We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good town centre hotel, perfect for business stopover.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Crawley Gatwick
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good town centre hotel, perfect for business stopover.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

Although a little tired in general appearance, the hotel has friendly staff, clean rooms and free WIFI. Free parking next door to a cheap hand car wash - get your car washed while you wait! Nearby eating houses all pretty good, particularly the Giggly Squid thai tapas.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinMiles63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    103
    122
    75
    115
See reviews for
64
173
40
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We booked this hotel as it seemed relatively cheap for a one night stay.On arrival we were given our room key along with an invoice (for someone elses room!),not much conversation from the man on reception and told to go to room 385 in another building.
When we entered the corridor it smelt like an old ashtray and so did our room.We opened the window,dropped off our luggage and left to visit relatives.
We arrived back to the room to sleep but when my son got into the single bed we found the base had collapsed in the middle.As it was late we used the spare pillows to fix it and my son attempted to sleep trying not to move as the bed squeaked so loudly.During the rest of the night we did not sleep as the room was so hot we had to have the window open..and heard the 2 hour conversation of lads in the car park,screaming girl and screeching tyres.At 7am the car cleaning company started their noisy jet washing and hoovering.We did think about asking them to jet wash us as the shower in the room was barely a trickle!
The bathroom and bedding were clean but the chair by the bedside was covered in vomit and the carpet had what looked like blood stains on it.
We didn't even bother with the breakfast that we'd paid for.
When checking out I asked for the correct invoice for my room.The guy laughed when i said I'd been given someone elses invoice.No apology.My husband went on to tell him about the smell of smoke and the broken bed to which the man on reception replied 'you should have told us last night'.No apology.
Definitely not worth £69,definitely not a 4 star hotel and DEFINITELY won't stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collettej28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

There is a very very slight smell of smoke, but it's hardly noticeable. And the room was big, clean and well stocked. Had a slight problem with the bath tap not turning off, but this was quickly sorted by reception despite It being late at night. We found the receptionist on the night of 29th very polite and helpful and better than other receptionists we had experiences with during our stay. Very central location and we had a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank festivalite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

If your needs are basic and you just look for a bed for the night this might offer a cost efficient solution. However we were woken up at 7:30AM on Sunday morning by the guys in the back cleaning their cars.....

But then, we only paid 50 sterling or so, so I do not complain.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGravklev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bina P, Manager at Ramada Crawley Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We always offer very competitive prices with or without a full English breakfast. We are located in the heart of Crawley town centre with a number of restaurants, bars and the shopping centre right on our doorstep. Due to our location, external noise outside of the hotel building may disturb some of our guests and we do sincerely apologise for this.

We do hope we may have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisburn
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed there 9th june as near to gatwick for our flight next morning.
Very pleased, room was superb for £48,asda out back of hotel can buy drinks for the
room or something for breakfast if leaving early.
We went to the buffy chinese next door was dead on,+ you are in the town centre,many pubs resturants clubs on your doorstep,worth the money v plastic hotels in the airport complex at twice the price.
Nice little town crawley.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonny41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bina P, Manager at Ramada Crawley Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you were pleased with your stay at the Ramada Crawley Gatwick Hotel. We are set in an ideal location where you can explore the High Street and find a number of leisurely interests We always offer very competitive prices so do visit our website for the best deal.

We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We booked a deal with airport parking however wish we hadn't bothered! After arriving we found the bathroom flooded and the restaurant we were hoping to visit closed! We had a nice dinner in the local Wetherspoons then headed back for an early night due to a morning flight. Virtually as soon as we returned to the room the noise started from the stairs- we were located in the old block in the first room so the stairs were directly over us. The noise was unbearable to the point where I sat up at 2am to do my nails as I couldnt sleep! When packing up the next morning I found the previoous guests underwear behind a chair whilst I was checking we hadn't left anything!!!! The plumbing leaves alot to be desired as a small bag with a canabis leaf printed on it, managed to flush its way up our toilet during the night...
Overalll stay away! We left at 4am and there was no one at reception to complain to so we went to the airport for a rest ....

Room Tip: Avoid old block on car park and ask for an upstairs room if poss to avoid stair noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _tabatha77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Staff, excellent, location, excellent.

Room, grim, cleanliness, lacking. Sprawling over at least three buildings, with no cover from reception to our building it was a grim experience, and I'd never go again. Lack lustre and dark, the shower scalded us with water, and no option to change the setting.

Didn't find the dining room, but good local restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuernseyGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.3 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#26 of 28 in Crawley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
2.7 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Crawley Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Crawley Gatwick

Property: Ramada Crawley Gatwick
Address: The George Hotel High Street, Crawley RH10 1BS, England (Formerly The George Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Crawley Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Crawley Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Crawley Gatwick Hotel Crawley
George Hotel Crawley
Ramada Crawley Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing