We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definetely going back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Crawley Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Crawley Gatwick
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definetely going back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

It is a wonderful house, if you love historical places. I do. At first, it is so closed to Gatwick Airport. We took a local bus no 10, but you can also use a train, they are both comfortable, and go often, Bus is a little cheaper.
At the first sight it was difficult to find the hotel, because the High Street in Crawley has no house numbers. And the Google Maps has shown the location wrong. And the locals know the hotel under its old name, hotel George, if you ask the way. But we found it and were happy. Old house, used as hotel since 1615, not so much "overrenovated", still all comforts as a nice bathroom and bath. Very closed to everything, pubs, restaurants, shopping area, bus and train station. Big ASDA supermarket near the hotel backyard.
The hotel is not so good, if you have problems with stairs or very heavy luggage, because there are no lifts in this old house. But you can ask help from staff.
The room has been clean, with big wardrobe. Beds have been comfortable and bedsheets clean. Coffee and tea facilities in the room, replaced daily.
Breakfast has been good, nothing special, but warm and nice.
And what has been important for me, they have rooms for smokers. It is extreemly important for me, because for me the hotel without smoking possibility is the same, as the hotel with the toilet outside. Nothing to do.

Room Tip: They tell, that rooms in the yard side are more quiet. There can be noisy on streets on Friday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thelabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    102
    121
    74
    113
See reviews for
64
170
39
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We arrived on 14th September after booking through an online company called Holiday Extras.
We were travelling to Orlando the next day so had 6 suitcases with us.
When we checked in we were told our rooms were across the courtyard ( not ideal).
When we got in to the other building we then realised there was no lift!
When we went back to reception there was only 1 young lad on duty. He offered to help us up the stairs with all the cases,. We were a party of 3 adults and 3 children under 11 and I personally had recently had back surgery so could not help. APPALLING for such a large company. Our rooms were warm and we had to have fans in the room.Needless to say the 2 other adults in the party ( both ladies) had to carry the cases down in the morning!
I contacted Holiday Extras who offered me 15% off my next booking .........NO CHANCE of booking with them again hotel was desperate

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol2554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bina P, Manager at Ramada Crawley Gatwick, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
The Ramada Crawley Gatwick is very close to the airport and being on the High Street makes it an attractive place to stay, with numerous bars, restaurants and shopping facilities right on our doorstep. Formerly, it was a coaching inn dating back to 1615, and is steeped in history and character. Due to having such historical significance the property is a 'Grade II listed building'.

With listed buildings significant changes cannot be made, and unfortunately this includes us installing a new lift. However, our staff are always happy to assist with luggage to and from guest bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

This was booked as 'The Ramada Town Centre' - and that was spot on.
We were given a room in an outside 'two storey' annexe. There was no lift & the stairs were dog-leg & that didn't help having large,heavy cases.
Room was OK, but the corridor had a danky/musty old cigarettes like smell.
Excellent for the town centre & there are several good food pubs close by. I thought we might be offered a 'special' in the restaurant as we were guests, but alas not.
Good nights sleep - can't grumble
The best thing was the inclusive breakfast. Good hot & cold spread and it did the business!!
Will stay again but probably insist on a more convenient bedroom.

Room Tip: Ask not to be at the rear. Close to rear car park & no lift facility. Stairs are awkward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarnesAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

For me The George Hotel is wasted on Crawley, this hotel would be better located somewhere like Royal Wootton Bassett for example.

Impressive from the outside with its Tudoresque wattle & daub the hotel does stand out amongst the other shops & businesses on the high street, It is nicely enough away from the 1970's looking shopping malls & no more than 5 minutes walk from the bus & train station.

The bar in the hotel I do like, cosy & homecoming with a mix of the Crawley locals & residents, reasonably priced drinks & friendly staff.

The rooms themselves from what I could see where all individually & tastefully done unless you were in the annex at the rear that seemed to be all the same, but all come with TV's, coffee & tea making facilities & a basic room service & importantly the hotel was clean.

Breakfast seemed to be a laid back & non stressful event that suited me to the ground.

Around Crawley there was plenty to do, a fair number of restaurants, pubs & the shops weren't too far away.

Access by train to Gatwick Airport or London seemed like a doddle, so really an ideal place to stay before or after your flight away from the usual over priced Gatwick Hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Try get a room in the main part of the hotel away from the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kit1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

stayed in a suite for a long weekend and it was fantastic, very nice large rooms with huge TV's and WiFi. The bar downstairs do a great selection of cocktails and its a good night out , just a bit pricey .Plenty of pubs/restaurants/take aways/cinema/shops near by which made it ideal ! The hotel itself dates back a few hundred years which gives it a lovely old world charm, I was very pleased with my stay there .

Room Tip: get a room at the back of the hotel as the front faces the town square , which can get noisy with pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wandergirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed there 1 night, arrived very late, friendly and helpful staff,
Plus, had a large room, room and bathroom were clean, free parking, in town centre direct on high street.
Minus no mini bar in room and no hotel bar, there is wine bar next to the hotel, but you only can buy large bottles of wine to take away and the ASDA opposite hotel, although open all night, does not have a licence to sell alcohol after 11pm.
Had no breakfeast there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kast1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

As a business traveller I dont mind staying in contractor hotels that much and this is a good standard for this type of hotel. Near to all Crawley amenities (all types of restaurants, pubs and take aways within easy walking distance) and good on site parking. The hotel is a blend of old and nearly new (nearly being the main word) the rooms are clean and good size, it can be very noisy when people are returning after a night out. They also have the bottle bins emptied very late at night (by the adjacent bar) and hotel bins collect by the dust men around 6.45am which can be annoying. It has full WiFi throughout and good digital TV. Breakfast is a typical contractor buffet with loads of fried food on offer but is very good if you want a hearty start to the day. The price for the room is a bit high for this type of hotel. Great stay for contractors.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front facing the High Street and not in the Annex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#15 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#25 of 28 in Crawley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.7 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Gatwick Crawley Town (Goff's Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Crawley Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Crawley Gatwick

Property: Ramada Crawley Gatwick
Address: The George Hotel High Street, Crawley RH10 1BS, England (Formerly The George Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Crawley Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Ramada Crawley Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Crawley Gatwick Hotel Crawley
George Hotel Crawley
Ramada Crawley Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing