We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for Gatwick airport, but only OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Okay for Gatwick airport, but only OK”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Location, as others have said, you need to be careful on arrival as the entry is off a slip road onto a dual carriageway... if we hadn't known exactly where we were going or if the traffic were bad you could easily miss the entrance. Bigger signage would help! So would some advanced signage if it could be arranged.

Check in, fine.

Bar... a bit soul-less and definitely pricey. The prices were top class hotel prices but the bar area wasn't up to top class scratch. If I remember right, about a tenner for a G&Tand a pint of keg lager. Noisy TV showing football and not enough quiet seating to avoid it.

Restaurant... again, a bit soul-less, food not really up to the hotel's aspiration, can't comment on the cost as it was an all-in package but the wine was at usual markup, the bottle we selected was okay, nothing spectacular and still around the £20 mark.

Room... we had a room with no view... looked out onto the roof and skylights so couldn't see very much, which didn't matter as it was dusk when we arrived and dark when we left. But there were lights on on the roof so we had to have the (blackout) curtains drawn. Room was noisy as it was near the lift and right by a fire door off the lift area that banged every time people went through it. I know, a fire door and having anything keeping it open spreads the lift noise further... but a soft closer wouldn't go amiss. Room lighting gloomy... no central light, just bedside and table lights. In the bathroom I was surprised that there were wall mounted squeeze dispensers for shower gel, shampoo and hand wash, not what I'd expect at this rating but it all worked and was clean. Wifi (if we'd used it) was standard expensive public hotspot pricing which given how little it's provision costs... used the data connection on the 'phone instead.

Checkout in the wee small hours fine, could have had the overpriced 'breakfast' offering that was available pre 7am but decided to wait until we got to the airport to get something better (and cheaper and less rushed).

Overall, adequate hotel for the airport for one night, price OK on the deal we found including parking at Gatwick Long Term but anything off-deal was expensive. I wouldn't recommend this as a hotel for staying in more than 1 night, it's got limited and very ho-hum public space and though the staff are mostly efficient the service is no more than efficient, no smiles, they're just doing their job but not really enjoying doing it.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts, 2nd floor on the side we were on had no view, so higher floors would be better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank houninym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony F, Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your stay with us.

At Ramada Plaza London Gatwick it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants.
Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.
Our Bar & Restaurant Prices are in line with High street restaurant & bar and to make more value for money we have various offers and most popular one is 02 for £10 Lunch offer.
Our pre booked breakfast price is £7.50 for full English breakfast, which is you can eat as much you like, again it the very competitive rate in the market place.
I must reiterate that we have several value offers in our hotel website and we constantly updating it.

I have discussed the comments with my team and they have taken the feedback very positively and will work on the smile factor and on the same note they are happy that you find them efficient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    623
    277
    118
    78
See reviews for
373
838
64
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ventura67
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Allocated a room which was SO noisy-sounded like they were flushing out the heating. The heating in the room was off but room stifling. Rang reception had to chase for assistance. Took nearly 40 minutes at 10pm (had to be up at 4am) to get moved-to another room which was equally as bad! Duty Manager really no use. Basically no sleep. The GM of this hotel needs to carry out staff training and more thorough maintenance checks! Shambolic Ramada.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ventura67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony F, General Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
dear Guest...further to your review please accept apologies. We do attempt to keep our room maintenance issues to a minimum and am sorry that this was not the case during your stay.
If you would contact me directly on gm,@ramadahotelgatwick.co.uk I would be please to try and restore your confidence in our brand...just quote your booking reference and contact details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

i stayed a night here as part of a business trip, to start with access to the hotel is hard to find, you can easily pass the small sign and end up on a bypass. The rooms are ok but fairly basic compared to holiday express.The view of the sussex hills and planes taking off was nice. Breakfast was fantastic, a great choice of food all tasting good. The evening meal was nice especially the rissoto, drinks were very expensive. When i stayed the fire alarm went off and the staff continued as normal for a while before trying to empty the building which considering the size could have been serious is there had have been a fire.my end of stay bill was wrong with other peoples meals and drinks on my bill.

Room Tip: ask for a view overlooking the hills and the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ourpetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony F, General Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you for your constructive review. I rooms have all facilities and services that we publicize including internet access, a/c , flat screen tv and are among the largest guest rooms available in gatwick. The view to the airport as you note is very good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We booked a triple bedded room for the night before our flight to Orlando. It was the best Gatwick hotel we have stayed at so far - very clean and comfortable beds with good bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities. We even had a view out to playing fields.

We did not use the shuttle bus. As there were 3 of us it was more convenient and no more expensive to get a taxi. Overall it was very good value to park our car there for 2 weeks.

The downside - the fire alarm going off at midnight and having to walk down the emergency staircase in pyjamas - but that could have happened anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsnoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony F, General Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you for your review we aim to offer value and good service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We decided to use this hotel as we were flying out of Gatwick.
It was part of a package which included 2 weeks parking with APH.
Check-in and checking out was fairly efficient.
The room and bathroom were clean and functional.
However I had major issues with the hotel that will stop me staying again.
The first problem was that there were no tea making facilities.
We were forced to use the bar which was expensive a cup of hot chocolate was £3 and there was 3 of us.
Perhaps that is the reason for no kettle in the room.

The next issue was the cost of parking.
We stayed for 9 hours and were charged £12, which I feel is a rip off as there was no mention of parking charges when booking.
To make matters worse the machine would only accept cash as the credit card reader was not working.
Even more annoying the machine would only take £5 and £10 notes.
All when you are trying to get to the airport early in the morning.
Needless to say I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Homeboy_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony F, General Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you for your review. Tea and Coffee facilities are included in all guest rooms and inside the cupboard alongside the work desk / dressing table. A latte chocolate is £3 ..similar to the high street . Parking is £5 per night for residents and could have been paid at check out. If you would like to send me your contact details I would be pleased to refund the £7. gm@ramadahotelgatwick.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We find the hotel really easy to get to. The rooms are always spacious and clean with very comfortable beds. We enjoy the food in the restaurant and have always been very pleased with the service, however the discount given just covers the service charge that is added at the end!
Bar is a good place to chill after your meal. Airport Bus prompt and reasonable price.
Worth a mention, Tesco superstore is just a short walk down the road. Very handy.
Whenever we fly from Gatwick, we start our holiday here the night before with a Maple Meet and Greet parking usually arranged through Holiday extras or Thomas Cook. Excellent overall value.
Park the car at the hotel, they collect and then when we return, we are met at the airport with our car. Such a relaxing way to finish the holiday too. Never yet had to wait around for long before the car arrives.
Overall, very pleased. Roll on the next holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavenPaulaSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony F, General Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thankyou for your response it is always a pleasure to here such brilliant feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel is very easy to find no problem parking at hotel . Booking in was fast and simple. The room was clean and very comfy . The bathroom looked very tied in need of a re vamp but ok .The bar down stairs is a great place to chill out would i stay again thats a big yes .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westhamdave33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony F, General Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you for your positive response , always a pleasure to hear that we are getting our service levels right for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.3 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
2.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel

Property: Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Address: Three Bridges 18 Tinsley Lane South, Crawley RH10 8XH, England (Formerly Ramada Plaza London Gatwick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#11 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#12 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the beautifully appointed 151 bedrooms at our hotel near Gatwick airport has air conditioning, an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed Internet access.Savour a relaxing meal in the Brassiere Restaurant, which serves contemporary modern food in stylish surroundings or take it easy in our friendly Club Bar. Alternatively hit the gym in the on-site fitness centre to shake off any jetlag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Ramada Hotel Crawley
Ramada Hotel Plaza Gatwick
Ramada Crawley
Crawley Ramada
Ramada Plaza Gatwick
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing