We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for Gatwick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Arrived late afternoon enjoyed drinks in bar and later a reasonable meal in restaurant. Clean room with nice comfy bed and coffee making facilities. Reception staff friendly and welcoming. The only concern was on arrival it was stated in the car park we would have to pay for parking which we were not aware of having book hotel and airport parking. However when at reception they told us as a special offer for that day parking was free. Other than that a great overnight hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SapnaRM, Guest Service Manager at Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Michelle N

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Sandman Signature London Gatwick

I'm pleased everything went well with your stay and you enjoyed your meal in the bar

Kind Regards
Sapna Mistry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,215 - 1,221 of 1,898 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Booked this through Holiday Extras at a rate that put doubt in my mind over the quality of the hotel. I was however pleasantly surprised and had an enjoyable evening and overnight stay. I can only assume that the rate was an introductory one based on new ownership? Both my wife and I enjoyed both dinner and breakfast and the menus was certainly way above the burger and chips that some of these airport hotels seem to specialize in. The public rooms were clean and in good condition as were the bedrooms. As stated by others, the only real negative was the air conditioning in the bedrooms and corridors, though this did not seem to affect the Bar and Restaurant areas. There were no noise issues in the room we were allocated, which had a lovely view over school playing fields with the airport in the middle distance. Service throughout our stay was excellent though they did seem understaffed at Reception. I arrived and left at quiet periods, but comments made by other reviewers about Reception delays are perhaps understandable. Travel to the airport was straitforward taking no more than 10 minutes and it was easily accessable from the M23 on arrival on the previous day. It may be helpful to some, to know that there is a 24 hour Tesco supermarket about 1/4 mile down the road from the hotel, where prices for those items we all seem to have forgotten can be purchased far cheaper than at the airport.
All in all, a good booking decision with the only negative being the poor airconditioning

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allblackingwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Booked for an overnight stay with airport parking which was good value and very convenient for airport it was all very smooth from check in to check out. Hotel room very clean. Food we thought was over priced in the restaurant for the type of hotel it was. The main downfall at hotel was how hot it was throughout hotel and especially our room couldn't believe the windows don't open at all we just needed some fresh air really spoilt the chance of a good nights sleep.
Doubt would stay here again as there is other hotel/airport packages for around same price at better hotels

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Love this hotel for flying from gatwick. This is our second time here room was large clean and comfortable. Only problem this time couldn't get tv to work. My only negative about this hotel is the restaurant prices way too expensive

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Check in was easy and very helpful. When we got to room it was unlocked. Check to ensure closed when we leave. Had chicken and chips in bar. Chicken was beautiful chips portion was about 8 chips beautifully presented in a bucket. Portion could be slightly more. Got 10% off food for being a resident. Then charged £3 service charge.
I really don't understand a compulsory service charge. How can we have the food if they don't serve it? It was a compulsory charge!
Room nice and clean. Fan provided as weather warm which is a nice touch.
Good location to start holiday.
Parking at hotel good before heading off to airport parking.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mobsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here before our flight at gatwick, was told it would £8 in taxi when I booked and it was not it was £12.
Anyway, good location not to close to airport, a Toby carvery and other resturants all within a 5 min drive and they are much more reasonably priced for food.
The room was spacious, although our family room was a bed a sofa bed and a camp bed?! This is not how it is advertised online, but for one night I found it sufficient.
The room was very stuffy, and you can't open the window and lack of working ac made it horrible.
The Buffett breakfast was as you expect and the same as any other hotel I've been to!
For the price with meet and greet parking I had a good deal, I doubt I would choose it again though I'd probably go back to the marriott.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazabex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed one night in preparation for a flight and would have been better off camping.
The room was spacious and luxurious, as the hotel claims to be, but it was also very hot. There are no windows to open and the air conditioning has two settings; loud and off.
The heat issue extends to the pool where the changing rooms were turned up to Bikram yoga standards. Seriously unpleasant.
The reception is placed in an odd position right by the bar and restaurant - two separate rooms - which was a bit unpleasant as both were busy. I didn't use the restaurant because it was the same as being in the bar - they were too close.
It doesn't haven't an airport shuttle, which had been claimed on the third party website I booked the room on. This is a growing, irritating trend. It does offer a good deal - half price - with a local taxi firm, but I unearthed this too late for getting to the hotel.
Overall, this hotel is presently selling itself as a bit better than it is. Without the swimming pool, it's no more luxurious than a Premier Inn. I won't be staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thestone_fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.3 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.4 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
2.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
2.1 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel

Address: Three Bridges 18 Tinsley Lane South, Crawley RH10 8XH, England (Formerly Ramada Plaza London Gatwick)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Crawley
#11 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £62 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the beautifully appointed 151 bedrooms at our hotel near Gatwick airport has air conditioning, an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed Internet access.Savour a relaxing meal in the Brassiere Restaurant, which serves contemporary modern food in stylish surroundings or take it easy in our friendly Club Bar. Alternatively hit the gym in the on-site fitness centre to shake off any jetlag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Ramada Hotel Crawley
Ramada Hotel Plaza Gatwick
Ramada Crawley
Crawley Ramada
Ramada Plaza Gatwick
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing