We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wedding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We attended a family wedding here this weekend. Lovely hotel well located. Food was nice. Staff were friendly.Downside the room were the ceremony was held was extremely hot (no a/c) and the room were the reception was held was not much better with heat control.

I was told be family who stayed there that the bedrooms were stiffing hot even with the windows opened, as no a/c in the room.

i would like to thank a member of staff for her friendly service and attitude- Viki Seager

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your comments, I will pass your gratitude onto Viki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    284
    465
    408
    1,343
See reviews for
596
1,044
143
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I attended the hotel as a guest for a wedding. I have no idea on pricing but can only hope it was fairly cheap.

On arrival we made our way to the room where the service was to take place. The room was tidy and clean and was of a good size. It was a hot muggy day and the the room lacked ventilation which made it rather unbearable, fortunately we weren't there for long.

After the ceremony we were given drinks and got to experience the lobby area. The lobby is by dated and in need of a real make over. Carpets had tares and the sofas were dated.

We were taken to another room which is where we were served food. The room was very nice and clearly someone had made an effort to dress it. The food was really bad. We had vegetable soup to start which lacked any seasoning and was vid of any flavour. For main we were served a chicken breast. The chicken had been seriously over cooked and then covered I a salty grim gravy.

During the meal I decided to buy a bottle of white wine. The wine list was poor and merely named the brands. When I picked one I was told that it wasn't chilled as this causes the labels to fall of. How the barvtender thought I would believe this is beyond me. I had to go to another bar to eventually find a chilled bottle, however it is clear they don't routinely chill wine. Dessert was profiteroles with a watery chocolate sauce. In summary the food experience was very poor.

The rest of the evening went alright, the do was pretty good.

In summary the hotel is of a poor decorative standard in the communal areas but better in the function rooms. The food was extremely poor and the levels of service mixed. I certainly wouldn't have a wedding here and can only hope they delivered the day on a good budget.

Room Tip: Eat before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brightonstu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately we do not have any air conditioning in the hotel. We know that Saturday was a very hot day and we did have as many windows and doors open as possible. The MC attends every table to make sure that everyone is happy with their food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebbw-vale wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Third stay at this hotel extremely disappointed, the previous stays a few years ago were fine this we'll it's a working mans digs and that's it !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Dirty, run down the list goes on the staff were rude.

Only advice I would give is don't go there really disappointed

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marty1Ebbw_valeWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

My family stayed at this hotel whilst attending a wedding at the Nearby Highley Manor (which was excellent).
I cannot stress how awful the Gatwick Europa was and I never write reviews but I don't want people wasting their money booking this hotel.
We paid for early check in online and arrived to find no rooms available. No apology or organisation to change this was forthcoming. We were offered a room to change in for the wedding and were told that when we got back from the wedding, which would have been around midnight, we could move all our belongings then !!
Finally got rooms sorted and I refused to pay the early check in fee only to find they had dirty carpets, dated and dirty bathrooms and old mattresses. We had to change my fathers room again because someone had just had a cigarette in it !
We ordered some food for the children, only to be served with old pre cooked and heated up potatoes, brown salad and stale crisps. When asked to see the manager he refused to come over to us. We then demanded our money back for the food.
The place was so horrible we decided to give breakfast a miss but took some photos of the reception areas which had old torn brown leather sofas which stank, food crumbs all over the floor and a lone cigarette end lying in the lobby area.
When we told the reception staff how awful the rooms were and how dirty the hotel was, they just said 'oh sorry'.
I would advise anyone who has standards that this hotel is well below par. Try and find a Premier Inn for half the price and double the quality.
Tried to post this review with photos but it won't allow me....funny that!

Room Tip: Don't choose one in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sacha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. We did have an issue with rooms as a couple of housekeepers had gone sick but we did give out rooms as soon as we could, sometimes things happen which is out of our control. No early check in charges were made and no charges made for bar food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here on Saturday night as my cousin was getting married at a Hotel just up the road. We paid an early check in fee but upon arrival we were told that none of the rooms were available, no apology no explanation nothing. It wasn't until we pushed that the GM started to do something about it. When the rooms were finally ready we went upstairs to be greeted by an overwhelming smell of stale smoke in the room, again we had to push for them to do anything about it. We then ordered some food at the bar which turned our to be days old salad which had gone brown and mushy with stale crisps, and something that resembled a cheese and ham toasty. Again these were sent back with no apology form the staff. The place doesn't look as if its had a make over since it was built, it is totally disgusting and unclean throughout. The bed was awful and bowed into the middle. I've read a couple of reviews on here and the Managers response is consistent 'Thank you for your feedback' when in fact he doesn't give a monkeys about your feedback as clearly nothing has been done before or will be done in the future. Stay well clear of this place it's just Shocking!!

Room Tip: If you want a good room don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giles151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. An apology was made to those guests that were waiting for an early check in. Unfortunately due to the hotel being full the previous night, rooms were not available as early as we would have hoped. No early check-in charges were made, also complimentary food was given to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night for a friends wedding , booked early check in only to arrive and be told it was not possible due to lack of housekeeping staff! Had to change in car and wait for taxi, during which time saw a family return the meals ordered from the bar as unable to eat the food given. The manager was berating a member of staff in the lobby in full view of guests sitting in lobby , very unprofessional.Could not get into room until after wedding which was 1am only to be greeted by a very rude and uninterested night receptionist, who treated us like we were disturbing him. Room was dirty, smelt musky and the beds were old. No mattress toppers and thread bare duvets. The carpets were dirty and had marks and worn patches all over. The room was hot and as we were on the ground floor the only air came from old patio style doors which opened fully out onto the car park grounds, not very secure or safe. We had to tie a belt round the handles to prevent from opening wide.
The bathroom was a disgrace, dirty and hair all over bath and basin, towels were dirty. We left before check out deciding not to risk the rusty shower with all the dirt, hair in and around. Absolutely disgusting place, could not wait to get out of there and would never book there again.
To top this off the hotel has the cheek to charge £2 on credit card payments and £0.50 on debit cards !!! What hotel does this ?!! As above avoid at all costs , the hotel should be closed and the staff are so rude and disinterested it's a shocker. What foreign visitors must think of the UK when they stay there is wonder .... Disgusting place

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your commnets. Unfortunately due to a couple of housekeepers reporting sick, this caused tremendous delays in having rooms ready for early check-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Filthy dirty work mens sleep over rooms . Full of work men not a place to bring children or families grotty !!! . Stayed one night slept with clothes on , on top of bed . Never stayed in such a dirty place . Broken furniture in lobby dirty tables foul stench in hall ways and dreadful smell in bedrooms . Spoke to management not interested . Refused refund by management . I will never step foot in there again . Needs total refurb,deep cleanse and a re think about standards . Honestly europa I have been better transport cafés . How can you possibly think this is acceptable and what a dreadful example for foreign visitors to stay in

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janesmithmiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
4.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1.4 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Property: Europa Gatwick Hotel
Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing