We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoking allowed in bedrooms! Grubby Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My boyfriend and myself stayed here prior to an early flight. We paid £39.
When you first walk in, it looks very oldly worldly, which was quite sweet, but when we checked in we were asked if we wanted a smoking room. As we do smoke we thought - why not?! Apparently because the owner also owns the land, he is exempt from the smoking laws in England...?
Oh god, as soon as you walk into the hallway where the smoking rooms are situated it absolutely reeked, and not just of normal legal substances...We dumped our bags and went for dinner and a few drinks in the bar. 2 Portions of fish and chips and 2 beers cost us £20. The meal was tiny and poor quality.
The room had stained, damaged walls. The bath tub could have done with a thorough scrub, or replacement. As we had to get up so early, we just ate, then went straight to sleep as couldn't be bothered with the hassle of changing rooms.
Driving distance to Gatwick in 10 minutes.
Wouldn't stay here again, stayed in the Travelodge previously which was much better quality. Can't comment on the swimming pool as did not use it. The grounds are substantive and very green, but we bumped into a local couple who were using it as a naughty night out, but had our suspicions that the female was charging for her services!
There are bargains to be had around Gatwick, not in this instance. I'd recommend the Travelodge or Premier Inn, or even the Hilton when they have a sale on.

Room Tip: Not in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jimilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We are one of the few hotels in the Gatwick area that still has some smoking rooms. The corridors are certainly not filled with smoke, not all smoking rooms are let every night. We do have a Duty Manager on at all times who would have been more than happy to move your room for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,512 - 1,518 of 2,895 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Europa offers a good place to stop before you travel or if you come back late and want to sleep before driving home! It is comfortable but don't bother with the breakfast as not very nice! Costs £21 for a family of 4 to get transfers to gatwick and back and cost to park the car there for up to 15 days very reasonable which is all. Included in the night stay. Worth a try.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel was in a good enough location-not too far from gatwick airport or the m25 but not too close to either

The room-cant remember what number it was but it was on the first floor and by a car park and main road, loud at night and room was very hot-we were faced with the decision of either having the outside doors open and have the chance of people outside being able to see us and into our room and also hear all the traffic including the shuttle bus and arriving guests or to roast in a boiling room, orpted for open doors in the end which were very stiff to open. The wallpaper was ripped, the 1970s tv recieved about 3 grainy channels and the beds were 2 singles pushed together (not even a double mattress on top) and a very flimsy bunk bed (i was unforturnate to sleep on the bottom, every move would cause the bed to move and at times i felt like it was going to collapse) bathroom was ok, had a bath with shower, basin and a toilet, in all the room was very dated

Didnt get a chance to use the leisure facilities, only stayed at the hotel for no more than 20 hours max

The food-arrived in the afternoon after a 200 mile drive and as you could guess we were all undoubtebly hungry. The dining room was unbearably hot and stuffy, we were going to greece the next day and even in 40 degree heat it was much cooler than europa gatwick. The staff would not tell you what food was there, food was horrible and even though breakfast had been paid for the next day none of us wanted it so we opted for breakfast at gatwick airport

The shuttle bus service however was good and ran on an ourly basis, the driver was prompt
and friendly and on our arrival back to gatwick airport we made our way to the bus stop and within 5 minutes the bus was there. Very good

On our arrival back to the hotel all we had to do was get in the car and leave. Thankfully

I would not come here again. One transfer night was bad enough

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom3790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your commnets. As you arrived in the afternoon and was not happy with your room we certainly would have transferred you to another. We are pleased the shuttle service was satisfactory to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel had good reasobabley priced food which unfortunately is as good as it gets, the room was old and dated, and not too clean, it had a door leading to the room next door which remains unlocked, the gardens we're over grown, the hallway doors were big and heavy which caused lots of noise all through the night, and our bedroom door rattled every time someone walked passed or opened or shut the hall doors, once the noise settled down around 2am we could hear the people above us stomping around there room and shouting out of there balcony which did eventually quite down once we complained to the manager. Finally got to sleep at around 4am and had to be up at 6.30 for our flight. Not the good start we hoped for before our holiday, it was a very stressful UNrelaxing night, could have slept better at the airport. If you want a rubbish night sleep I reccomend this hotel

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank k3vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. The Europa has old furniture in the bedrooms and lobby area. We do have a gardener who works fortnightly. Guests arrive day and night and we would hope that guests would be more considerate when arriving or departing the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

i no its a budget hotel with gatwick parking but i had to change my room 3 times as the smell and dirt in the rooms was beyond believe . i have never stayed anywere that was so dirty ,budget hotel or not ,hairs on the sheets ,smelly rooms, towels with yellow stains on them ,and the cups not washed from the people before,i didnt think places like this were still running

Room Tip: go some were else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank nikkidavies1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry that you had to move rooms. We have passed your comments onto the Housekeeper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Was on coach trip to london- Windsor with national holidays, we only found out we were staying at this hotel 2 days before travelling, after reading reviews we asked them if we could stay in a different hotel, even offered to pay extra without success. This hotel was as the reviews said, dust everywhere, smelly corridors, musty smell in rooms. Beds, bedding, pillows not great. Food was exactly same for the 3 nights of our stay. Public rooms with cob webs, public areas outside have cigarette ends that are never swept up, I could go on and on but will finish with do not stay there of your own choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karendunn1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. If you had brought this to the attention of either Reception or the Duty Manager, a room move would have been offered to you. There are different main dishes served each evening in the Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here over night and it was the worst place I have stayed. The staff were unhelpful and pig lazy and our 'room' was about the size of a wardrobe 4 inches away from a car park. We were charged lots of extra money to upgrade to a regular room and when we tried eating int he restaurant only to be ignored by the waiting staff. I really really wouldn't recommend any one should stay in this place, I'm not fussy, but it was AWFUL, the photos are very misleading.

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debs T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. The Lodge Rooms are small which is stated on our website and with other agents that is why they are cheaper than the main hotel. We also have a Duty Manager on shift at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#14 of 28 in Crawley
616 reviews
3.5 mi away
Da Vinci Manor Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
183 reviews
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.8 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range: £35 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing