We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Crawley Gatwick
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Everything you need”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

stayed in a suite for a long weekend and it was fantastic, very nice large rooms with huge TV's and WiFi. The bar downstairs do a great selection of cocktails and its a good night out , just a bit pricey .Plenty of pubs/restaurants/take aways/cinema/shops near by which made it ideal ! The hotel itself dates back a few hundred years which gives it a lovely old world charm, I was very pleased with my stay there .

Room Tip: get a room at the back of the hotel as the front faces the town square , which can get noisy with pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wandergirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    109
    123
    75
    120
See reviews for
65
180
41
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed there 1 night, arrived very late, friendly and helpful staff,
Plus, had a large room, room and bathroom were clean, free parking, in town centre direct on high street.
Minus no mini bar in room and no hotel bar, there is wine bar next to the hotel, but you only can buy large bottles of wine to take away and the ASDA opposite hotel, although open all night, does not have a licence to sell alcohol after 11pm.
Had no breakfeast there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kast1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.Wales
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

As a business traveller I dont mind staying in contractor hotels that much and this is a good standard for this type of hotel. Near to all Crawley amenities (all types of restaurants, pubs and take aways within easy walking distance) and good on site parking. The hotel is a blend of old and nearly new (nearly being the main word) the rooms are clean and good size, it can be very noisy when people are returning after a night out. They also have the bottle bins emptied very late at night (by the adjacent bar) and hotel bins collect by the dust men around 6.45am which can be annoying. It has full WiFi throughout and good digital TV. Breakfast is a typical contractor buffet with loads of fried food on offer but is very good if you want a hearty start to the day. The price for the room is a bit high for this type of hotel. Great stay for contractors.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front facing the High Street and not in the Annex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
414 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Great location on the High Street in the middle of old Crawley, Wasabee Chinese Buffet adjacent, lots of pubs/restaurants/take-aways nearby, ASDA supermarket 200m around the corner, train station 400m for day trips into London or Gatwick Airport. Stayed one night then found something more reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We booked this hotel for an overnight stay before going to the airport. The reception is a odd blend of old and new which doesn't quite work, the staircase was chipped and carpet worn. If this wasn't enough of a bad impression, the room was appalling.
The floor was filthy and hadn't been hovered, the kettle only worked when the lid was held down and there wasn't any teaspoons. The bathroom mirror only had one bulb working in it and there was a hole in the ceiling with wires poking out of it! Obviously where a light fitting used to be.
There was a radiator in the bedroom that had been take away, but the pipe left behind protruding out of the floor. The springs on the bed were so bad we had to sleep facing the other way!! The staff didn't seem to care, one member of staff was texting on his phone and the night porter didn't seem to care about our room complaints.

The Chinese restaurant that backed onto the hotel was empty and uninviting, the corridor leading to the restaurant was blocked with bits of old carpet and boxes. The Bar was just as bad - dirty smeary glasses hanging from the bar and tacky statues dotted about the place.

All in all - absolutly horrid night. The only saving grace was we only spent a few hours there as our flight was very early in the morning.

Avoid!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bina P, Manager at Ramada Crawley Gatwick, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
I'd firstly like to apologise to the guests for their unpleasant stay at The Ramada Crawley Gatwick. It is unfortunate they didn't receive a clean room that one would expect. Having, advised the reception staff of the room issues, I am sure the guests would have been moved to a suitable room in working order which would have met their standards. Due to the recent re-branding of the hotel, much of our refurbishment took place during the summer period of 2011. For example, paint and boxes in the corridor, radiators being removed from the room, (unfortunate for guests to see) were the continuation of works in the hotel to meet brand expectations. However unfortunate for those guests, going forward the hotel is now fully refurbished and continually improving it's image to meet customer expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Booked this hotel for a one night stay in Crawley, was not antisipating a lot as it was probaly the cheapest hotel in the Gatwick area and 90% of the reviews were terrible. Booked a double room inc breakfast for about £70. Hotel is situated right in the High Street in Crawley, so plenty of choice of places to eat. We went in the Thai/Chinese resturant right next door, it was a buffet style and was not bad at all. The Hotel it self was a little worn in places but overall we found it clean, staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was pretty good, rooms are large. Hotel has parking at the rear. Only bad point was the beds were standard doubles and not King size or bigger that you now find as standard in most Hotels, also not very comfortable. But apart from that good value for the price in that area.

Room Tip: Breakfast cheaper if you book inc breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights and found the hotel itself fine, the rooms were clean and had everything we needed. Found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank seeciara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#15 of 28 in Crawley
536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.8 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
158 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Crawley Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Crawley Gatwick

Property: Ramada Crawley Gatwick
Address: The George Hotel High Street, Crawley RH10 1BS, England (Formerly The George Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Crawley Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Crawley Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Crawley Gatwick Hotel Crawley
George Hotel Crawley
Ramada Crawley Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing