We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Having an early flight we booked in. Found easily. Staff efficient but not looking too happy. However we were there just for a purpose. I think all britannia hotels need a good revamp but for the money with parking for 8 days couldn't complain. Room clean. Food ok for what we paid. Just very busy. However the restaurant staff were coping even with some rude customers.
We weren't sure if the parking was secure but had no problems and tge shuttle bus was hassle free

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,615 - 1,621 of 2,935 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Grumpy staff could do with some time off to either get some sleep or indeed think of other employment, rude and unhelpful. Food was unediable and was returned to the kitchen twice, in which the last time we refused to pay for it and go across the road to Coaching Halt. Room was tidy but not clean, bedding was tatty, carpets were in need of new life, room smelt like 30 fags had been smoked in there by the housekeeper.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodTrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

If you’re a bacteria then this hotel is the best as a training camp.

The room had clean sheets I grant you but the rest of the room was YUK. Marks and stains everywhere. Metal surrounding the lamps escaped the cleaning and the TV remote was layered with muck. The bathroom had so many stains, growth around tiles, holes and uncleanness that it should have been condemned. I simply shudder at the thought of the place. Never again will I stay there.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. We do have a Duty Manager on shift at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

room was freezing and smelled of dampness was told the heating came on every 3 hours and when this did not happen was told by someone different it was off now until october and that was that theres nothing can be done so i had to put up with freezing cold room and bed and clothes smelling of damp and breakfast was a nightmare.i asked the barman for sandwiches in the evening as they state they sell food and was told the porter nakes them i asked if the porter had chef skills and hygiene to which he replied its only sandwiches never again would i stay here

Room Tip: stay away unless your an eskimo with anerexia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. The heating is not on this time of year although we do have spare blankets and heaters at Reception. All food handlers have food and hygiene certificate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stay away from this hotel as rooms are terrible and smell, the food is awful and service is diabolical. The so called Spa is not worth it. A very tired hotel with unfriendly staff. Do not waste your time and money unless you want sleepless nights. This has been the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alkarim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed one night on way from London to Brighton. Car park dreadful. Hotel needs refurbishing and a good clean. Food overpriced and menu had just 1 choice for vegetarians. Only 2 tea bags in room! Room so small, double bed pushed up against wall so difficult to get in and out with slight mobility problems. 1 flat pillow each. No wifi in room! We were kept awake until early hours by drunken wedding guests shouting outside. Have stayed before to use as parking for Gatwick. Doubt if we will stay again or recommend. On the plus side, it was cheap so I guess we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dimiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. You had booked a Lodge room which are smaller in size than the main hotel. There is no wifi in any of the bedrooms only in the lobby area. The car park has plenty of spaces all around the hotel, we are not upto our full capacity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel could do with a complete revamp. The corridors smelt of cigarette smoke and the room smelt musky with the hint of pee. The decor was very dated and I don't think it had been cleaned properly in a while. There were hairs in the bath and the tiles were dirty and hadn't even had the grout that was over the tiles cleaned off from when they were done by the looks of it. The Bath curtain rail was filthy and so was the carpet and even the bed smelt. If it hadn't of been that we were attending a wedding reception there we would have complained and left.
However on a positive note the pool did look good and the breakfast was good as well unless you were a vegetarian as it would have limited you. This could be a very nice hotel if anyone running it got the backing of the owners and had it modernised. However that is still no excuse for it being dirty and not cleaned properly. I think someone should look into the standard of cleaning and get it sorted out as soon as possible

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. We do have some smoking and non smoking rooms on the ground floor. We also have a Duty Manager on shift at all times, we certainly would have moved your room for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.5 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#13 of 28 in Crawley
635 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
2.8 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range: £35 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing