We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheap airport hotel, get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 8 April 2009

We stayed here in on 21st Jan before flying out to Egypt the next day.
Not a bad hotel, we paid to use the leisure facilities which were great. Nice swimming pool, sauna and Jacuzzi. There is a gym there too but we didn't use it.
We didn't use the restaurant, we went out for a pub lunch locally as we'd seen the place we wanted to go earlier in the day.
Its easy to find and not far from Gatwick, you can book parking at this hotel however we'd already booked our parking before booking the hotel. They have a shuttle bus that will take you to the airport.
The hotel was undergoing refurbishment/painting during our stay however this in no way affected our stay.
We had a smoking room, however my only bad point about this hotel is that whatever air freshener they use down there is too overpowering, its got a sickly sweet smell. I'm not sure if the non-smoking area area of the hotel is the same.
You get what you pay for here.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evenstar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B_Public_Relations, Public Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2009

Thank you very much for your review. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,644 - 2,650 of 2,895 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2009

Have stayed in the hotel twice now, once many years ago for xmas and this time the night before an early flight. For the £25 we paid the hotel it did the job, very large clean room. Would book again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nic2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B_Public_Relations, Public Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2009

Thank you very much for your review. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

My partner and I stayed overnight here and left our car for 15 nights. The rooms were clean and great for the price we paid. We did not use the restaurant, but the overall look of the hotel was very welcoming and friendly.
The transfers to and from the airport were fine – we has an hour wait for a bus back to the hotel on our return but this was okay,
We would use this hotel again although we may look for one with more regular transfers back to the hotel depending on the cost.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B_Public_Relations, Public Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2009

Thank you very much for your review. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

Great start to our holiday in Egypt will use again. transfer to airport great and room nice and bed comfy. Staff very helpful .

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwears2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B_Public_Relations, Public Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2009

Thank you very much for your review. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

We have just returned from holiday and stayed at the Europa on 3rd January and again on our return on 1st March. We previously stayed in November.
Once again we cannot fault this hotel for cleanliness, food and service.
We have travelled extensively and are at a loss to understand why visitors are unhappy.
There are loads of lovely white fluffy towels, bath and shower requisites, plenty of very hot water, tea, coffee etc.
All in all an excellent, value for money hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baggybaglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B_Public_Relations, Public Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2009

Thank you very much for your review. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

Got a great price for this hotel.
Stayed for one night prior to early morning flight.
Very easy to find, just off M23. Airport about 10-15mins away.
Large car park but busy. cars parked haphazardly.
main hotel areas clean and well decorated but rooms could do with updating. Bathroom quite run down but ok for one night stay.
Some rooms face M23 and there is some noise at night. If you are a light sleeper, request room at front of hotel.
Onsite fitness centre, but extra charge even for pool and kids not allowed in after 6.30.
Hotel restaurant expensive. We did not eat there but food we saw looked nothing special and overcooked. About 10 mins drive to centre of Crawley were there are plenty of places to eat. There was a pub about 1/2mile from hotel.
Would stay again for one night if price was cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwyrydN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B_Public_Relations, Public Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2009

Thank you for your review. We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations. We are pleased to know that housekeeping was up to our usual high standards. Whilst our Spindles health club accommodates hotel guests and the general public with membership, there is a small charge for use of the facilities and there are regulations in place for health and safety purposes. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our services and standards and we thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

We were a large group so there was confusion over booking in. But the Desk Staff could have been friendlier. Some of us wanted to use the hotel facilities (the swimming pool and sauna), I could not believe that you had to pay to use these facilities when staying at the hotel - quite a walk in the cold too. We had a bar snack and the food was good and reasonably priced but it has to be one of the coldest bar areas I have ever been in. The rooms again were standard but clean and tidy. The biggest problem, personally, is that they didn't explain that their buses do not do airport runs as frequently as the other hotels in the area - during the hour and a half wait after our 11 hour flight we saw three or four buses some of their rival hotels - apparently they don't see a need to put on buses mid-morning!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B_Public_Relations, Public Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2009

Thank you for your review. We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you felt that staff were unhelpful and can assure you this was not their intention.

Whilst our Spindles health club accommodates hotel guests and the general public with membership, there is a small charge for use of the facilities and there are regulations in place for health and safety purposes. It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed the food however; your comments regarding room temperature have been passed to the relevant department for investigation.

The coach service operated by a separate company on behalf of Britannia Hotels is on a 24hr loop and must adhere to a strict timetable, traffic and weather permitting. Driver's breaks and shift changeovers are calculated in the bus timetable but we apologise for any inconvenience caused and we hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our services and standards and we thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#15 of 28 in Crawley
615 reviews
3.5 mi away
Da Vinci Manor Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
183 reviews
1.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.8 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range: £35 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing