We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for Contractors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Crawley Gatwick
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 20 September 2011

As a business traveller I dont mind staying in contractor hotels that much and this is a good standard for this type of hotel. Near to all Crawley amenities (all types of restaurants, pubs and take aways within easy walking distance) and good on site parking. The hotel is a blend of old and nearly new (nearly being the main word) the rooms are clean and good size, it can be very noisy when people are returning after a night out. They also have the bottle bins emptied very late at night (by the adjacent bar) and hotel bins collect by the dust men around 6.45am which can be annoying. It has full WiFi throughout and good digital TV. Breakfast is a typical contractor buffet with loads of fried food on offer but is very good if you want a hearty start to the day. The price for the room is a bit high for this type of hotel. Great stay for contractors.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front facing the High Street and not in the Annex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

Great location on the High Street in the middle of old Crawley, Wasabee Chinese Buffet adjacent, lots of pubs/restaurants/take-aways nearby, ASDA supermarket 200m around the corner, train station 400m for day trips into London or Gatwick Airport. Stayed one night then found something more reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We booked this hotel for an overnight stay before going to the airport. The reception is a odd blend of old and new which doesn't quite work, the staircase was chipped and carpet worn. If this wasn't enough of a bad impression, the room was appalling.
The floor was filthy and hadn't been hovered, the kettle only worked when the lid was held down and there wasn't any teaspoons. The bathroom mirror only had one bulb working in it and there was a hole in the ceiling with wires poking out of it! Obviously where a light fitting used to be.
There was a radiator in the bedroom that had been take away, but the pipe left behind protruding out of the floor. The springs on the bed were so bad we had to sleep facing the other way!! The staff didn't seem to care, one member of staff was texting on his phone and the night porter didn't seem to care about our room complaints.

The Chinese restaurant that backed onto the hotel was empty and uninviting, the corridor leading to the restaurant was blocked with bits of old carpet and boxes. The Bar was just as bad - dirty smeary glasses hanging from the bar and tacky statues dotted about the place.

All in all - absolutly horrid night. The only saving grace was we only spent a few hours there as our flight was very early in the morning.

Avoid!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bina P, Manager at Ramada Crawley Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

I'd firstly like to apologise to the guests for their unpleasant stay at The Ramada Crawley Gatwick. It is unfortunate they didn't receive a clean room that one would expect. Having, advised the reception staff of the room issues, I am sure the guests would have been moved to a suitable room in working order which would have met their standards. Due to the recent re-branding of the hotel, much of our refurbishment took place during the summer period of 2011. For example, paint and boxes in the corridor, radiators being removed from the room, (unfortunate for guests to see) were the continuation of works in the hotel to meet brand expectations. However unfortunate for those guests, going forward the hotel is now fully refurbished and continually improving it's image to meet customer expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Booked this hotel for a one night stay in Crawley, was not antisipating a lot as it was probaly the cheapest hotel in the Gatwick area and 90% of the reviews were terrible. Booked a double room inc breakfast for about £70. Hotel is situated right in the High Street in Crawley, so plenty of choice of places to eat. We went in the Thai/Chinese resturant right next door, it was a buffet style and was not bad at all. The Hotel it self was a little worn in places but overall we found it clean, staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was pretty good, rooms are large. Hotel has parking at the rear. Only bad point was the beds were standard doubles and not King size or bigger that you now find as standard in most Hotels, also not very comfortable. But apart from that good value for the price in that area.

Room Tip: Breakfast cheaper if you book inc breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights and found the hotel itself fine, the rooms were clean and had everything we needed. Found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank seeciara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

When I arrived I found that the car park was full of 'white vans' and was lucky to find the last space available. The booking had not been advised to the hotel by Booking.com, not their fault but I ended up in a single room in the annex at the back of the hotel. This is very tired and scruffy. The room was actually OK if in need of decoration and the bathroom quite modern so my worst fears on entering the annex were somewhat dissipated. The real low for me was breakfast. The room is in poor condition, the seats stained and the food poor. The bacon soft and rubbery and scrambled egg just a solid lump. The area from which the (friendly) staff emerged was a complete mess of chipped and dirty paintwork, really not acceptable. I was embarrassed that visitors from abroad would find themselves in such a scruffy environment. This is hotel that needs a lot of work to bring it up to standard. I shall not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordshireTalltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Beware: There are 2 Ramada Hotels in Gatwick! This is the former George Hotel in the middle of the old town. It's a very old building from the 16th century or earlier with a long history. The hotel was central to the plot of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's mystery novel Rodney Stone, written in 1896. And it is reputedly haunted by the ghost of a nightwatchman (see wikipedia). So don't expect too much. Rooms are renovated and with different sizes. But they are still in a very old building. Walls can be thin. Wifi Internet was everywhere available. Big flat-TVs in the rooms. Part of the house is a Bar and Club which can be noisy at night. But you are in the middle of the action. Restaurants and Pubs just on the other side of the street. 5 minutes walk to the railway station, 10 minutes by train to Gatwick-airport, ticket for around 2 pounds. Shopping mall near the station.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#14 of 28 in Crawley
627 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Crawley Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Crawley Gatwick

Address: The George Hotel High Street, Crawley RH10 1BS, England (Formerly The George Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range: £43 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Crawley Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ramada Crawley Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Crawley Gatwick Hotel Crawley
George Hotel Crawley
Ramada Crawley Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing