We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just for one night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just for one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

stayed before flying on holidays since it was cheaper to stay and park there than to park at the airport.The food was below average and the room wasn't very nice neither.It did the trick for staying close to the airport.There is no transfer service but they call a taxi for you and on the way back you have to call the taxi to get pick back from the airport. Next time we will look for something closer.
very difficult when checking in,was given three types of info regarding the parking.Please ask for the ticket you need to put on you car's dashboard and make sure your parking ticket is validated.The first person I encountered didn't explain this however she was training a new member of staff(ironic)
Staff at the bar very nice and the latin guy made everybody smiled with his great attitude and jokes

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valeriacristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SapnaRM, Guest Services Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear valeriacristina

I am disappointed to hear that you didn’t have a very good stay.

I believe the package you booked was from our website, it’s true that you have to book a taxi to and from the airport. We do not advertise a shuttle service as they had cancelled about this time last year which is why we use a local taxi company who give discounts for our staff.

I’m pleased the staff you encountered in the bar made a good impression on you.

If you wish to discuss you stay with me, please email me: gsm_gatwick@sandmanhotels.co.uk

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    584
    262
    108
    74
See reviews for
346
773
59
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed Here for one night pre flight, our one lasting impression was the overpowering heat in the room. The AC was already set to its coolest setting, but the room was uncomfortably hot and stuffy. We turned the AC off but as the windows don't open this made for a stuffy night. Beds were ok but pillows really thin.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SapnaRM, Guest Services Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear MrMrsW50

I’m really sorry that you did not have a comfortable night’s stay at the hotels.

Just to let you know, if you are having any issues with your room, our reception is manned 24hrs with staff who are more than happy to assist you. If you wish to discuss this with me further, email me on: gsm_gatwick@sandmanhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We used the hotel as a pre-flight stopover as we were on a red-eye flight! Hotel itself was a little tired but we had a Large Bed, Clean Room, Great value included Airparks Parking, Would recommend. Flight was too early for breakfast!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ginufette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SapnaRM, Guest Services Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Ginufette

Thank you for staying at the Sandman Signature London Gatwick,

I’m really happy to hear you had a good overall stay and I wish to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night last month before flying out from Gatwick the next day.
The inside of the hotel does not live up in any way to the outside impression. The rooms were tired and outdated, and incredibly warm, but as mentioned on another review recently the air conditioning was so noisy that there absolutely no chance of sleeping with it on.
The walls were also very thin, so could hear every noise from the surrounding rooms.
The breakfast though was fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SapnaRM, Guest Services Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear SANDGJ

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay

I am sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations; however because of all valuable guest feedback we are currently renovating the hotel to become up to date.
I hope you chose to stay with us once we have fully refurbished the property

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Big room, big bed, clean and tidy. Good breakfast with plenty of choice and friendly staff.

We used the hotel the night before flying to our holiday and got a good rate plus not far from car drop off point.

Will use again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rsims31792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SapnaRM, Guest Services Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear rsims31792

Thank you for staying at the Sandman Signature London Gatwick

I’m glad everything went well with your stay and I hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Previously the Ramada, the Sandman has retained its pleasant and understated ambience which makes it an excellent choice for an overnight stay before/after a flight. Main tip is to book directly with the hotel if you want to use the hotel carpark - if you book with a car parking company (eg APH) you have to drop your car off at another car park which add to transit time. the bonus is that the bus transits are free, whilst, if you are at the hotel, you need to get a taxi in as there is no shuttle bus - I think that this is a bit of an oversight by the management. If you do have to use a cab, don't use the airport taxis unless you want to be ripped off - they are at least 60% more expensive than calling a local firm like Metro cars.
As for the hotel, the rooms are comfortable and clean, the bar is pleasant and the food is good both in the evenings and for breakfast. Staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SapnaRM, Guest Services Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Uvdalman

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Sandman Signature London Gatwick

I’m pleased you had a good stay overall and found our staff pleasant

The shuttle service that used to run to and from the hotel was operated by an independent company which they then decided to stop offering May last year- something which we could not control

We do in fact work with a local taxi company who offer our guests discount prices to and from Gatwick.

Thank you once again and hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel the day before we were flying. We booked the car park and the hotel together on the Airparks website and the pictures on their website made it a lot more incising
The bar staff were lovely. We had food in the bar and it was really nice and the price was reasonable.

The room was tired looking and was outdated. The room was very hot but the air conditioning was too loud to have on and sounded like a generator. I didn’t have a very good sleep and was awoken by the fire alarm going off at 5.45am! It went off more than once.

Due to our early morning wake up call we went down for breakfast at 7am. It didn’t start till half 7. Was not impressed. As this is a hotel that is situated near the airport we thought that the breakfast would start early accommodate people who were on early morning flights.

We got a sarcastic apology from reception about the fire alarm going off.

Will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beccab0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SapnaRM, Guest Services Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Beccab0310

Thank you for your review

I’m pleased you enjoyed your meal and found the bar staff pleasant

I’m disappointed to hear that you did not have a satisfactory evening and your sleep disturbed by the fire alarm.

In regards to the breakfast, we operate later on the weekends to comply with later timings with the airport as guests check out later in the day. We do offer early continental breakfasts for those not able to make the later times.

I apologise about the fire alarm; we at the hotel must treat every case serious until we know the cause of the alarm is.

If you wish to discuss this with me further, please email me at: gsm_gatwick@sandmanhotels.co.uk

Kind Regards
Sapna Mistry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.3 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel

Property: Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Address: Three Bridges 18 Tinsley Lane South, Crawley RH10 8XH, England (Formerly Ramada Plaza London Gatwick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#11 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#12 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the beautifully appointed 151 bedrooms at our hotel near Gatwick airport has air conditioning, an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed Internet access.Savour a relaxing meal in the Brassiere Restaurant, which serves contemporary modern food in stylish surroundings or take it easy in our friendly Club Bar. Alternatively hit the gym in the on-site fitness centre to shake off any jetlag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Superbreak UK and Expedia so you can book your Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Ramada Hotel Crawley
Ramada Hotel Plaza Gatwick
Ramada Crawley
Crawley Ramada
Ramada Plaza Gatwick
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing