We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners, new level of service, best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Horam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“New owners, new level of service, best location”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I am familiar with the Sandman brand for my holidays in Vancouver, Canada, and in Newcastle UK, which I have reviewed for Trip Advisor, so I was quite keen to try Sandman's latest acquisition for a weekend break. This ex-Ramada hotel is easy to find on the main road network without going into Crawley town, and is walkable from Three Bridges main line train station (easy 20 minutes alongside main road) though probably not with baggage. We went out to Brighton by train for Saturday afternoon.
Having made myself known as a Sandman regular for some years, and now a senior by age (well over 55!), we were upgraded to an "Executive" room on the first floor. The bed was perfectly clean and comfortable, though I hope that in time this will be replaced by one of those huge comfy super-king Sandman beds from Canada.

In the bathroom I liked the full-size deep bath with two grab handles and two soap-holders on the tiled wall, the adjustable fixed shower-head and a retractable clothes-drying line over the bath. Somehow when showering I managed to wet the floor, so either I should be more careful or the shower curtain was too flimsy or short. The complimentary toiletries made in Italy were good, making your reviewer "Old rambler" uncharacteristically fragrant.

My room had a trouser press, ironing board and iron, fridge, hair dryer, kettle and complimentary teas, instant coffees and biscuits. On cleanliness my usual "sofa test" passed 100% - no actual sofa but I looked behind and under the furniture for dust and dirt - none.

The "full English" cooked breakfast in the restaurant on our first morning was made of good quality components and especially black pudding, but I could have had a salmon fillet and egg "special", one of several healthier options.

The car park was well-lit; good block-paved surface; easy entry and exit to main roads.

I viewed the free gym and the swimming pool (ready to re-open soon) which the hotel's new owners have refurbished to excellent standard. The Fire Escape stairs seemed OK in case we needed them (as another reviewer did on a false alarm, so I read).

The air-conditioning and heating were not exactly to our liking, but better to be too warm than cold in January; and the TV was poor (only 5 channels, sub-standard picture) - all being put right soon, so I learnt.

On Front Desk, supervisor Selicia handled the all-important welcome and check-out perfectly. In short, this hotel is ideal as a destination for my next holiday - even though it is only an hour's drive from home!

Room Tip: Our First-floor room facing the park was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldrambler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony F, Guest Relations Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear oldrambler62
Thank you for visiting the Sandman Signature London Gatwick,

Reading your response, I would like to say how pleased I am with how your stay went.
As you are familiar with Sandman properties we take your response seriously and take on board any tips you think might help us with our future developments with the company.

I’m delighted your enjoyed your breakfast- we seem to be pleasing many people with this!
I’m also delighted that Selicia made such a good first impression on you

As you are aware, we will be going through refurbishment later this year, we sincerely hope to see you soon after the hotel has been full rebranded as the Sandman Signature London Gatwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    623
    278
    118
    78
See reviews for
373
839
64
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Very musty pillow, reported it to reception when leaving, who said they would attend to it. only two tea bags, one small soap for two people, food and service excellent, lovely atmosphere in party room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony F, Guest Relations Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Lesley B

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is through genuine feedback like this that helps us succeed in our mission to deliver an outstanding service to our guests.

I’m glad you enjoyed your party and found the service excellent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Booked through holiday extras for the night before our holiday, as location is convenient for airport but not on top of it!!
Friendly quick check in and given 10% discount if we ate in the hotel, which we took them up on, eating in the restaurant. The food was very tasty and with plenty of choice and reasonably priced. The serving staff were also very friendly and efficient.
We had a good nights comfortable sleep, and as we checked out in the morning the receptionist authorised our car park ticket as there is no charge for overnight guests.
Would definitely use again when travelling from Gatwick

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wiltssazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony F, Guest Relations Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Wiltssazzy

Thank you for your lovely review. I’m so pleased you found your overnight stay at the Sandman Signature London Gatwick enjoyable.

I am also pleased to hear the staff were so friendly and efficient, and found your evening meal to be tasty- I shall pass the compliments on to the Chef!

Hope to see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Good value for money. it's a bit far from Gatwick Airport, however if you take a train to Three Bridges it is 10 mins walk. GPS send us through very strange place. When I booked it through Expedia it said free swimming pool but there is no pool. Clean room, nice staff, good room size. For 4* I would expect a bit more but still happy. Furniture a bit old, bed comfortable, no shower gel in the room. It is ok for overnight stay before you fly. Contact hotel for cheap taxi. I would recommend.

Room Tip: Good night sleep for overnight stay before you fly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piotr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony F, Guest Relations Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Piotr21

I’m happy to hear your stay at the Sandman Signature London Gatwick was comfortable and you found our staff pleasant.

Regarding the swimming pool, we have closed it for refurbishment but hope to open again very soon!
If you do require any additional supplies for your room, if you ask our staff we are more than happy to help you

We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night before flight. Booked through airports extra. Check in and out very efficient. Used room service and food very good and didn't have to wait long. Beds very comfortable slept very well. Breakfast the following day very tasty.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony F, Front Office Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for your good review.

We are hear that you had a comfortable night stay and enjoyed the breakfast before your flight. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Nice hotel well situated for Gatwick Airport. Very efficient reception and good sized comfortable rooms. Typical pub grub but outrageous bar prices.
During the night the cold water supply went off so only scalding hot baths and showers and no toilet flush. Not their fault, it could happen anywhere. Prompt and sympathetic response but where do you find a plumber at 5 a.m.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to an executive room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony F, Director of Sales at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you found our staff so efficient and the rooms such a good size.
We did indeed have a problem with the water supply on the night of your stay, please do accept our apologies for this issue that was beyond our control.
Should you choose to stay with us again please do email me directly so I can offer you a complimentary upgrade! wknibbs@sandmanhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOLKESTONE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We booked this hotel at Gatwick so we could have a good night’s sleep before our morning flight. Our room was 517 which fell well below expectation for a four star hotel. On entering the room it was very cold, the TV and telephone did not work. When I telephoned the reception from my mobile to complain the response was unhelpful, dismissive remained unresolved. The beds had one small pillow and a very thin duvet which considering the cold room was inadequate. There was also no heating in the bathroom and it was so cold we couldn’t take a shower and had to resort to a wash down at the sink.

At 03.30 the fire alarm went off and we had to evacuate the hotel. On leaving the room the emergency exit signs were not clear and in our disorientated state had to hunt for the stairs. When going down, along with many others, we got stuck behind a disabled woman on crutches. Why a disabled person would be allocated a room above the first floor is beyond me.

We existed the building at the back into a very dark loading bay area which was strewn with discarded creates, plastic water bottles and rubbish. There was also a step down the curb and due to the poor lighting and other debris trip hazards were plentiful. Several people did in fact trip but managed not to fall but unfortunately one poor middle aged man fell flat on his face. I helped him to his feet and he was clearly very shaken and upset.

Having reached the assembly point we were left standing in the cold wind and drizzling rain for half an hour before being allowed back in. During this time no register was taken, we were not provided with any information and on returning to the hotel there was no attempt made to offer an apology for the disturbance. When I enquired about the problem was I greeted with a very surly and blunt “It was a false alarm”.

Needless to say I was unable to get back to sleep which defeated the point of staying at a hotel in the first place.

The next morning I raised my concerns about the state of the area leading from the emergency exit and the lack of lighting. The young man behind the reception became argumentative and although he acknowledged there were creates and other debris strewn around he insisted there was a working security light. If this was in fact the case it was clearly not sufficient for the job of providing illumination for many evacuating guests in the middle of the night.

We regularly stay overnight at Gatwick before taking a flight and this has to be my worst experience to date. I have not let this put me off but will certainly not being staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANTHONY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony F, Director of Sales at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
We are disappointed to see you had such a negative experience during your stay with us. We are taking your feedback very seriously and looking into the issues you raised.
So we can discuss this further to assist our investigation could you please contact me directly? wknibbs@sandmanhotels.co.uk
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.3 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
2.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel

Property: Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Address: Three Bridges 18 Tinsley Lane South, Crawley RH10 8XH, England (Formerly Ramada Plaza London Gatwick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#11 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#12 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the beautifully appointed 151 bedrooms at our hotel near Gatwick airport has air conditioning, an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed Internet access.Savour a relaxing meal in the Brassiere Restaurant, which serves contemporary modern food in stylish surroundings or take it easy in our friendly Club Bar. Alternatively hit the gym in the on-site fitness centre to shake off any jetlag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Ramada Hotel Crawley
Ramada Hotel Plaza Gatwick
Ramada Crawley
Crawley Ramada
Ramada Plaza Gatwick
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing