spend another night here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillbilly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#15 of 28 in Crawley
546 reviews
4.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Property: Europa Gatwick Hotel
Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing