We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Europa wedding” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Europa Gatwick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Europa wedding”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Having booked at this hotel for a wedding I had an idea that things might not be amazing when I saw the price (around £50 mark in this part of the world...) and I was/wasn't disappointed. However this review could take 2 tacks; 1 for the hotel in terms of the stay, and another for the wedding we attended.

First off, the wedding. It seemed to us that our friends had been well taken care of, and the food, rooms and service were all of a good standard. Not sure if there really was any need to have a display stand showing prices for weddings right outside the main room. As a wedding day I couldn't find any major faults. Plenty of outside space for photos as well.

Now, the accommodation. Quite simply foul. Dirty, scratched, out-dated, stained and ropey are but a few words I would use to describe the rooms. Friends of ours paid for a superior room, which did indeed have extra space with a sitting room. Trouble was EVERY SINGLE chair and sofa had some form of stain on it. The rooms are hugely out of date and with the rubbish TV's, limescale ridden bathrooms and ugly dark wood furniture there was nothing good about them. After ringing down for an iron I was told they didn't provide them, but there is an ironing room on every floor. Seriously, it was a tiny box room with 2 bare (ie. no cover) ironing boards and irons hard wired into the wall. And, despite the hard wired irons the notice on the wall read 'Do not take the irons to the sink!!!!!!'. Stacks of dirty linen and general hotel detritus had been left in there.

All round: Great wedding, AWFUL accommodation!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyMcBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    278
    457
    403
    1,329
See reviews for
585
1,037
140
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

After a long day we arrived at the Europa Gatwick only to find that thew booking agent had booked us into the hotel under a completely different name. The girls at reception sorted the problem out and were extremely understanding. Big thank you to them. We had a great night at the hotel with a good buffet dinner and full English breakfast which set us up for our flight abroad. If you book a breakfast etc. do it on Arrival and chrck in as it is much cheaper than therough booking agent. Great value hotel. Very clean. Great staff. Would recommend. Special mention to Jennifer and the girls ion reception for making our stay trouble free.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemsedal, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Prior to a trip abroad last week with a very early start myself and my partner stayed at the Europa. Having stayed here three times before we knew that there can be ups and downs- although personally its always been ups for us! On arrival we heard other guests being more than vile to the check in staff who although clearly undertrained, did not deserve the abuse they were recieving! It seemed some of the rooms although appearing clean on the system were not... We worried that this was a bad omen however our own check in was quick and friendly and we were directed to a room along the rabbit run of coridors. Our room was great, clean, warm and perfectly turned out for a budget airport hotel. The bathroom was clean and the beds had well ironed fresh linen. For £40 for the night room only for the two of us, it seemed like a great bargain all round. We went to the bar for a few drinks and something to eat and found that this is where they make back the money on the cheap rooms- Although not London prices it was around £12 for two double spirit and mixers. The food was pleasant and rather cheap for the portion sizes however! When we asked for an ice bucket to take to the room the young lad behind the bar was quick to run off to organise one for us. Due to our early departure i nipped to reception to ask for a taxi number and the lady was lovely enough to ring one for me and sort out a call so we wouldnt miss it in the morning. Good value, and a pleasing experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pebbles201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

Having read the reviews AFTER we booked this hotel we were dreading the weekend!
However we had a great stay and the hotel was excellent value for money. It is one standard below a Holiday Inn type hotel, but the room, food, staff were all good. It was clean and both breakfasts and evening meals were very tasty with plenty of choice. It wasn't busy while we were there so maybe that had something to do with the better service we received.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfamily10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

We arrived late at Gatwick and had booked the room on line the same day. To begin with the staff couldn't find the booking and wanted to charge us again even though we had the booking number. The first room we were showed to had pubic hairs all over the bathroom so we asked to be moved. The second room was damp and dirty and had a funny smell but we were so tired we decided we couldn't be bothered to move again. In the morning the water was cold so we couldn't have a shower. We went to have breakfast but discovered it was £25 for two. What a rip off. Will never book or go there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

After searching the web for a hotel where we could park the car for a week and stay the night to relax before our flight, my boyfriend and I couldn't believe our luck at finding the 'Britania Europa' at a reasonable price. The photos looked beautiful and we really believed we were to be starting our holiday early by staying here...WRONG!!

After arriving at the hotel at about 4pm on the Saturday afternoon, we found parking to be an absolute joke. Cars were parked on double yellow lines, in bushes, blocking other cars in...nightmare!! We finally found a space alongside a bush, so I tucked the car in enough to ensure it wouldn't be battered and bruised by the time we got back - a space so tight my 6ft4 boyfriend had to climb over the seats and out of the drivers side - Not a good look!!

But nonetheless, stressing aside...we went to check in for the night. All in all the staff were polite enough, answering the question of "Where should we park if there are no spaces in your designated car park?" with "You'll just have to keep driving around, eventually you will find one", and.."What if we are parked on double yellows?" with "Your car will be towed away". Gutted!!

So..on to the room we went, this was situated in the separate "Britanina Lodge" - GROSS! No lifts, which meant my boyfriend had to carry our cases up the stairs while I begrudingly lead the way to our room.

Now on to the room itself, outdated is an understatement!! Tiny little room with a 'double' bed that was just a bit bigger than a standard single - squash!!! The TV was the smallest box thing i've seen since the 1980's and the 'portraits' on the wall? I'd be ashamed if even my granny entertained such muck as that!!...But it was clean, which was a relief after reading previous reviews on here (If only I had done so BEFORE booking!!).

The food in the bar was surprisingly quite nice, and the pool table and swimming pool in the leisure centre were ok. But would I stay here again? Not if you paid me!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

Europa Gatwick have implemented a policy to charge £2 for using your debit or credit card for any transaction regardless of the amount. Therefore in reality they only want cash transactions. Beware, there is no cash machine in the hotel, nearest one if a mile away.

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank h0teldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.7 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.7 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
4.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
2.8 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Property: Europa Gatwick Hotel
Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Lastminute and Superbreak UK so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick
Europa Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing